We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest place we stayed for our entire trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand View Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand View Guest House to your Saves list
Grand View Guest House
Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 82 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nicest place we stayed for our entire trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Paid 60,000 kip for a double room with TV, air con, fridge, full wall windows, balcony, hot shower, and a very high standard of cleanliness and facilities.
We didn't experience any of the unpleasantness we are reading about on these other reviews. Honestly, it was the nicest hotel room we found in our 3 month trip around Asia, and for a ridiculously reasonable price. Our room was not a river-facing room (and thus was cheaper), but we could still see the river from the balcony (which was a ver decent size).

Room Tip: Non-river view rooms still have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

the place itself is ok, but we got ripped off by the owner. The overstayed by 15 minutes and we got charged one full extra might for that! Don't support this business.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed here for about a week on the recommendation of a friend and were not disappointed. We paid about £12 for a room overlooking the river and mountains which was clean, comfortable and came with air con. The room is a little noisy but every guest house in this area (e.g. close to the island with all of the bars on) will be just as loud and to be honest, if you want a quiet night's sleep, Vang Vieng isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Stayed here with on a trip with my girlfriend. Rooms fine for price, never had ruder service in my life. I dont expect silver service from flashpacker joints, but these guys took the cake for me. I could go on, but we saw 2 places right near here for the same price that were much more polite.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
1,353 helpful votes 1,353 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

A previous review stated that at $10 USD this place was expensive, i suppose he has a point if he lived in rural India, however at $10 USD its dirt cheap. Keep in mind if you pay ten bucks & expect 4 star quality then ur probably stingy, its a travelers hotel, meaning anything extra besides hot water & fan is a bonus. The Grand View Guest House certainly delivers with stunning views of karst rock formations & mountains facing the setting sun towards the west. The location is certainly unbelievable.

The main drawback is the party-scene music from across the river at night but we didn’t find this to be problematic since we usually passed out drunk ourselves as soon as we hit the sheets from exhaustion &/or partying. Being grubby, our uneaten food attracted ants since we were in the middle of rural Laos.

The hotel is pretty much centrally located & within walking distance to basically everything worth seeing in town. Its also handy that it marks the end of the tubing route from up river. We had no booking & just walked up & asked to see some rooms. No Wi-Fi but there are cyber cafes within 50 metres. No breakfast either but there are 3 cafes next door with river views.

Our tiled floor room cost us a meagre 80,000 LAK or $10 USD or 70,000 for an uninspiring street view. Aircon was an extra 40,000 ($5 USD) but our fan did the job & we were more interested in saving the $5 bucks anyways. We got 20 mins of hot water out of the tank. Towels, toilet paper & soap included. No power shortages. 51 cm TV with cable. Our top floor room had a balcony overlooking the river & out into the mountains.

We had no problems with the manager who sold bus tickets, tube rides & offers colourful advice on anything Vang Vieng. We hired a 125cc scooter from him for 40,000 LAK ($5 USD) for the whole day & were able to go for a long ride thru to the mountain roads to Kasi. Vang Vieng is a small backpacker town, it has no franchises, malls or big-business companies, the general rule applies that if you are respectful you will have no problems, if you go about making demands you may end up very frustrated.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

My friends and I just got back from Vang Vieng last week and we had a blast. So much so that we extended another night stay here instead of going back to the capital city. We were a party of 4 and we took two rooms (one on the 4th floor facing the river and one was the cabin rooms facing the river). The weather was lovely and cold so air con was not required. I do admit that the room is very noisy from the music from Bucket Bar and the other bars across the river but it was ok for us because we were partying every night. On the nights we were not partying, we are too exhausted from our tubing and kayaking and we just past out in bed and weren't bothered by the noise. Bathroom was dimly lit and shower tends to go off in mid shower. But it comes back so I am not complaining. The balcony provides a beautiful view of the mountains in the distance. The couple who ran the place was friendly to us so I have no idea why everyone else are complaining.

Overall, I like my stay there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed there for 4 days. The room next to us came back from tubing and found out that a little money was missing. than we checked and found out that some of the money we put in the safe keeping of the guesthouse was missing. we found out that they steal small amounts of money from the safe keeping and from the rooms- sometimes the amount is so small that most of the people don't even notice. when we went to the management they were very rude and accused us that we are lyres.

DONT GO THERE!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Guest House

Address: Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Grand View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Guest House Hotel Vang Vieng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.