We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth A Look” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant

Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant
Main street, just past Kang temple | next to Chilllao Guesthouse, Vang Vieng, Laos
58893709
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 53 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Tweed Valley, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Having dined at Peeping Som with some friends, we were very impressed with the overall dining experience. Natalie (an Aussie) and Som (her Lao partner) are excellent and very attentive hosts without intruding. Andrew (the Chef) is doing some very creative things in the kitchen and doing them very well.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food! Great bar! Fun place to hang out for all ages and tastes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant has a great ambience and wonderful food. We (8 middle aged friends and two young males ) enjoyed many great meals there when we stayed in Vang Vieng. We enjoyed the Trivia Night especially. If you are looking for quality and a relaxed welcoming atmosphere this is the place for you!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Bar in Vang Vieng”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have just returned from a trip to Lao - Vientiane, Vang Vieng and Luang Prabang. The best part of the trip was Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant in Vang Vieng. It is such a nice change from the hundreds of other 'clone' bars in this tubing town. The food was great, the Beerlao was cold, the owners were charming and the ambiance made us want to go back each day. Which we did. If you want more than buckets of cheap gut rot and endless reruns of Family Guy, Peeping Som's is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yum yum yum.....sue i miss your cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is the best food in town with Garys Irish bar The rising coming a close second.
It is a relatively new restaurant and not yet visited so often but it is a gem...most restaurants will give you decent food but this is real restaurant quality food.
you may have to wait a little bit for the food if it is busy as the chefs Andrew and Sue are the only ones there,but everything is fresh as hell and mostly homemade.
the two dishes i would highly reccommend are the chicken kiev,mash and cabbage.....and then the pork schnitzel.
the Kiev is a REAL chicken fillet...which can be hard to find,with a beautiful butter and garlic sauce inside....and the mash has the best potatoe in town in it which once again can be hard to find.
the schnitzel has a beautiful lemon twist to it that leaves you wanting more.
The hostess with the mostest Natalie whos partner Som is the namesake of the bar, is a fantastic host.
while i was there she organised a few pub quizzes which added a bit of variety to the daily drinking routine in Vang Vieng that capture you.
So overall i would say that hidden piece of cullinary heaven is highly overlooked....and i hope that business picks up there during high seasonbecause if not then your missing out on the best eats in Vang Vieng.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Undoubtedly the place to be in Vang Vieng for some delicious Western dishes (although they do have Asian options). The location could be better as it does not face the river, but the place itself is extremely clean and pleasantly decorated, somewhat of a rarity in a true backpacker's haven like Vang Vieng. Some light music contributed to the overall relaxed atmosphere. The British run place also provided the best mixture of service with a level of attentiveness that allowed for privacy as well as intimacy. The relaxed atmosphere really belied the professionalism and presentation in which the food was presented. Don't be put-off by the primitive outlook from the outside or the slightly higher prices if you have any second thoughts, because this place will beat even your highest expectations. I highly recommend the excellent Chicken Kiev with mashed potatoes and red cabbage, while the spicy chicken wrap is another delicious option.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.