We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't take this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thavonsouk Bungalow

Save Saved
You added Thavonsouk Bungalow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thavonsouk Bungalow
PO Box 2715, Vang Vieng 2715, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Vang Vieng
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't take this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

You can have much more in much less in the Vang Vieng.
The rooms smells bad, the shower is old, the bed is a disaster, the stuff attitude is terrible!
The hotel manager treat the guests like they were one of the 100 slaves he keeps there, while he cant stop eating in the restaurant the bad food they serve.....

my advice to you is- take any other hotel in the area - you wont regret!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    44
    31
    20
    9
See reviews for
5
47
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We booked a Ban Lao Room which was actually quite small and had little in the way of furnishing, but the view was out of this world. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was below average for breakfast and closed too early for us to try in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010 via mobile

Sadly I have to give this place a bad review, I read through many reviews before booking this place and decide to take my chance that maybe the bad reviews were just people have a bad day as the place looks great on their wesite - I have to confirm that the bad reviews were correct!

The views are very nice and the resort itself is nice to walk through as it is well maintained but the rooms are a different story. We booked the river view for around $50 per night and that was to have aircom and a fridge. The aircom did not work for the whole time we were there which was a nightmare as it was so hot at night, I informed the resort of this and they took a look at it but never fixed it and that was that. Also the Wifi which was also another reason we booked here stopped working after about an hour of checking in and 4 days later when we checked out it was still not working, when we informed management on the first night we thought they may look into it but no there was no action.

The room themselves are quite dated and could do with a lick of paint but also the bathroom stank and had ants running through it. I really do feel with a small bit of investment this place could be a real winner but not in it's current state.

Vang Vieng is a bit like Spain in the summer so don't expect to much but from talking to other travelers u would be better of staying in some $10 or $20 accom as the service and quality seem to be the same.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

If you're not twenty one, from Australian decent and up for booze, girls and floating around in a tube Vang Vieng isn't really the best place to stay in Laos. The good thing is that the Thavonsouk is located somewhat off centre so you don't have any noise from the bars and disco's. The view on the river and karst mountains from our bungalow was very nice. But that was about it. The room was poor and needed touching up. A shower was more a sort of drip with no hot water. Airco was not functioning. Not to mention the breakfast which was one of the worst we had in SO Asia. The surrounding are great of course but we cannot put that on the account of the hotel.

When we were there they were obviously getting ready for better since half the complex was under construction. Maybe in a year time it will be much better?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Munich
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We recently spent one night there on the way to Luang Prabang. We had a bungalow that was perfectly located at the river banks with a wonderful view. So much for the positives.
This place is run by a bunch of kids that provide the lowest level of service one could think of. Upon arrival the only word the boy lazing behind the reception table said was "passport". No welcome, or hello, or have a nice stay - nothing.
The boy who accompanied us to the bungalow opened the door, turned on the AC and disappeared without a single word.
Our bungalow was actually pretty nice from the outside, but very basic from the inside. There were spider webs in the corners and even some smaller spider nests at the ceiling. Yuck.
Wifi seems to exist but it was down, and the computer at the reception was incredibly slow, not even suitable for checking the mails.
The biggest letdown was the so-called breakfast. Very limited choice, and the few leftovers we found (at 8.30 am!) ranged between "better watch out" and simply disgusting.
It's most obvious that these people don't care about returning customers at all. Seldom before I've stayed at a place that is basically wonderful, but totally neglected by a bored, uncaring and indifferent staff.
Sorry folks, but so far the least welcoming place I've ever been to in Asia.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We booked a Garden room ($30), but ended up paying $25. We specifically asked for a room which had wifi signal, which it did and worked fine. However the room was quite shabby and old, the TV had one channel (Thai), there was no hot water, the AC did not work at all and the room was a bit dirty around the edges. Also there is no private balcony as advertised, there was a shared one for about three rooms.

We were fed up so went to reception at 8.15pm (shuts at 8.30) - there was no one there. We asked a girl in the bar for some help but she didn't understand us so turned her back to us without even a smile. We eventually found someone to help - he retuned the TV for HBO and CNN, turned the hot water 'ON' downstairs (why do we need to ask?!), provided us with a fan and turned on the wifi which had also been switched off at about 7.30pm.

We had booked two nights but checked out the next day - when we said we were disappointed with the room they didn't say sorry/smile or take the hint that the AC does not work. Breakfast was not very exciting and the staff were miserable. Overall, the hotel is NOT worth the money, we found a much newer, nicer, friendlier and cheaper place which was also more central. We recommend you stay at 'Inthira Hotel' - turn left for 1 min walk when you get off the bus ($20 standard room but AC is amazing!).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

No* hotel with pros and cons.

Rooms ok if a little small. Ours had a terrace with loungers overlooking the river and an empty refrigerator which was good, Located an easy 10 minutes away from the town centre with shops and brothels along the way.

Staff offhand and unwelcoming and breakfast poor. Can't speak for the prices as we ate elsewhere and brought in a couple of beers. The refrigerator encourages that!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thavonsouk Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavonsouk Bungalow

Address: PO Box 2715, Vang Vieng 2715, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Thavonsouk Hotels & Resorts in Vangvieng. Thavonsouk is your Vang Vieng accommodation choice when you travel to Vang Vieng. Stay with Thavonsouk if you are in Vang Vieng. Thavonsouk Bungalow Resorts Hotels in Vang Vieng, which is riverside Resort & Hotel with the gorgeous view of the Phadeng (Red Cliff), green forest and sunset. Our resort hotel is your magnificent private holiday home, just 2 hour drive from Vientiane; the capital city of Laos and 5 hours down from Lungprabang, the World heritage town. Vang Vieng and surrounding areas offer unsurpassed natural wonders, still unspoiled...explore by yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Thavonsouk Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavonsouk Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Hotel Vang Vieng
Thavonsouk Resort Vang Vieng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thavonsouk Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.