We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true haven!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laos Haven Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Laos Haven Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Laos Haven Hotel & Spa
047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 82 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A true haven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Managed by a Singaporean father and son. That only means, you can not expect anything but excellent management. Firstly, the restaurant serves GOOD food. The best pork dishes in the whole country! I'm not exaggerating. You gotta try it. Everytime we eat out, we end up getting disappointed. We made sure that we're back to the hotel for dinner.We booked our kayaking and hot air balloon with them. Didn't disappoint! Highly recommended. The laundry price is more expensive compared to others but we still decided to use their service as we are more comfortable with them.We were supposed to stay for only two nights in VV but decided to extend two more because Laos Haven is lovely and VV is lovelier! :)

Thank you for taking care of us! We can't wait to recommend your hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    87
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
110
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was a great option for us in Vang Vieng. Location was good just at the edge of town so quiet but only 5-10 mins walk to everything. We had a deluxe room with a nice balcony and views. Room was lovely, spotlessly clean and lovely bed with clean, crisp white bedding (slightly firm but that's just the way it is in Laos!) everything was very nice and new, it was slightly bare but I'd rather new, clean and bare than tired and cluttered! Safe in the room was a nice touch when doing things like tubing etc.

Michael the owner and his son were so nice and helpful and really made us feel welcome. Arranged hot air balloon and bus tickets for us for the same price as anywhere else.

Breakfast was good - especially the fried eggs and baguette.

If you're looking for a mid range place in Vang Vieng then this is a great place to stay! If you have the budget it's also def worth booking a deluxe room. I'd stay here again for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Michael: Thank you for your kind words & positive endorsement and we truly look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The rooms , while a little small, are recently renovated and look brand new, very clean and safe in room, as well as fairly good wifi. The breakfast is fine but the best feature of this hotel is its owners. Michael and his son Marcus are very friendly and will answer all your questions and arrange any transport etc.. Little tip, halfway down the street before the Laos Haven is a little Bar/Resto , the Cafe de Paris, good food, drink and music and friendly French owner, Richard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely hope to be of serrvce to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We really enjoyed the courteous and helpful treatment we received from Michael and his wife and son. They were really relaxed and left us to ourselves but also gave us great advice when we needed it and organised a driver for us (who was excellent) to take us to see the waterfalls we wanted. Location was great, a short walk to the main restaurants and nightlife and far enough away to get a peaceful sleep. We stopped into the Irish pub to see Michael's son performing his music, really enjoyable. The room was fine, beds were fine - good value for the price and a filling, tasty breakfast to boot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Michael: Thank you for your kind comments it is nice to know our efforts are been appreciated and we sincerely hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Laos Haven is a comfortable, clean place to stay while in Vang Vieng. The room was good sized and even had a tv. The bathroom was fine although smelled a bit after showers.
Location is near everything since the town is small but it's off on a quiet street so you won't be bothered by night activities.
Staff was very nice and extremely helpful in planning out things to do.
If you're backpacking and care less about accommodation, you can definitely find a cheaper guesthouse nearby. If you want to feel more comfortable than this is a better choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were looking for a quiet guesthouse away from the party area of town. Laos Haven was perfect. Located on one of the main thoroughfares, it is easy to find yet still quiet at night. The swing seats were great for watching the evening storms.

The shower was great! A rarity for Laos.

The owners and staff were really friendly and interested in our trip. They made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The owner and his son were great, gave us plenty of information about the city, always very polite and happy to speak to us. Breakfast was great, rooms were perfect. Would stay here again and defiantly recommended for people looking looking at accommodation in vang vien.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laos Haven Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel & Spa

Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The Patio Restaurant on site provide Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with a selection of European and Thai Cuisine from 7am -10pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.