We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest food in Laos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A.M.D Restaurant

A.M.D Restaurant
Ban Viengkeo, Vang Vieng, Laos
02055301238
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Cuisines: Asian, European, Thai, Noodle
Restaurant details
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nicest food in Laos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

After being served up my three worse meals in the whole of SE Asia all here in Vang Vieng, I logged onto tripadvisor and found the reviews for AMD. The restaurant is just after the bamboo bridge going away from town. It was raining the first night I visited but I am so glad I made the trip even if I did get a little wet. I was the only customer that night and was kept entertained by a young girl whom I'm guessing was the child of one of the owners. She was adorable. The food was in a league of its own, I have since completed a months stay in Laos and the food I ate here was the tastiest I had anywhere in Laos. The lemon and mint shake was a revelation too. I ate here on a number of occasions, I tried the tofu laap, the red curry and the jungle curry - all delicious. It is definitely worth tracking down.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    15
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is off the normal route...along the road towards Jamee guesthouse and unfortunately, it's poorly signposted. That said, it's still worth a visit. A beer Lao comes with lovely complementary nuts and the food is freshly prepared and very tasty and good value for money. Away from the more typical tourist haunts this is a good choice.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We read different restaurant reviews in lonely planet and non was rated excellent therefore we did not expect a lot in this town in regards to food;-) but after checking tripadvisor we decided to eat at this neat place close to our hotel the riverside beautique hotel just after the toll bridge (do not pass the bridge at all stay at the main street and walk 50 m south). Food is ob excellent quality and just cooked after order therefore expect some waiting time, drink a cold beerlao and eat some peanuts which come with the order! Enjoy

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good and cheap breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very nice little restaurant owned by a charming couple. The food is good, at a reasonable price. We particularly liked the breakfast there and had it almost everyday of our stay in Vang Vieng! They have "breakfast deals" with coffee, delicious shakes (coconut is my favourite), and a huge baguette with omelette/fried eggs for less than 25 000 kip! you can also choose the plate of fruits if you prefer a lighter meal! I highly recommend this place!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This place is down the river street past the bridge. It is a traditional little shop front and you need to keep an eye out for it, but it is worth a visit. We at here four times.The food is the best in Vang Vieng. Fresh, well balanced and prepared with care by lovely couple. The meals were prepared to order, but you can enjoy the wait with the free nibbles when ordering a cold BeerLao. This place is in the more traditional area of town, and if you are looking for an excellent home style Laos experience give this place a go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A.M.D Restaurant also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to A.M.D Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A.M.D Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.