We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay longer next time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel
Vansana Vang Vieng District | Ban sysavang, Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Vang Vieng
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Would stay longer next time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed two nights at Vansana and found it comfortable with an amazing view. On arrival, we were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. The staff were very friendly and helpful during our entire stay. We had the executive suite which was very spacious. There was plenty of drinking water supplied and a small fridge with a mini bar. Heaps of cupboards and extra blankets and pillows.
The bed had a very thin mattress and seemed very hard, so we expected it to be uncomfortable. But we slept really well. The air cond was very efficient and TV had a few channels to view. Bathroom was a good size with large shower and thick towels. Great hot water and pressure. Maybe could have done with a more thorough scrub, but clean enough.
We had breakfast there one morning and it was OK. However, we ate elsewhere on the second day as there wasn’t much for vegetarians who also don’t eat eggs (i.e. me).
The location was very quiet and a minute walk to the more lively area of town. But that view from the balcony is un-beatable! It was so nice to watch the sun go down, and just river life each day. Only flaw was the balcony’s canopy was missing so there was no shade or shelter when it rained. Other rooms had them so I think ours had fallen off or something...
We wished we stayed longer in Vang Vieng and would definitely stay at Vansana again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
7
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

I had a room with a small balcony overlooking the mountains, which made up for any problems. The room was fine - clean, comfortable, decent TV and good wifi - but the bathroom was ordinary (water was hot but came from a crappy wall-mounted heater).

The pool was good, breakfast was mediocre (I didn't try any other meals - note that Vang Vieng generally is an island of awful food in the culinary delight that is the rest of Laos). I had a car so the parking lot was welcome. Staff were pretty indifferent.

This can be a pleasant place to escape the rowdiness of the backpacker places but you won't escape it completely - one morning I got stuck in the middle of a confrontation between two middle-aged English meatheads and a shirtless Norwegian guy that they'd apparently beaten up the night before.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed two times in the Vansana. Great staff, very helpfull with everything. The views from the balcony on the river are super. Breakfast is good and the bar in the hotel serves good cold beers for a very reasonable price. Rooms are ok, quiet and comfortable.
We paid 50 US$ for room incl breakfast which is good value for money. The swimming pool is the best in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

I stayed there one night last month. It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed.
I know that in Vang Vieng options are limited and it's probably one of the best hotel in town, but the management should do an effort to improve the service and the general maintenance.
Room : very dirty, bed uncomfortable, lamp shades broken, shower curtain mouldy, airconditioning very noisy (after the room next door decided to turn on the AC I could not sleep anymore). Only one positive point : internet was OK.
Breakfast: few choices, bad quality.
Service: staff was polite but it seems that not trained properly. Front desk staff was sitting on a sofa warching TV when we arrived. When I called him because I could not open my safetybox at 21.00 he said that I should wait until 07.00am since the person in charge had gone home already.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

This is a fantastic place for relax. The river side room overlooking the Nam Song River and across from the stunning karst landscape. Clean room and airy. Breakfast was popular

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed in the Vansana Hotel with our three daughters for two nights. We had tiny balconies with a nice view over the river. There is a small but clean pool and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was pretty bad, with a very limited selection of food put out early in the morning over warmers. Staff was friendly enough but not very knowledgable. We tried to book some activities through the hotel, but they were unable to tell us the prices or even the departure times of the day trips we were interested in. Overall, not very impressive and a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I try not to too critical of the Vansana, as it is probably one of the better places to stay in a town with few decent lodgings. It has a good location, and good views, but the hotel itself is poorly run - a little bit of effort and staff training would really help. Rooms are NOTHING like the internet makes them look (they must have one refurbished room that they took pictures of because we looked at several and they were all the same). We had supposedly a deluxe room - the view was good, but that's the end of the positives. Bed was rock-hard, and no matter how hard we (and the hotel maintenance) tried, we could never get more than 90 seconds of hot water (at least when you knew, you just took a very quick shower0. Never could get the wifi to work, despite several visits to front desk (typical comment "it works here"). No amenities (coffee pot, hair dryer) in room, and breakfast was average (and thats being generous). I think if we ever went to Vang Vieng again (very unlikely) I would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel

Address: Vansana Vang Vieng District | Ban sysavang, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vansana Vangvieng Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.