We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Frikadellen

Cafe Frikadellen
One Mutuba Gardens, Masaka, Uganda
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Masaka
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: OK, One of my friends there just e-mailed the street address... "One Mutuba Gardens." This will serve to update my earlier submissions regarding Cafe Frikadellen in Masaka, Uganda. Thanks!
Kalomo, Zambia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Alright, I admit that I might be biased here as I have not had proper Danish food for 10 months whilst I had also just spent three days at Bwindi Backpackers which does not exactly get five stars for cooking.

That said Cafe Frikadellen serves really great food as my mother or grandmother would cook it. I only had one meal in Masaka as it was just a stopover but I am really happy that another restaurant was closed so that I went here. And that without knowing that it was predominantly Danish food.

I had the special Danish burger and fries. It was spot on. I also ordered cold potato salad with frikadeller which was as good whilst I topped it all of with two lovely cinnamom rolls. Yes, it was far too much but it was so good that I kept on ordering more even though I was full.

I higly recommend this place and I hope to be back soon.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“An average danish - ugandan mix”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Great menu and nice place. Too bad half of the food wasn't there and price quantity waren't balanced out between different dishes. Friendly staff and good service. Will probably give it another chance.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great coffee, great guacamole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Really nice, flavourful coffee, delicious guacamole and fried chapatti chips. The garden is a lovely place to sit and rest or work in peace.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, if slow, staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice place with friendly staff but the menu and decor are all a bit dated. Food is good, but not as fresh as you'd like. Pretty nice coffee, but due to its popularity with 'mzungus the internet is pretty slow(and so is the service most days). Nice place to go on a Friday night to eat lots of BBQ food and chat with travellers!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thank Goodness for Cafe Fikadellen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This cafe was a godsend after we discovered Ten Tables had shut. You can relay on good safe food here. After eating here we booked for the rest of our stay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Frikadellen also viewed

Been to Cafe Frikadellen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Frikadellen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.