We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Backpacker Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malany Villa

Malany Villa
Malany Villa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malany Villa
Th Luang Prabang, Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Backpacker Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Malany Villa is a cool hostel. It's not the cheapest in town, from memory of talking to other back packers it was relatively expensive. But it was far nicer than a lot of other places in town. The staff are really nice, and they have essentials for sale (eg. water, chips and chocolate etc). There's no restaurant in the hostel, but there's so many in Vang Vieng (which is such a small town) this is not a problem at all. It is really close to all the shops, restaurants and bars etc., but in such a location that noise from people in town is not heard from your room. The rooms are really tidy and the bathrooms are adequate. Air conditioning works. Would recommend for more comfortable stay. Many cheaper hostels have shared rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It's cheap, it's clean, the air con works, its in a great spot, the service is good. We had a group stay here and we had a blast, we were out for most of the days but came back to a clean cool room, so what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Given the price(10usd per room for 2 pax), I couldn't ask for any better.

The air con is cold, the room is equipped with ventilation fans which make the ventilation good,
The hot water is working, everything is fine except that wifi signal is not that consistent, but i am ok with that. It is a perfect place for you to rest and go for fun on the other place:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Room OK, service OK. The room I was in was VERY noisy so I moved after one night. Vang Vieng is a noisy place though so it's par for the course.

Laundry service was fine. Room had TV and fan for 60,000 kip. Moved to a nicer room for 50,000 so it's definitely not the cheapest and best place around here so best to have a walk around because everything's in a very small area.

Room Tip: I guess ask for a 'quiet' one. I'm not sure which way facing this would be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

There are several Malany Villas and I hope the other ones are better. this one is on the main street next to the kayal rental. For 6 euro you get a double + extra and a fan. Also included was the absence of hot water and decent room lighting. Towels were rags and the toilet was leaking. bedsheets clean. Also included was a pack of loud drunken Aussies coming back in the middle of the night deciding to continue partying on the terrace. But this is Vang Vieng. Its all part of it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Was droped off right at the hotel by the Mini Bus from the capital. This town is very small so it is in a a good location. Room was clean, with a/c, and hot water. Staff were friendly and helpful. I stayed in Vang Vieng and loved the little sleepie village , however it is now spoiled with to many hotels and very takie guest houses, I was so dissapointed would not go again.
If u are looking for a decent budget hotel is ok. Plenty of cheap restaurants on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Take a room to the rear is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I spent one night here. I paid 70,000 kip for an air-con room. Fairly spacious room with a bed that was quite firm, but not rock hard. Big window let in quite a bit of light. It was satisfactory for a night, but if I were staying longer, I'd probably look for something with a bit more charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malany Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malany Villa

Address: Th Luang Prabang, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty lodging in Vang Vieng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malany Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Malany Villa to your Saves list