We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and friendly staffs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inthira Vang Vieng

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inthira Vang Vieng to your Saves list
Inthira Vang Vieng
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ban Sawang, Vang Vieng 2145532, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Vientiane, Laos
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service and friendly staffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

i had been for one day kayaking and we got very nice experince some time our kayaking flipped,but for us is ok , we come back and had some drink with nice lap pork and mint cooking by chef but aillt spicy and dinner we had again with nice paper steak, my gril friend she love break fast here , we have to come back next year again.
missing you.
Mike usa.

Room Tip: •"Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Inthira Vang Vieng, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Mike,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Inthira Vang Vieng. I will tell our Chef that you enjoyed the restaurant, The Kitchen. We do our best to improve daily our service and recipes and we are always happy when our guests enjoy their experience with us. We get a lot of returning guests who love Vang Vieng so much they need to come back every year! We hope you ll be one of them and that we will see you next year.

See you soon !

Thongsay,
General Manager
Inthira Vang Vieng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    109
    56
    15
    14
See reviews for
14
103
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We came for the tubing and it was lashing rain the the whole time during our stay (July 2011) We went tubing in the rain and we do not recommend this as the river was flooded and dangerous. Anyway, the hotel was a lovely little getaway from the partying and perfect to come back to after tubing. The room was clean and spacious and had a tv and fridge with ensuite bathroom. The walkway from the restaurant/check-in desk to the rooms was quite slippy in the rain. We did not have a mosquito net in our room and when we asked about one we were given insect spray to kill insects. The wifi only worked in the reception area/bar/restaurant. Upon returning just after 10pm one evening the reception areas was all closed up and so we could not use the wifi. The staff were very helpful and organised a transfer for us to get a minibus to Vientiene.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Inthira Vang Vieng, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and i m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.
The Nam Song river is very fast at the moment and we advise our guests to be very careful when tubing and to always be with someone. Anyway it is more fun this way!

We have upgraded our wifi to the best available in Vang Vieng and have added rooters so wifi now works in the rooms. Unfortunately the internet provider in Vang Vieng is not always reliable and sometimes internet does not work or is very slow, but it is then the case every where in town.

We hope to welcome you again at Inthira Vang Vieng in the near future.

Best regards,

Thongsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

if you're looking for somewhere to stay in vang vieng, this is probably your best bet. clean, cheap and close to the party. chill little restaurant and lounge area out front was a nice touch. the service was great too - when i returned from tubing covered in marker and having lost my wet pack (and room key), they only slightly laughed at me - haha but everyone was super helpful. and at $20USD a night, do yourself a favor and avoid the sketchy shack hostels.

vang vieng sure is a trip...didnt do much sleeping but great spot to keep my backpack!!

Room Tip: leave room, go tubing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Inthira Vang Vieng, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words and i am glad you did not mind us laughing when you came back from tubing... we are used to it i guess ! We recommend all our guests to leave everything at the hotel, which is very sure (we have safes in the rooms and at the reception), take the money you need and nothing else, no camera, etc.
Do not hesitate to ask any of my staff for advice on the best tubing practices!

Thongsay,
General Manager
Inthira Vang Vieng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Looks good on the outside and stood out from the others but the service is non existent!

Arrived and was told they were not serving food till 5 so we sat and got drinks. By 5.15pm we asked if we could order to which we were laughed at by the staff as they continued to sit there and eat their own food...all 3 of them in fact.

Would not recommend this place at all if your hungry as you won't get served.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Inthira Vang Vieng, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry you could not eat at our restaurant, The Kitchen. In order to please our guests, we have extended the hours of opening of the restaurant. Since it is low season and there are less people in Vang Vieng at the moment, our cook took on her to arrive late that day, not thinking it would matter as we rarely serve food at 5pm usually.
The staff were eating their dinner before the service.
I regret that they could not communicate with you better and made you angry and left you hungry.

You will be happy to know that we took the appropriate measures to make sure it does not happen again.
If you are still in Vang Vieng, please contact me privately and i hope you will come and discover our nice restaurant.

Best regards,

Thongsay
General Manager
Inthira Vang Vieng - The Kitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Inthira is a very nice hotel, boutique like with a gorgeous outdoor lobby area. The staff are also very friendly and helpful.

However we had the worst sleep of our life during our one night stay. I think this may be a one off or a bad room choice, so the review reflects my view of the hotel otherwise. Our AC never pushed out cold air, only hot. And it was hotter in our room than outside. We didn't think it would be too bad so we didn't complain, but wish we had as that night we were hot and sweaty trying to sleep, fighting over the narrow side of the bed right in front of the AC to be somewhat cooler. A fan room would have been more comfortable. We were also woken at 1:30am by a rooster right next door. And not just one. Multiple.

The curtains also didn't close properly so light was let in at 6am from the sun. Not that it mattered, we were up and restless since 1:30am. We went back to Vang Vieng and sadly did not stay in the Inthira again, despite breakfast being good, them organising our minivan for us (a great minivan to LP) and very very nice rooms otherwise. With a safe!!! Please get the rooster sorted out and make sure your ACs work.

Room Tip: Not by the rooster
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Inthira Vang Vieng, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry you had such a bad experience and I wished you had said something at the time.

We have managed to negotiate with the neighbor and you will be happy to know that all the roosters are gone. They won't disturb our guests in the morning anymore.
As for the AC, they all work well and have been checked in July. I wished you had told us and we would have offered you another room and checked what was wrong with your AC.

Please let me know directly if you come back to Vang Vieng and i will take care of your booking.

Best regards,

Thongsay,
General Manager
Inthira Vang Vieng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

After arriving in Vang Vieng from Luang Prabang and a 7 hour drive, what a relief it was to see this hotel after seeing all the shady looking hostels that you pass on your way there. The hotel room is a decent size, amenities are nice, but all in all a nice place to stay at. They were very helpful in arranging our trip back to Vientiane, and were able to help us out when we asked we wanted to ride in a van that wasn't completely full. They spoke English well which was definitely another relief. If you're looking to escape the gap-year drunkards that plague Vang Vieng then this is a place to stay. If you want to join them, downtown is a short walk from the hotel.

The TV and internet wasn't working in the room but you can use the wifi and computers outside for internet access. Not so much a complaint but if you're one who needs to wired, just a bit of an FYI for you. Walkway to first floor rooms is kinda creepy because there isn't any light and there isn't a gate that leads to the walkway so people can come in from the streets and walk in if there isn't anyone at the front desk.

But for the slightly less paranoid, the hotel is a great place to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inthira Vang Vieng, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. You make some excellent points. I am very happy to hear that you found the staff to be helpful.
Regarding the TV, there is no decent satellite options in Vang Vieng. We have purchased DVD players and we offer now a selection of series and movies to rent at a very cheap rate.
We are in the process of upgrading our internet connection as we want to offer the fastest connection in Vang Vieng, with WIFI in the rooms as well.
As for the security, we have a security guard all night and he checks around the property.

We hope to welcoming you back in Vang Vieng at Inthira of course !

Thongsay,
General Manager
Inthira Vang Vieng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

What a great little hotel. The staff are so helpful & friendly. The rooms are small but comfortable. The bathrooms could with a bit of maintenance, though. The included ala carte breakfasts are great. The hotel is close to everything in town & staff will assist you onward travel within Laos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back as they are quieter & more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Inthira Vang Vieng, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Steve,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Inthira Vang Vieng. We are glad you had a positive experience and that our breakfast was to your taste!

I wish you safe journey.

Thongsay,
General Manager
Inthira Vang Vieng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inthira Vang Vieng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inthira Vang Vieng

Address: Ban Sawang, Vang Vieng 2145532, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inthira Vang Vieng 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel has the most contemporary and stylish bar in Vang Vieng, which plays great music and serves original cocktails and refreshments. At Inthira Vang Vieng, we pride ourselves on Cleanliness and Service. We welcome you to come and experience what we have to offer. There are 3 types of Rooms at Inthira, all with the luxuries of Cable Television, Private Bathroom, Hot Water and Air conditioning. Each room comes with a complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Inthira Vang Vieng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inthira Vang Vieng Hotel Vang Vieng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inthira Vang Vieng, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.