We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal with idyllic location in Vang Vieng” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jammee Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jammee Guest House to your Saves list
Jammee Guest House
Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great deal with idyllic location in Vang Vieng”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I really enjoy my stay here. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful. Room is clean, spacious, big bed, toilet, a/c, mosquito net. Pay for 10USD/person (inc breakfast). Breakfast is good. We had scrambled egg and omelet with fresh baguette. The place is very quite and peaceful and well maintained too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    77
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
84
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is an excellent value. Reviews for other guesthouses complain about bugs easily getting into the room at night, and we had no such problems for four nights. The owner is kind and helpful and runs the place really well. He's very in tune with travelers' needs, and he knows the little things that round out a good guesthouse experience. One example: He offers free area maps, coffee, tea and water. Another example: Rooms come with a variety of bed sizes for families and groups of people traveling together.

The rooms themselves are very large, perfectly clean and still look brand new (we think he said they've only been open two years). There is even large tables in the room to put your luggage on (practically a first for us after 3 weeks of travel in Laos). They also offer daily room service and the option to change out your towels.

Breakfast (included in room price) is delicious. There are a variety of options from pancakes to yogurt with muesli to eggs with a baguette.

The property is a 10-minute walk to the main bar and restaurant area (owner sells drinks at reasonable prices). There are restaurants and minimarts nearby though. It's nice being a bit away because it's quiet and the area is calm. We highly recommend this guesthouse and would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Really enjoyed our time here. The guesthouse is quiet and peaceful in lovely countryside and we really enjoyed staying away from the town centre.

Rooms are spacious, clean, with big beds, fresh linen, good and quiet a/c and really good quality nozzle nets. Private bathroom with a hot shower.

Breakfast was really good, big portions, nice area to eat & relax in & service with a smile!

Laundry service is very speedy and smells amazing! Even did our laundry on our last day after returning from muddy climbing so that we didn't have to pack dirty stuff - they turned it around in about an hour.

Best thing for us was the owner & the atmosphere. Song was so friendly and helpful. We booked a 2 day climbing trip (not through the hotel) and on the morning of the 2nd day my partner was really sick so I tried to phone to cancel but got no answer. Song asked if he could help and immediately offered to drive me to the office. He didn't want us to get ripped off and arranged for our 2nd day to be delayed. Really appreciated his help and willingness to sort it out.

As of July 2013 the cost of a room was 100,000kip including breakfast and free tea, coffee & bananas whenever. We thought this was great value and we felt very relaxed staying here- HIGHLY RECOMMEND jammees.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I met the Australian guy who is a helping manager. He quoted me 80 000 kip a night incl breakfast,which was the amount the owner quoted him after a phone call. I stayed seven nights. I was told I was to pay my bill upon checkout. Upon checkout the Australian was nowhere to be seen and the dishonest little man that is the owner, decides the price is 100 000 a night now. He came to this figure after asking me if I used the laundry services,bought drinks etc. He seemed annoyed that I had no extras so he decided to increase the price to get more money from me. There were some nasty looking characters coming and going from the place, so for a small amount of money I couldnt be bothered argueing with him.He even had the nerve to try to get me to book an overpriced bus with him,he really is clueless!! The breakfast is rubbish and the owner is not a nice man at all and has zero respect for foreigners and has no hesitation to lie to you. He has absolutely no idea at all of how to run a business. Do not stay here as there are far better places at a better price,with honest owners in this town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is located outside of the main core of Vang Vieng. Takes around 10minutes to walk from the guesthouse to the core. Pros - it is rather peaceful. Cons - The walk out(imagine what if it rains)
The room is big and come with mosquito nets, A/C and water heater. Wifi is pretty strong for me at least. Breakfast is simple but is nice as you get to chill at their dining area.

Room Tip: Wifi is stronger on the first floor. Also if you are intending to get transportation out of Vang Vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here in April for two nights,Room was clean with fan And TV,
your own shower,very helpful staff.Good Breakfast.Bit of a walk from town
but nice and quiet.Good price..Worth a Stay..Should we end up back at Vang Vieng then would stay again..If you want it loud and busy then stay more in town..maybe not so good for the 18-25 Rubber Ring Crew.!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The whole stay was great. Big clean rooms, good room rate including breakfast. The Manager, Lionel could not have been more helpful and Som the owner was also friendly.
It is a short walk to town but the standard of accommodation makes it more than worthwhile.
You will not do better in Vang Vieng.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jammee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jammee Guest House

Address: Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jammee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jammee Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.