We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kangaroo Sunset Bar

Kangaroo Sunset Bar
Corner of Blue Lagoon Turn Off | Corner of Blue Lagoon Turn Off, Past the Hospital, Vang Vieng 35467, Laos
+856 20 98 995 154
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 53 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Australian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best night ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent my birthday here while on tour, and I do not think I have ever had that much fun before. The staff were excellent, and happy to help out in anyway possbile, and the food was glorious, a welcome break from the massive amounts of asain food that I had consumed. This place is party central.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best bar in town !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

i've been there for one night , but still stuck in my mind! Good vibe , great music , Friendly staff , and very cheap beer lao in happy hour. i'll be back really soon ! Miss this town already

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thung Song, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great place to meet people and drink your night away! Free t shirts if you get a cocktail! Awesome vibe!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trang,Thailand
1 review
“Delicious and fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Delicious food and friendly service.
Local food here is very delicious.
With good service, the atmosphere very well.
Night all customers who use the service is friendly. It makes the atmosphere more fun.
Here is one place where I go every day to do in Vang Vieng.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Came for a week.. Stayed for 3.. Friends for life...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was supposed to come to VV for only a week... We stumbled aross Kangaroo as we were getting out of the rain... We we greeted by the biggest smile in all of Laos.. He welcomed us out of the rain and didn't try to pressure us to eat or drink thier... Then offered of free pool while we waited for the rain to stop.. The generosity was amazing... We were actually looking for a place to eat so we ate their anyways. The food was amazing.. Especially the Laap chicken... The Lao people are amazingly friendly and this family set the precedent... Over the next three weeks I ate or had a few drinks their every day/night.. I got to know the entire staff very well.. If you visit VV, please at least stop there to meet them. You will not be disapointed...When I left the entire kangaroo family hugged me goodbye.. I made memories and friends that will last a lifetime..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangaroo Sunset Bar also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Kangaroo Sunset Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kangaroo Sunset Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.