We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is Great! Away from the Party and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laos Haven Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Laos Haven Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Laos Haven Hotel & Spa
047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 82 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“This Place is Great! Away from the Party and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Outstanding stay here. The staff was helpful, and the food was amazing. The owner, Michael, was extremely informative and was always available to chat. This is not a place to stay if you just want to party, but rather a perfect option for those travelers who care about accommodation and quiet evenings. We'd gladly stay here again if visiting Laos again! The best part is the location really. Outside of the noise, but a simple 5 minute walk to the main part of town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos haven Hotel & Spa: Thank you very much for your support and posting a positive review of your experience while staying with us. I am glad you truly enjoy your stay and I do look forward to be of service to you and your friends in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    85
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
109
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks back with 5 of my mates. We rented 2 rooms...a double with two beds and a dorm room with 4 beds. Everything was suitable and the price was decent. However, the staff were completely and utterly useless. They never cleaned our rooms or replaced toilet paper/towels/etc. They lost 4 of our room keys when we left them at the front desk and then tried to make us pay for them. The woman, who seemed to be the manager, actually screamed at me one night when I came back to the hotel because I left my key with a male employee who was working at the front desk. She told me that it was my fault that he lost my key and wanted me to pay her for it. The final straw was when we checked out she tried to say we stole or lost 2 towels. We had turned them in the day before for fresh towels which never arrived. She wanted to charge us an astronomical fine and then threatened to call the police on us when we refused to pay her. She also refused to to give us our change because she said they were putting that money toward purchasing new towels because we were thieves. By the end of our stay I came to realize that most of the people working at this guesthouse were just plain crazy. Needless to say I would not recommend staying at this place unless you like crazy people and are not a imaginary towel thief.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael from Laos Haven Hotel:
It is very sad to be victimized, but as established International Hospitality Professionals, we are trained to accept certain level of abuse or intimidation from guest but.anything above and beyond we also understand we can exercise our rights to defend our interests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The owner Michael is the most attentive owner I have ever met not just in Laos but anywhere, he knows about and understands customer service. He has only had the place so its a work in progress but he will get to be the standard setter in this town. Breakfast was best in Laos we have had, nothing is a problem just ask Michael and its done. He provides advice on the pit falls of this town and how to avoid them. All sound and prudent advice. Dont miss this place if your staying in Vang Vieng. Michael I give you a 10 out 10

Room Tip: Just ask the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos haven Hotel & Spa: Thank you very much for your vote of confident & support and I will keep working toward being the best host in Vang Vieng for all that will be staying with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and we enjoyed it. Great shower, good breakfast and like mentioned before very nice and helpfull owners. The only odd thing was that there were no sheets provided (only blankets) I used my sleeping bag liner instead of asking for sheets so I don't know if this is the policy. They are still working on improvements (due to the floods in Thailand the suplies didn't arrive) so it will become even better. I hope some decorations will arrive too to give it a little more charm, it is a little bare now. But this all said I would stay there again if I would be in VV once more

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa: Thank you very much for your support and a positive review. I am glad you enjoy your stay with us and I look forward to be of service to you again. FYI I have taken your suggestion and have included extra flat sheets to all my bedding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I chose to stay with Laos Haven Hotel after reading some positive reviews on the internet. During my stay in Vang Vieng, I got very sick from consuming some local vendor food. The owner (Michael) was very kind and helpful; he brought me to the local hospital and stayed with me throughout my consultation. I had acute food poisoning and had to stay in hospital and Michael came daily to visit me and brought me chicken broth each time and also came to fetch me back when I am well to go. I sincerely believe he would have extended to every of his guest what he did for me. Michael, thank you again and all the best to you & your hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good for the price you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos haven Hotel & Spa: Thank you for your positive vote and sharing your personal experience while staying in Vang Vieng. It will be my pleasure to take care of all my guests the same way as I have done for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

A simple but well managed hotel. Good value for money. The owner is very kind & informative and he will spend time explaining to all his hotel guests the do and don't while holidaying in Vang Vieng. I find it very helpful as a tourist because I can reallly enjoy myself fully and avoid having bad experience

Room Tip: All the rooms are very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Owner/Manager Michael Laos Haven Hotel & Spa: Thank you for your positive review. I am glad you enjoy your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to Vang Vieng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapa, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river. The Patio Restaurant on site provide Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with a selection of European and Thai Cuisine from 7am -10pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. We were there for 3days and enjoyed so much.love to come back

Room Tip: you can choose a room near by the back side so you can see the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Michael Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely hope to be of service to you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laos Haven Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel & Spa

Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The Patio Restaurant on site provide Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with a selection of European and Thai Cuisine from 7am -10pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laos Haven Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.