We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great possibilities but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Popular View Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Popular View Guesthouse to your Saves list
Popular View Guesthouse
Ban Savang, Namsong Riverside, Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 84 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great possibilities but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, which was probably enough.
Great: the location - if you get a room at the back of the guesthouse, they have big windows with a balcony and chairs looking out over the river and to the mountains, absolutely spectacular.
Good: the bed - comfortable king size bed, the room was designed quite nicely with very nice furniture and was clean.
Average - the staff - helpful enough, not unfriendly, but didn't see a smile.
Bad - hard and large pillows which I just couldn't get comfortable on; air con that dripped water inside the room - manager fixed it once but then started again 2 days later; although the room was nice, in typical Laotion standards, the bathroom cleanliness and design was almost reminiscent of a horror movie.

Next time I would try somewhere else first.

Room Tip: Get an air-conditioned room at the back of the guesthouse - they have big windows with a balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
2
15
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mendoza, Argentina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Since this place was about the same price as several others we checked out, I would stay elsewhere next time. Unless you have a room with a river view (more expensive), the other rooms are just like any other and the owners don't know anything about customer service. They aren't outright rude, but just not friendly or welcoming at all. You almost feel like you're invading their private space by staying there.

Also, they do not clean the rooms each day like all of the other places we've stayed the past month- this is an FYI for those who prefer cleaning service; I, in particular am OK without hotel staff being in my room every day so the non-cleaning was fine by me, however we probably should have gotten a better price on the room then because other hotels nearby do clean the rooms and the price is about the same.

Location was perfect, although VV is so small that just about anywhere in town would have been a fine location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is an average place to stay but a solidly good average! The main selling point are the incredible views across the river towards the cliffs - simply stunning.

Room was basic, and in need of redecorating and generally maintenance felt like it had slipped. Location is very good, close to everything and because the island bars are now closed there is no problem with noise/music at night. The adjacent bar/restaurant turned its music off at 11pm each night.

Free wifi in the reception/dining area. I think breakfast may have been included, but I headed out for breakfast each day I was there to somewhere with a view whilst eating.

It was all I needed for a 2 night stay - very basic, but great views & location made up for this. As others have said, don't expect smiles from the staff and do expect to pay in advance for your stay upon arrival.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Good place near town centre with excellent view of the river and mountains. However, the staff do not smile and not friendly. Unlike previous guest houses we had stayed, the owner insisted we pay upfront before even we get into the room as if we are going to run away without paying. You will find him sitting around the counter without shirt!

Room Tip: Ask for room with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The pictures online do not really show what this place is like. It's a hole in the wall, at best. I was shocked and disgusted...but apparently most of the "guesthouses" in Vang Vieng are similar. Pay more for better quality...something I will always think when it comes to Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: Lots of better options out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I must say I was surprised to see any excellent reviews ...maybe I got a lemon of a room, but it was filthy and disgusting. The bed was bug stained, the walls had obviously NEVER been washed. When I used the sink more water leaked out the pipes than actually went down the drain, and the shower was terrible. The staff seemed pretty disinterested in any kind of service. The two things it has going for it, is the great location and excellent view. I don't give too many bad reviews, but other than the location and view(it gets a 2 because of the view) I couldn't find anything good to say, and the view doesn't make up for the crappiness of the room ...there are MUCH better value for money to be found than here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just finished staying here for 5 days and did not receive one smile from the owners or their staff. The only words we had from the owner was "when you pay", which was 10 minutes after we checked in. I replied that I would need to get to ATM first. The owners are also lazy and just sit around watching TV and eating instead of taking care of their guests. Prices of the groceries in the hotel are also 40% higher than in the shop next door. When I told the owner he just said a price only 20% lower. Total rip off and bad attitude from the owner in trying this on with his own guests. Internet is also irratic and only availble in the reception area. Room cleaning is poor and not regular. The room also has no furniture except a ledge sticking out of the wall and a stool.
Pillows very hard and could be difficult for some people to sleep.
Only good points are that the room is a good size and my room was with a great view across the river. To be fair I would give this an average rating if the service had been even a litlle friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Popular View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popular View Guesthouse

Address: Ban Savang, Namsong Riverside, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Popular View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Popular View Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.