We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice base to stay in Vang Vieng” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Easy Go Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Easy Go Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
Easy Go Backpacker Hostel
3 Ban Vang Vieng | Khemsong River Road, Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really nice base to stay in Vang Vieng”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you like dorms and don't mind sleeping with noisy nights sometimes, this place is excellent. I've met a lot of great people there, staff is very nice and helpful, every time you can get free lao tea or lao coffee and everything for 20 000 per night! Good spot to get any info about activities, nice restaurants around the corner, in one word - everithing in one place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
6
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abroad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at easy go backpakers and was amazed with the service.
This hostel is one of the cheapest and best.
It has a real community feel with the pool table and chill out zone and We met alot of nice people.
The staff went out of there way to help us when We were in town my partner ended up in hospital and they helped us so much by translating what We needed and checking up on us, We were very lucky.
Even after our stay with them they checked up on us and made sure We were fine.
Location is great, people were great loved it!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hostel is great! Basic but also cheap. It is a great place to meet other travellers, with a good communal area and a pool table. The owner is very friendly and very helpful, he made the stay even better. The hostel also has the most amazing views. Only downside is it's not central but Vang Vieng is so small that it's not an issue.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in January, it’s a lovely hostel with decent sized rooms with a great location, it’s basically on the main strip but just at the very top or very end depending on how you look at it. The place was generally pretty clean although the bin the toilet wasn’t emptied the entire time we were there so when we left it was overflowing with toilet paper covered in [--].

I’d happily stay here again, there is a good vibe and they hold fires in the outside area every few day. Apart from that the hostel has everything you need, the Wi-Fi is pretty slow though I have to say and there is no lockers but the view makes up for all of that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here in July/August 2013. I agree with all of the reviews that say it is a great place to meet other travellers. It is a pretty sociable hostel and I spent many evenings playing French-rules jenga (not for the faint hearted!) and drinking Lao whiskey with an array of fun travellers.

The accommodation is extremely basic, but there is something vaguely charming about waking up in a wooden hut on stilts overlooking the river. In the wet season, the dampness was evident (I got to a stage where I forgot what dry felt like) and it wasn't the most pleasant place to hang out at.

Location wise, it is a little out of the way, but VV is so small, that everywhere is no more than 5 minutes walk. It is also the cheapest hostel I have stayed at in my life, but was a long way from the worst.

The downsides of Easygo? Firstly, the furthest rooms from reception involve a treacherous (when wet) slide down some rickety steps and little walkways. Secondly, there were a few dodgy characters staying here (a starey pair, someone who urinated on the dorm floor, a drunk shouty man and a couple of thefts), but the staff dealt with these people really well. The shower in the upstairs far dorm was a bit rubbish and kept blocking (we were sharing with a man with a mouldy foot) so we kept having to wear flip flops in the shower.

Still, it was okay enough for me to stay here for 12 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was there last August 6 to 10, 2013. The place is simple and basic but I was lucky to be on the second floor, a room with three beds and a fan. Our room is clean and the bed is fine to sleep with.

Downstairs is a place to meet all people from different countries around the world. Night chatting sessions usually end around midnight.

The bathroom is a bit problematic because its not that clean... It could be the users are messy or the staff took time or wake-up late to clean the facility.

The staffs are really good and can speak English. I spoke to the owner and he told me that they are still in the process of adding rooms and making the place suitable for all. The works on the bathroom is still on going.

All in all... I had a good time!!! Meeting new friends is one of the best...

Room Tip: Choose the room on the second floor. 1 room with 3 beds. It is spacious and very pleasing to sleep a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

most people thing vang vieng is just a to get drunk and go tubing but theres so much more to be done. the guys at easy go were really helpful giving us so many ideas of things to do, but never pushing us to book with them. for the price of a dorm room (20,000 kip) i was really happy and ended up staying 2 weeks. ended up meeting people who have become great friends from all over the world. if you come to vang vieng i really recommend easy go and dont think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Easy Go Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easy Go Backpacker Hostel

Address: 3 Ban Vang Vieng | Khemsong River Road, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Easy Go Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easy Go Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.