We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, but comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Naga Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Naga Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Naga Hotel
Ban Savang, Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 84 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“New, but comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel was newly opened when we stayed there in May, 2012. It is in a superb position on the riverfront, and not within raging distance of any of the bars and tubing part hotels so associated with Vang Vieng. Pool looked good - though we didn't use it. Wifi works. In room refrigerator. A/c and practical en-suite bathroom. Out the back door and up a special walkway - and you're on the main street of the town.

The owners are an Australian/Lao couple - the welcome warm. The only drawback is the stairs (no lift) if you're on the third floor. Breakfast was buffet style.

When we were there - no other meals were available, but it's location is excellent anyway with great views of the river and beyond - and nothing in the town is far away.

Room Tip: River side is best for views - most rooms are on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
13
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Me and spouse were there beginning of March. We knew some parts were still under construction so that was no surprise. But we were really surprise how run-down some parts already looked although the hotel is brandnew. I wouldn't want to see how it will look in a few years...

And don't believe the website - it is definitely NOT luxury as they claim (besides the room rate, ha ha). We paid a "promotional rate of 65 Dollar for a "Deluxe Plus Room" due to the construction but it was still too much. It is "ok" but not for that amount of money.

The lobby is also the breakfast area. Check-in and check-out took ages, also due to the language barrier. The guys at the front desk looked a bit helpless - but were nice and tried to do their best. The room was big but very weird.There was only few furniture and it was chosen and placed without love and sense, e.g. you had about 2 meters between the night table and the bed ;-), but the mattress was good. The bathroom - also new - looked already very used, the bathtub had lots of scratches, the toilet looked and worked strange and all the tiles didn't fit together. Not a big problem, it was more a funny thing... But the bathroom had a disgusting smell, so each day I was happy when I could leave the bathroom again.

We stayed there for 3 nights but they didn't manage to clean the room once. Just on our last day the room service knocked on the door at 4pm but then we really didn't need it anymore.

The lobby/breakfast area is extremely sterile. It's really no fun or romantic having breakfast there - despite the location on the river. To us it looked as the breakfast was meant to cater for Asian parties and in fact we saw many and the quality wasn't good. For Western taste there is only little: the coffee is really bad (what a shame compared to the very good Lao coffee you can get everywhere else). The eggs and fruit are ok. Forget the bread, it's like a piece of wood.

To us this hotel has no value for money and was the one we liked less on our Laos trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco/London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while going through Laos for a week. The hotel is still under construction and things like exposed wiring were throughout the halls and even in the room. The following is the list of issues we had with the property, service and room.

-The security lock on the door was broken.
-The door itself did not close properly and required us to slam the door numerous times for it to finally close.
-The bathroom was poorly finished, it seemed like nothing was measured before it was fitted. We didn't have a hair dryer or even hand soap.
-The floors in the bathroom and bedroom felt dirty.
-It was incredibly difficult to communicate with the front desk staff.
-The cereal and bread at breakfast were all very stale.
-There was no safe in the room. They would wrap up our valuables in a plastic bag and put them in the office but this required us to go down there to get anything we needed. My husband went down at midnight to get our iPad and found the security guard sleeping on a mattress by the front door with mosquito netting around him. He also found the front desk attendant sleeping on a mattress behind the desk with mosquito netting around him as well. The lobby is full of mosquitos and other bugs in the evening.
-The water in the pool was cloudy.

The location is nice, on the river. Free wifi.

I wouldn't recommend staying here until these issues are resolved.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I arrived in this town and was temporarily disillusioned by the town itself. Let's face it: Vang Vien is just a staging post!
But, right in the middle, with its back fronting the River Song (Nam Song) was the Silver Naga Hotel, brand new and not yet officially open!
. The views were quite pleasant with limestone, mysterious-looking mountains towering across the river.
The hotel is very conveniently situated for exploring the local limestone caves and the river.
The hotel itself is new and there was a little bit of landscaping work going on, but everything else was complete.
However, maybe because it was not yet "officially" open, the reception was not that well manned, especially in the evenings.
The breakfast was good and on a par with other big hotels in Lao.
I stayed there two nights. On the first night, a violent electric storm knocked out the lights in one section of the hotel. This is no fault of the hotel but the staff quickly offered a change of rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We contacted Elephant Crossing and were told their main building was full up but their recently opened sister hotel next door still had vacancies with introductory discounts. We arrived at a building site next to the river. A small swimming pool is under construction and many of the rooms have not been completed. Dust is a major problem. Sadly even when completed the hotel is poor. The ill designed rooms make it impossible to view the TV from the beds. The bathroom has no plumbed hot water to the basins. The kitchenette is actually a tray with a kettle which cannot be attached to a socket without putting it on the floor. Wires hang out from ceilings. The" terrace" is divided by a wall betweeen the two windows. Breakfast is minimal and desultory. . A place to be avoided even when complete

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Naga Hotel

Address: Ban Savang, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Naga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.