We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, lovely location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel to your Saves list
Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Vansana Vang Vieng District | Ban sysavang, Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, lovely location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

This hotel is in a wonderful location overlooking the river.The room we had was agood size, with a balcony, fan, air con, minibar (very reasonably priced), a kettle,etc, but only green tea, and hairdrier. There was also a safe box. The beds were a little hard for our taste, the room could have been cleaner, but wasn't awful as some reviews describe.
The bathroom was large, with a walk in shower.
T.V.reception was aweful, but wifi worked well, as did the computers in the "Business Centre"
We couldn't leave a window open as the fly screens didn't fit well and there were lots of Mossies around.
Breakfast was good, fruit, eggs, omlettes, ham, lovely warm bread, and a selection of Lao food.
The set evening meal was also good, drinks were reasonably priced, but there was no wine.
All in all, by Lao standards (outside Vientiane) this is a good place to stay, although some of our party were disturbed by late night revellers.
The pool area and terrace were lovely, great place for an evening drink.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
8
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Its a pity this place lets itself down by being dirty and unkept. Its location and view over the river is great but everything else is poorly maintained and shoddy. One of the reception staff must be a very unhappy man - if he smiled or helped you in anyway, it would have been a miracle. Breakfast wasn't up to much, in fact it was possibly the worst we had in 7 weeks of travelling. Give this one a miss!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

This could be a terrific hotel, but it is being sadly neglected by whoever is managing it. It has a great location and view, pool and balcony, but it is disappointing that it is not being cleaned and maintained.

We booked late and could only get a “suite” room (large room with a dirty vinyl couch) for $60 US. The room was not well cleaned when we arrived and was never cleaned while we were there (not even the garbage emptied one day). The floor tiles need a good scrub. There were filthy carpets on both sides of our bed that were stained and gross. The bath mat in the bathroom was badly stained and not changed during our stay. The view of the river and mountains through the large balcony windows would be improved if the windows were actually cleaned. Even the dials for the AC were dirty and worrisome to touch. The walls were dirty with dead bugs, somebody else’s hair had been left behind, and the whole place just felt DIRTY.

The bed is the least comfortable bed I had experienced in two months of traveling in SE Asia. The mattress is thin, hard, and worn out. The pillow was so hard that I woke each morning with a headache and sore neck. The quilt is not wide enough to cover the mattress, let alone the two people on it. The white bedspread is far beyond its days of being white. The safety deposit box in the room is screwed into the shelf in such a way that a thief with a wrench could remove it in less than five minutes. The audio on the TV is so bad (fuzzy) that it was hard to understand it. The video on the HBO channel is so poor that it is hard to see it.

The breakfast buffet is pretty dismal (except for the view). Two types of fresh fruit are offered. Orange crystals for a fruit drink. Baguettes are cut into pieces, warmed, and then left out to dry. It seems only the crispy ends are in the basket (not sure what happens to the centre pieces). There is a pot of soup for Asian diets and a container of hard fried eggs, orange-colored crepes, and ham slices for western choice. We asked one morning for freshly scrambled eggs and were served them. The next morning they must have put chili sauce of something in them as they came out orange, smelly, and inedible.

The front desk lady, Ping Pong, speaks excellent English and is very helpful and polite. The young men at the front desk (or should I say at the TV) don’t seem to want to be bothered to work and are hard to tear away from their TV viewing. The hotel charges 3.5% for paying with a credit card (more than most hotels we’ve stayed at).

On the plus side: The shower is good and doesn’t leak. There is hot water for a very quick shower. The sink has hot water (rare in Laos). The windows have screens so you can sleep with fresh air (until 6 AM when outside noises start). There is good WIFI available in the room.

In summary, I would NOT recommend this hotel until it gets new beds and a thorough cleaning.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Nice place, great location, nice pool. Room was very dirty. Rug hadn't been vacumed in a long time, bedspreads dirty, walls dirty, toilet seat uncleaned. That said, beautiful view. Other hotels down the road seemed cleaner and better value (we paid 400,000 kip walking off the road). Breakfast included but not very good.

Would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Vansana and loved it. The staff seemed a little serious but were very efficient and helpful when we needed anything. The view over the river is absolutely stunning and made this one of the best hotels on our month long trip. The pool was also very much appreciated after walking around all day in the sun.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and really love it. Nice view and nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

I was at Vang Vieng on an overnight stay on the way to Plain Of Jars. Though that it is the best around judging from the reviews and its the priciest accomadation in this area. But it turned out to be overrated and overpriced. The location is excellence , in the center of town and by the revierside with most of the rooms overlooking the Nam song river and the beautiful landscape of limestome hills. Our double room with balcony that offered partial view of the river. The room is quite big with some rather tired looking wooden furnitures and the bed is not comfortable. The staffs are not as friendly as others throughout my one week journey in Laos. Breaksfast is a let down with some fried eggs, sausages and hams , and its not hotly cooked. The positive point of this hotel is its very central ,the only hotel with a swimming pool, by the riverside and you can enjoy your breakfast with the beautiful scenery of Nam Song river with the beautiful limestone hills as background.
There are a few alternatives along the river such as the newly builded wooden chalets just next to this hotel.
The beautiful landscape around this small city will make you forget about the others negative elements.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel

Address: Vansana Vang Vieng District | Ban sysavang, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vansana Vangvieng Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.