We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place, great view, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maylyn Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maylyn Guest House
Save
You added Maylyn Guest House to your Saves list
route 1320 | hurnyay village, Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 84 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Male
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Place, great view, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the bungalows next to the little stream with first view on the mountains. It was defiantly worth paying the extra few dollars on already very cheap rooms for. The view is AMAZING. the rooms are very basic with big bed, mosquito net, fan and private cold water shower and toilet. We only spend 5 days here, I wish it was for longer. This Place was definitely the highlight of our Lao trip.
The staff were very friendly and the food was awesome as well, we tried different places while we were there but our favourite was the food cooked at the guest house, They do traditional food and tasty sandwiches and was great value. Wifi in communal area.
All in all I can not rate this place high enough. We nearly didn't come to vang vieng because of all the bad press it had got but so glad we did and found this nice quiet relaxing place. I hope one day to return.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the view straight onto the mountains, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobbit46, Owner at Maylyn Guest House, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
thank you for you kind review I think I wasnt at Maylyn when you were here so Im happy that you were so well taken care of ..joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    50
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
9
118
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was probably one of the most beautiful places we've ever been. When we walked up to our bungalow we laughed with amazement at the view and asked, "can we just move in?" The price is great, only $8USD for two. Our bungalow overlooked the stream, a little waterfall, the huge butterfly garden, and the magic misty mountains. Truly a utopia far from the tuber scene that has somewhat tainted the name of Vang Vieng. We spent hours just sitting on our porch absorbing the beauty. Yes so romantic and peaceful that we got engaged!

Some things to be aware of: you have to pay the little trolls that guard the bridge once per trip...not a lot, something like 4,000kip roundtrip. Also our bungalow had no hot water in the shower, although there are showers with hot water available. A simple sacrifice for one of the most beautiful places you'll stay.

Restaurant tip: go to AMD at the end of the bridge turn right. Best food... We ate there 5 times!!

Room Tip: We can't remember the number, either 12 or 5....? Keep asking to see all the bungalows... when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobbit46, Manager at Maylyn Guest House, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
hello that probably a first for the guest house I hope it all goes well for you and thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here with my Husband & Son for close on a month & it was the most amazing place I've stayed at. Joe was kind enough to take us on a little tour as well to the local Waterfall. I can't wait until we can get back there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I Can not express how beautiful this place is! The cabins/bungalows are lovely and cosy and kept in fantastic condition and the views are breathtaking. The gardens surrounding are maintained to the highest standard and it is just so peaceful and tranquil. Such a beautiful location and guesthouse. The staff are always happy to help as well. The guesthouse is across the bamboo bridge from all the nightlife however it is a good adventure trying to get back in the pitch black. Amazing amazing gueshouse!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dsala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed AGAIN at Maylyn's in Jan2013 and found the place very peaceful and relaxing. The cabins are cosy and a bit basic but I wasnt looking for a super luxury place to stay either. All linen and towels are clean, bathroom w shower works fine, bed was big and came with a mosquito net.At the terrace there were a table and chairs and were perfect for butterfly spotting and admiring the lovely garden Joe has created.There is a separate shower rooms with hot water, not all cabins apparently have hot water. Food served at the restaurant was tasty and good priced. The only minus is the staff - the young staff members could be more efficient, too often they do run around but get little done. They could pay better attention to the food orders to avoid mistakes. Maybe this happens due lack of language skills. Joe himself is a quirky and a friendly character, his dry sense of humour and looks on modern day life arent necessary everyone's cup of tea and that is all right. He has a big personality at least! Wish him and his team all the best!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We came to Maylyn GH after we heard it's an amazing place and we totally agree!
The place is quiet, peaceful and relaxing!
It's across the river (next to big bridge for the cars) and away from the noisy nightlife, for people who seek quietness.
Still it takes only 10 min walk to the city (across the small bamboo bridge).
The entire GH is arranged really nice in a beautiful garden with many flowers and butterflies.
We booked a hut for 2 nights in advance and we got one near the small bridge and the tiny river inside Maylyn GH.
It was absolutely amazing!!! The view is breathtaking and in the evening we heard the frog’s choir from the tiny river ;-)
Our hut was very clean, had a fan, clean towels and a mosquito net. (no need to bring one for that place). We also had a warm water shower.
The food at Maylyn was delicious. The service was also very very good.
After our sleeping bus to Luang Prabang got broken, we phoned Maylyn GH at about 12 am and asked if they might still have a room for us, and they arranged for us an Ensuite room.
The Ensuite rooms are new and also very clean, but we preferred the huts.
We asked if we can switch back to a hut if one is free and we immediately got one.
We were again next to the small bridge and stayed for another 3 days ;-)
For animal lovers like we are, we enjoyed the lovely company of 3 kittens and bigger cute cats! As well the dogs at Maylyn are cute and very friendly! All the animals are treated well!
The Maylyn GH was for us the perfect choice, because it’s a family business with lovely people and it’s located near the caves route and the crystal pool.
Across the GH is a scooter rental (only 50000kip).
All in all, our stay at Maylyn GH was for us a true Honeymoon and we would come back to this GH any time! Highly recommended!!!!!!
Thanks to Maylyn GH!

Room Tip: We loves the huts near the small bridge and tiny river inside Maylyn GH. Clean rooms, fan, hot show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobbit46, Owner at Maylyn Guest House, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
thank you for your lengthy and detailed review for our humble guest house I agree with what you say this is a good destination for nature lovers if you need luxury and convenience there may be more suitable places in Vang Vieng town ..I dont know who you are if you come back can you introduce yourself?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a double room with ensuite. The room was lovely and clean. Bed was a little hard but fine. The ensuite is grand except for the shower which had both a low volume of water and low pressure. Towels are provided. Lockers are not. The room was not cleaned during our stay.

The restaurant is fine. Service was slow and we had delicious meals but also just okay meals. Breakfast is not included.

The location is not so good. It's only about 10 minutes walking to the main area but at night, there is no lighting and can be difficult finding your way back.

There is no wifi.

The service of the staff was good and bad. The man who could speak English was great, helpful and friendly. But, he was hardly ever there. As a result we had to try to communicate with the ladies working in the kitchen who had poor English and were disinterested in dealing with anything other than food. If the had to do so then they were rude.

It was an okay stay but on our third night we found accomodation in the centre of the town that had a better shower, better location and wifi, and all for the same price. I guess it just depends on what you're looking for.

Sheila

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobbit46, Owner at Maylyn Guest House, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't mention the water pressure while you here that was easily fixed when It was brought to my attention and I'm sorry the kitchen staff don't speak much English [so how is your Lao ??] I"m happy that you found what you were looking for in town. Of course our big draw is the garden and the butterflies. We compare quite well to "Eco" resorts that Ive visited and of course we are much much cheaper.
Oscar Wilde said "a cynic is a person who knows the price of everything and the value of nothing"
what value do you put on butterflies or experiencing something different ?? and finally Im happy to tell you we do now have WIfi WIfi FREE WIFI for all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maylyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maylyn Guest House

Address: route 1320 | hurnyay village, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget guest house/mini eco resort.We are on the edge of a village our rear faces towards the Karst mountains. We are located next door to the beautiful and expensive Vieng Tara Hotel. We have a variety of rooms some are simple basic timber frame and bamboo bungalows for people who want a more authentic SE Asian experience and we do have more conventional masonry rooms for those who need them. The main appeal of our place is the location, the views and of course our Garden which at times is full of butterflies. Early wet season is best for the butterflies. I recognise that we may not be what everyone is looking for but many people love us.. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maylyn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.