We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience with fun, helpful guides :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adam's Rock climbing school

Adam's Rock climbing school
Vang Vieng, Laos
00856 205010832
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing experience with fun, helpful guides :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We did the full day rock climbing course and the 1/2 day kayak tour. WOW! What an amazing 2 days we had with Adam and his amazing team. I felt extremely safe rock climbing under the watchful eye of the guide and the spectacular views of Vang Vieng were icing on the cake. I highly recommend going with Adam, as he's extremely professional and always puts safety first. The cliffs were set up by Adam himself, with all the necessary bolts and ropes.

The half day Kayak tour was guided by Adam himself. Another WOW moment! Adam is so friendly, genuine and down-to-earth and very knowledgeable of the area. We went to a mind-blowing "locals only" cave which will go down as an experience of a lifetime.

They are very reasonably priced and you're guaranteed to have a great experience in Vang Vieng!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great Day! Be ready for quite the hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We used Adam's Climbing School for the half day course. The equipment is very high quality and Adam provides everything up to the water bottles for each person. The rock wall is amazing!! At first it looked quite impossible, but its not as hard as it looks! This is truly for everyone, even beginners. We did 3 climbs in the half day course. The full course offers much more climbing, but for us, we were exhausted after 3.

Our only complaint was how hard it was to get to the wall. It's a fairly dangerous hike up the cliffs, especially in wet conditions. Make sure you wear good shoes and pack light.

We would highly recommend Adam's school for his professionalism and excellent language skills. Cost for us wasn't an issue so at $27, we felt we definitely got great value.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Adam is helpful and was fun to hang with”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

In late July 2012, my spouse and I spent several days with Adam and his climbing school. He went way out of his way to accommodate us and provided excellent service.

In addition to providing climbing instruction and guiding, he has climbing equipment for rent. This includes ropes, harnesses, shoes, quickdraws and a power converter for power drills.

In our discussions with him we learned he had previously guided in southern Thailand at Railey/Krabi. He's also apparently just formed a business relationship with a climbing wall in Siem Reap, Cambodia. He speaks good English and German.

We'd highly recommend Adam's school over the other two more recent schools that are in town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good climbing experience - bit overprized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I went for a half-day trip with Adam's Climbing School. Seien was my guide and it was great fun going out on the rocks with him. I felt safe and well-supported at all times. The climbing spot they use during the wet season is really nice and allows for great views. The top of the rock is overhanging so that a few meeters around the rock wall stays dry at all times while water is dripping from the top and some hanging stalagtites a few meters away. I especially liked the easy 5a route up and around a stalagtite: It offers fantastic views from around the rock over the rice paddies and the surrounding mountains. You have to scramble up a quite steep, slippery path to get to the spot though. Adam itself and the people at the shop are also pretty nice.
Only the fact that they are quite "expensive" with EVERYTHING they offer is a clear downside to me. From the actual climbing, to water, to laundry to bus ticket service, everything is more expensive than the shops around. I always appreciated this friendly climber's atmosphere at other places that offer really fair prices. I'm ok with paying more for the actual climbing than at other places (better guide, equipment etc.) but I feel that other services should offer fellow climbers best prices. Maybe just me... Having said that, the price for half a day climbing with guide and equipment is still very good value for money.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We did a beginners half day course, because its the wet season its quite a walk and a scramble up before you get to the rock where you can climb. Nevertheless, when you do make it up there the views are amazing and there are some very nice challenging routes! Adam is a great climber and good instructor, he also tought us to belay and gives you the encouragement to continue when you think you cant anymore! A real bargain for such a great experience, highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adam's Rock climbing school also viewed

 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Adam's Rock climbing school? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adam's Rock climbing school, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.