We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine de Bel Ombre, Bel Ombre, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Over priced restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We ate at the CLUB restaurant serving the Valriche Villa residents. The service was pathetic on New Years Eve and the bar scene was a mass brawl with no waiters, stand in the queue and masses of thirsty drinkers.The firework display was very weak and the highlight of the evening we had to tell ourselves it was mid night and New Year because the DJ completely forgot the countdown.The charges for entry at 11.30pm were outrageous.
Had lunch there 3 days later and there are not enough staff, took three attempts to pay the bill.
Food was quite good for lunches but never full to capacity probably because it is over priced.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stephan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We wish to thank you for sharing your valuable comments with us. We are very sorry for the regrettable experience you had on New Year's eve at our C-Beach Club.

New Year's eve at the C - Beach was a fantastic evening where our two DJ's, Damien Peponet from France and Nastia from Russia and our 3 Fireworks displays - one at the Chateau and one in front of each resort made the evening very special.

Lunch at C-Beach is well priced for our Hotel resident guests but also for locals wishing to spend time at the Beach in a unique way, it is so popular that both restaurants were full both for lunch and diner over the festive season.

I would like to thank you again for your comments and hope that we will have the chance to win your trust back.

Best wishes,

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    129
    44
    19
    18
See reviews for
238
405
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The 4th day into our Mauritian holiday in Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort. Cyclone alert gives us time to read and write reviews. A lot so far have been true about Le Telfair. Wonderful surroundings, very nice colonial-style architecture, great rooms, ok beach. What all bad reviews complain about though is service. Unfortunately nothing has been done to change this, we see the same. From the moment you walk in, to enjoying a drink by the swimming pool through to being waited on on New Year's Eve dinner. It's just not 5 stars. 3 at best. The endless wait to have someone taking your order is only topped by the time it takes to actually being served. There's an obvious lack of training for the otherwise lovely staff. In a 30-seconds conversation they ask you 3 times for your room number. They bring you the wrong invoice. They forget about your order. They simply don't know how to treat a 5-star guest. Too many mistakes, too much waiting, up to a point when you simply know the upcoming event (be it dinner or a simple drink at the beach bar) just won't be seamless - something is guaranteed to go wrong.
It takes a bit of a snob to let small things like these really ruin a holiday. Mauritius continues to be one of the greatest holiday destinations, it's our third time here and we'll certainly come back. Not in this hotel though. You get the very same service quality for half the price in a 3 or 4 star accommodation somewhere else in Mauritius. This is just a warning for the fellow travelers who will be looking for a 5-star experience and will be ready to pay 5-star prices. Telfair will leave you with a bitter taste and might cast a shadow over your holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stephan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

We wish to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comments with us. We sincerely wish to apologise for the service shortfalls you have experienced during your stay.

The resort takes pride in our genuine and sincere team members and on our ability to ensure that every guest enjoys their holidays. I would have been delighted to personally meet with you at the time, given the chance I am certain that we would have been able to restore your faith in our resort.

Please rest assured that we have noted your comments and they have been shared with the team so that we can continue to improve.

Best regards,
SL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My partner and I, together with our 11 year old daughter, stayed at Le Telfair for two weeks in October 2013. This is the first time I've been moved to write a TripAdvisor review but we absolutely loved this hotel from start to finish and felt that the hotel and its excellent staff deserved our endorsement.

The most special mention must go to our butler, Jennifer, who worked tirelessly throughout the two weeks to make sure our stay was as relaxed as possible. To be honest, we didn’t read the brochure closely enough because it was a total surprise when we arrived to find we had our own butler, but after being looked after by Jennifer, backed up by her colleague Savilen, it’s going to be difficult staying anywhere else in future without having that level of care and attention. For example, Jennifer ensured that there was always a pleasant surprise when we returned to our suite – rose petals laid out precisely on our bed, a warm bubble bath sprinkled with petals – and it was little touches like this which made the holiday feel a very personal and special experience.

We were also really impressed with the resident manager, Stephan, who sought us out at least once every day, checking that everything was to our satisfaction, but without ever being intrusive or over-attentive.

We stayed in one of the hotel’s eight senior suites, with a separate bedroom with four-poster bed and a huge dressing area / bathroom. The lounge was large enough to easily accommodate a full-size single bed for our daughter and we enjoyed a large double balcony with views over the (mainly quiet) family pool, the beach and the sea. TV stations were limited from an English perspective but we rarely switched on the TVs anyway. WiFi in the suite was chargeable and intermittent – we really feel that a luxury hotel should be including high-quality WiFi in the package – but to be fair, there is free WiFi with a good signal in the very impressive Cavendish bar. Daily maid service was excellent.

Le Telfair has a neighbouring hotel which is part of the same chain, the Awali, which we ate at one evening when there was a buffet with traditional Mauritian cuisine. This hotel is very different to Le Telfair, with a much larger percentage of guests from the UK, while Le Telfair guests were mainly from France. The ambience is very different too – Le Telfair has beautiful architecture with a bright and airy colonial feel, while the Awali had an African feel and was much darker, with dark brown and orange colours. If buffet meals are your preference, then the Awali may be for you, but we much preferred the luxury feel of Le Telfair.

Jennifer had already arranged for us to eat at a different restaurant each night, including the Mauritian buffet at the Awali hotel. The food was excellent in each restaurant but our favourite was probably the Cyan restaurant. The only criticism we have is that on two occasions, our dinner reservation was not communicated to the restaurants; fortunately they were able to accommodate us but we heard the same complaints from other guests. The hotel really needs a computerised reservation system to eliminate these problems as they can easily spoil the luxury experience. We went for an all-inclusive package which is known locally as ‘gourmet bliss’ and we found the menus to be excellent on the whole, although some extras, such as ribs, were very expensive. The mainly South African wine was of a decent quality too.

The most impressive piece of architecture is the Cavendish bar, with its open sides and high decorated ceilings making it light and airy. Bar prices seemed reasonable, even if you stray from the all-inclusive, which we didn’t feel the need to do too often, as the ‘inclusive’ brands were fine. We enjoyed some very good musical entertainment in the evenings too.

The hotel has a shared watersports centre on the beach which offers free windsurfing, pedaloes, and kayaking. We recommend the free glass-bottom boat tours which tour the shallow lagoon, giving you a great view of the coral and tropical fish. There is a constant but not unpleasant breeze which makes it an ideal location for any type of sailing but kite surfing in particular is very popular here. The watersports centre offers (chargeable) water skiing lessons but we found better value on the beach itself between the two hotels where banana boat and inflatable sofa rides could be had, as well as private water skiing lessons – ask for Damien and Pascal. Back at the hotel, there are three pools, of which only the family pool is heated.

Overall the beach is beautiful with plenty of loungers and no evidence of lounger hijacking. We loved just watching and listening to the waves breaking on the coral reef which makes the lagoon relatively shallow and safe, although do watch out for the strong cross current. There are also sharp coral fragments so do wear beach shoes.

We had also planned to get married while out in Mauritius and both our travel company, Sovereign, and the hotel were very efficient, ensuring that everything went to plan. We were looking for a venue where we could have a simple and private ceremony. Everything was arranged for us by our wedding coordinator, Amar, who guided us through all the options, making it the stress-free experience we were looking for. We looked at potential venues in the hotel gardens and on the beach, in front of the Gin’Ja restaurant, but we decided on the grounds of Le Chateau which houses one of the hotel’s restaurants but which is closed during the day, making it the ideal location for a private ceremony. Le Chateau lies about a mile from the main resort so it was a pleasant surprise to be offered the hotel’s Range Rover as a wedding car. In the evening, we enjoyed a private BBQ on the beach, just in front of our suite, with excellent and plentiful food prepared by the hotel’s sous-chef.

All in all, a fantastic holiday with the wedding we wanted. We recommend Mauritius and in particular Le Telfair without hesitation. We hope to be back there in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Junior suites and senior suites are ideal for sharing with kids where you want the privacy of a sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stephan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear valued Guest,
We were honored that you chose Mauritius and Heritage Le Telfair Golf and Spa Resort as your wedding destination.

We sincerely wish to thank you for having taken the time to write and share on this forum such a fantastic review of our Resort and of our Artists!

We were delighted to have met you and very happy that both Jennifer and Savilen made a great impression during your stay and have managed to make it special.

Together with all our Artists we would like to wish you all the very best and sincerely wish to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel with my husband and 2 young children. I can honestly say it was a wonderful holiday in a wonderful place.

To start with the hotel is beautiful , so much so that it is quite hard to take it all in. It is set right on the beach and every corner you turn on the resort has a different swimming pool which was great for us as it gave some variety and stopped the kids getting bored. The awali and villas are next door and you can easily wander through to those resorts and make use of their pools and restaurants, so we never got that 'stuck on our resort' feeling.

The food in the restaurants was excellent, especially In gin'ja ( sushi to die for) and the waiting staff were very accommodating and really sweet with the kids. We went half board, so we were anticipating a steep 'extras' bill for lunch etc but actually it was very fairly priced.

The rooms were spacious and cleaned twice a day and were really nicely appointed; comfortable beds, good showers etc We were also there when the water crisis occurred it didn't affect our stay at all.

The kids club has a full itinerary and the glass bottom boat was great and all included.

In summary, a really fabulous hotel, great beach, you can't go wrong.




  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stephan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

First of all, we wish to thank you for choosing Heritage Le Telfair Golf and Spa Resort for your recent stay and thank you for sharing your experience with other members of this forum.

We are delighted to read that you have had a memorable experience at our resort and we would be delighted to welcome you back for another memorable holiday

Best regards


Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel, the staff, the atmosphere and accommodation are all as charming as the Island of Mauritius itself, which we have visited and enjoyed before. The grounds are superb, full of natural Beauty, epitomised by the koi carp around the fountain, and the many coconut palms. The junior suites giving out on to a private patio, then onto the coral sand beach - were endowed with spacious and beautiful bathrooms. The hotel was a manageable size, and everywhere was easy to walk to - including the extensive water sports facilities. The delights of the hotel seemed to unfold as the week went along ...my granddaughter adored the tea on the lawn ( crepes filled with Nutella for her... ) staff were both very tolerant and very accommodating of our kids .! We had a wonderful week and will be back to be looked after spoiled in this wonderful, very relaxed and unpretentious atmosphere . Oh yes - spa was great , and unusually the hairdresser did a great job. !!

Room Tip: We had a lovely room by the beach I noticed another area with rooms on the beach which actually su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Stefan-Lagesse, Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Valued guests,

We are truly grateful for your positive review on your recent stay at Heritage Le Telfair Golf and Spa Resort.

All the artists join me in thanking you for having taken the time to share it with other travelers and we will not miss the opportunity in passing-on your thanks to the entire team.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon for another wonderful experience.

Best regards

Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coombe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We do not normally review our holidays on Tripadvisor but felt that on this occasion we should do, having read a couple of negative reviews.
This was our second visit this year to Le Telfair. We have also stayed seven times at the Awali, the hotel next door, owned by the same group. Our second experience was even better than the first, despite the fact that we stayed at the time of the water problem. From our perspective the problem was handled very well and we did not really feel that it interfered with our holiday. We were offered the use of facilities at the sister hotel and the golf club and, with a little bit of forethought, this worked very well for us.
Our experience of room cleanliness has always been excellent. We were asked on many occasions whether we were happy with the room facilities, linens and cleanliness and we always were.
Whilst clearly it is not ideal to only have intermittent water for three days we have to accept that it was an unprecedented situation and we felt that the managers did everything possible to minimise inconvenience to guests.
We have looked hard to find a hotel that offers everything we need from a holiday - great golf course, beautiful spa, very friendly staff, good food and lovely rooms - and Le Telfair does just that. We will definitely be returning to Le Telfair in 2014.

Jonquil and Chris Boyes

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_LindleyThomen, General Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Boyes,

Allow me to thank you for having chosen The Heritage Le Telfair once more for your recent holidays, thank you also for your trust in my product. I wish to thank you for your support during the hard times when we had the water issue.

The whole team joins me in wishing you a Happy New Year 2014 and we are all looking forward to welcome you back here again.

My best personal regards to you both.

Lindley Thomen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Played golf with trollies 7 times out of 14 days. (Buggies £40) v good course with great greens. Food v good. Enjoyed le chateaux twice. Had problems with very intermittent water supply for 4 days. Had to shower in next door hotel shower block. Got very frustrated. No compensation or room upgrade offered. Power supply intermittent . I would suggest sea or pool view if possible.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_LindleyThomen, General Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for having chosen The Heritage Le Telfair for your recent stay. I am glad to know that you've enjoyed your stay with us and would like to apologise for the water issue we encountered when you were in the Resort, thank you for your comprehension of such situation as it was a really difficult one.

I do hope to get the chance to welcome you back here again to be able to make you experience the real feel of Le Telfair.

My best personal regards to you.

Lindley Thomen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Domaine de Bel Ombre, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort offers a variety of luxury accommodation in a discrete village design with 20 different villas of 6 or 8 rooms. 158 rooms and suites have beautiful sea views or river views with floor to ceiling French windows, private balconies or verandas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Le Telfair Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Le Telfair Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Le Telfair Hotel
Hotel Le Telfair
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.