We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hearted service, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laos Haven Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Laos Haven Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Laos Haven Hotel & Spa
047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 82 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Warm hearted service, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The owners Michael and Sue are raising the bar of hotel standards in Vang Vieng. The hotel is quiet enough to rest but close enough to the tubing clubbing action. It is one of the rare hotels (if not only) with a water filtration system and CCTV for security. Michaels a lovely gent with a hearty laugh, and gives really good advice about the area and also local situations. I travelled alone and he made it a point that I felt at home, by engaging me in long conversations and introducing me to other travelers. Meant to just pass by and stay for a day, but ended there for 3 days. I miss the place already!

Room Tip: The rooms on 3rd level are nice and basic. Good views of the karst mountains at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa: Thank you for your positive reviews and I do sincerely hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    85
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
109
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Quiet, clean budget hostel accommodation within a 5 minute walk to town. Fantastic service from Michael the owner, who went out of his way to make us feel comfortable & give us information on the local sights & things to do. Organized flights & bus tickets through Michaels wife at a great rate too! Only negative was the slow wifi :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa Thank you for your kind & positive review and I sincerely hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is about 3-4 blocks away from the center of Vang Vieng which is a bit out of the action, but in a tiny town like this it doesn't really matter. The room was big and comfortable. Good AC and good wifi all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. I hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at the Laos Haven Hotel on the 9th and 10th of July and had a wonderful time, l can only say l was made to feel at home and treated like family everytime l walked throught the door Michael would wave and welcome us back from our day out, he chatted with us and told us wonderful stories he helped us with local knowledge and transport could not ask for better service he felt like an old friend by the time we left, and l can certainly recommend a stay in this hotel it is safe, clean, it is in a central location not far to walk to go to shops restaurants, bars etc or tubbing, we will definatly return, on another note l would like to say a word in Michaels defence of the review that was written by pilko_1 an attack on a lovely man l think totally unfounded, to many beers Mr Pilko_1, l was there that day and poor Michael was upset by your bad behavior when you drink beer pay for it, when you ruin peoples property then you pay for it, the sheets where not able to be used again and probably had to be torn up for rags, it clearly states in all the rooms not to stain the sheets with body paint from tubbing or you will be charged to replace the sheets. pilko you should learn some manners, its bad enough that you have tried to tarnish this mans good name in a public forum but to also insinuate that he owes you money is rediculous grow up and take some responsibility for your actions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your positive review and your comments to some sore losers. I sincerely look forward to be of service to you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

6 of us stayed at this hotel on recommendation from some other friends who'd been there the week before. When we arrived we were really happy with what we'd got and everything seemed to be ok. About 3-4 days in, the owner Michael brought out a random bill that we supposedly hadn't paid. When we asked him whose (out of the group) it was and when it was from, he could only say that it was ordered when we were "drunk" and we clearly couldn't remember it (convenient to say the least.) At the end of the day it was only £6 so we subsequently discussed who it could be. Then some woman who has been mentioned in the previous reviews of this hotel came out from the back and started going crazy claiming she'd call the police and immigration. Then Michael (owner) also got on the band wagon claiming that we were being aggressive even though not one of us has raised voices. That night we managed to calm the situation down but when we saw the woman the next day she again tried to start confrontation. Also, my friend got charged 15 pounds for supposed bedsheets with paint on it which seemed expensive even bu european prices for one bed sheet. As a result we left what could have been a good hotel with a very sour taste in our mouths. For the remaining 6 days we went out of our way to not spend another penny at the hotel.
I appreciate they are trying to earn a living but considering he had to owe people from our group money due to a lack of change, to be treated this way was really poor. After all we were supposed to be guests at his hotel.
P.S We are still owed some money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa. We do not owe any money to your group and false accusation and lying has consequences. FYI your personal details are with the Laotian Authority for the record. A word of wisdom : Please never take kindness for weakness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The room was big and clean, location was great (a little bit far away from the main street, but within walking distance), aircon and hot water was working. That's all i'm asking for... The staff are helpsom and can help you with further travel other destination and the price wasnt so bad comparing to others, around 60 000 kip. All in all great stay for a couple of days :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us. I sincerely hope you have many good memories while in LAO. I will be happy to be of service to you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

We were happy we choose Laos haven. The room was clean and decent and the location was good in that it was close but not too close to the main vang vieng centre. The owner Michael was really friendly and helpful. Overall I would definately recommend this place

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa; Thank you for your positive review and endorsement and I sincerely hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Laos Haven Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel & Spa

Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The Patio Restaurant on site provide Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with a selection of European and Thai Cuisine from 7am -10pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.