We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room, dirty linen, stinky bathroom” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Riverview Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Riverview Guesthouse to your Saves list
Mountain Riverview Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 mins walk north of town near the river, Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 84 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dirty room, dirty linen, stinky bathroom”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I use trip advisor a lot and for the most part usually find what I expect after reading the reviews. This was so off the mark I thought I must be in the wrong place. No way this is a new place. We could not sleep in the bed rather we had large enough clean towels and sarongs with us to put on top of the bed and we slept fully clothed. Dirty, smelly and linen has obviously not been changed. Floor mats were filthy, the window so filthy it was difficult to see out, the screen was coated with dirt and bugs. We were on a quick 1 night stop over and we're so happy to get out of that room in the morning. We had pre booked and paid through Agoda, do not do that either price is 50 percent higher.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
16
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you are looking for a place that is away from the noise and craziness, yet want a place that's convenient, this is the perfect place. The guesthouse looks new and is located on the outskirts of the "town". However, the "centre" where all the pubs and restaurants are located is just about 5 minutes away.

We had a room on the second floor facing the river and the cliffs. Great view. Room was pretty basic. Only thing was that the door to the balcony doesn't lock very well. The Internet isn't very reliable, but there are many Internet cafes around. Staff aren't exactly the friendliest.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay. We really liked the location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The hotel is ideally located about 5-10 minutes walk from the main strip but still next door to shops, restaurants and other guest houses. Shared a twin room with a friend; very good size and large bathroom too. The decor was dated, not that that bothered us at all. Only negative was that when we stopped the fan the room smelled like it had been smoked in for a number of years. However, had we not stopped the fan we never would have known this. Could only get wifi in the hotel's reception but there were two computers available for guests' use. A little more expensive than the majority of hotels near by but for £10 a night for a twin it's certainly good value for money. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We have stayed at the Mountain River View Guest House in Vang Vieng for 6 weeks in both 2010 and 2011. The rooms have stunning views of the mountains, the river and charming rural scenery. They are clean with en-suite shower room, aircon, fan, TV, giant beds and good linen. The staff are very helpful and trustworthy and will book buses etc. This guest house is positioned at the quieter end of town and it seems to be popular with both young and not-so-young tourists/travellers. It is within walking distance of everything that happens in town. You can find places in VV at a third of the price and also at 5 times the price. For us, Mountain River View is the best value for money in town.

Room Tip: Room 301 has the most stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My friends and I arrived in Vang Vieng looking for a cheap but clean guesthouse. After looking at some rooms at the same price point (~30,000 kip per person, $3.70), we came to the Mountain Riverview Guesthouse. The guesthouse is brand new, 3 stories, with great views (depending on the room you get). The rooms are super clean, there are two computers in the lobby that are free to use, and a large lobby area with wooden seating for socializing. The location is amongst the rest of the guesthouses and close to restaurants and bars. Definitely a great value, especially if you are splitting a room with friends. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The views from the rooms facing the river are quite nice indeed and the short walk into town is also very pleasant. I was there on Christmas Eve, though when the bar next door set up an extraordinary example of thumping audio equipment. No matter -- it's all over by 11pm. Overall, a funky little place with very comfortable beds, WiFi, and an at-home feel. Prices are average for Vang Vieng - my interior room with a fan was $10.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

See subj. There were no rooms with mountains view available, therefore we spent here one night on ground floor and moved to Domon Guesthouse into room with mountain view.
We arrived at 4 am from Luang Prabang by buss (several hours late from expecting arival time). guy on reception showed us two rooms on ground floor, both wih stifling smell... We took the room with less disturbing smell.
Rock climbing was main goal of our visit and preferences for acomodation in Vang Vieng were:
- under 15$
- with balcony and nice view
- close to city center

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Riverview Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Riverview Guesthouse

Address: 5 mins walk north of town near the river, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Riverview Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Riverview Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Riverview Guesthouse Hotel Vang Vieng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Riverview Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.