We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balloons Over Vang Vieng

Balloons Over Vang Vieng
Vang Vieng, Laos
00856 20 96918111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 20 Attractions in Vang Vieng
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

this was fun! Its pricey, but worth doing. My friend was scared the entire time even though it was his idea doing this... but seriously, I felt really safe, the pilot seemed professional and he had constant contact with the crew on the ground about weather conditions etc. We got to see Vang Vieng from the air, and all the BEAUTIFUL nature around. We went in the morning, and it was a cloudy day, but still, it was great. If the weather is bad trips get cancelled and you get a full refund and they offer you to go again as soon as the weather improves, I think this is good service.
Great experience :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    4
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Calm ride over Vang Vieng for a good price, tick it off your things to do before you die list.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very calm ride over Vang Vieng. In fact for quite a bit of it we barely moved. There were no issues with take off, or landing, or being near a power lines or trees. There were 6 of us in the basket, any more would have been too cramped.

We took the 6:30 trip, and did see the sunrise break through the clouds. However it is cloudy, apparently every day in the dry season (we visited April), so visibility into the distance is not great. It was great to get a different view on the town below though.

For the price, just $80, this was a bargain compared to what we can get in the UK. So for us it was a no-brainer, where else would we have this opportunity for this price. Something else ticked off the bucket list.

TIPS:
AFTERNOON or MORNING - Apparently afternoon trips have a higher wind speed than morning trips, so you might get to go further, or it might be a bit more exciting.
HAT - your head may get uncomfortably hot from the burners, so take a hat (the pilot wears one)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the 80 USD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The company is owned and operates by Chinese. We were told that the flight would take between 45-50 minutes. In the end it took only 28 minutes from start to touchdown. We were only high in the air for 10 minutes, rest of the time was floating 5 meters above the ground. I experienced a better flight in Germany, which was really worth paying a comparable price to Vang Vieng. In advance there was no security briefing. Also, they did not even ask for our weight, which is important for security reasons. I would not book that tour again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

this was our first balloon ride and it was totally worth it; amazing views. we would have wanted to have it even longer. the only downside was we were supposed to take the 630 flight and they picked us up late so we didnt really got to watch the sun rise. as others said there was no briefing before the flight but after reading reviews and watching documentaries, we knew what to expect. all in all, it was a fabulous way to start my birthday celebration!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wasn't amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We went for the afternoon flight, and paid $80 each which we thought was pretty good. When we got to the site we saw them blowing up the balloons and then we got in the basket. As we gently floated off the ground another balloon was being blown up. We were floating quite low over the town which was fine until we came close to pylons. At one point I thought we were either in the trees or the pylon! We only cleared the pylon by a couple of metres at the most. After another 10 minutes and narrowly clearing another pylon we came to land. By this point I was glad we were on the ground. The other hot airballoon that came up behind us was a lot higher than us for their trip so would not have had the worries of pylons. The pilot was calm the full way though so obviously he knew what he was doing. As others have said it is about 35/40 minutes in the air, but for me that was enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balloons Over Vang Vieng also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Balloons Over Vang Vieng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balloons Over Vang Vieng, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.