We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, especially for a longer stay in vang vieng” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
Save
You added Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse to your Saves list
100 / 1 Main St, Vang Vieng 10030, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place, especially for a longer stay in vang vieng”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed there for almost 3 weeks in september. Cheap (especially if you stay for longer), central, clean, very friendly staff and good internet. The owner Terry gives good advice on dos and donts in Vang Vieng and invited me to have fish bbq with his family. Definitely gonna stay there again next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    14
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

What more do you want? This place had everything a backpacker needs. It was close to some good restaurants and drinking spots, but well enough away for a good nights sleep. The rooms were tidy and the staff friendly and helpful. I would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have stayed here for many months during high season and the place as well as the people that work there are amazing. For what you pay, you get a lot, and the company and kindness of all the staff just makes it even better. The location is ideal as well, being in the city center, close to all facilities, restaurants, bars, tourist offices, internet cafes etc.

I would definitely recommend Chilllao Guesthouse if you are planning to stay in Vang Vieng, Laos.

I have personally been backpacking for around 2 years, through many different countries, and i've been to many different guesthouses during the time. I am not a high maintenance person who needs luxury in my life and am happy enough with the necessities.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist to have a look at the rooms first before deciding which one you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Fantastic everything!! Big, comfy bed... Amazingly helpful and friendly staff (Terry and wife)... Warm, powerful showers... Poker Tuesdays..... Mr. Chicken across the street.... I miss the heck out of this place!! Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: 208 was my favorite... 1st or 2nd floor if you like to socialize, 3rd if you want more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kippen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Cheap and full of fun sums it up. The thing that first got me was that the front desk was run by a happy Australian! I loved the ease of obtaining answers to my travel questions...... English helps in the travel world. Oh ya, and I checked in at 4am of the late luang prabang bus no problem.

Room Tip: Lower the better for wifi. I higher the better for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse

Address: 100 / 1 Main St, Vang Vieng 10030, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the center of town, close to all that Vang Vieng has to offer. English speaking staff, Wi-Fi, Air Conditioning (optional), Dorms, triple rooms, etc. Just tell the tuk-tuk driver "chill Lao" and you will be on your way. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.