We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star? Are you sure?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine de Bel Ombre, Bel Ombre, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“5-Star? Are you sure?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Returned home yesterday from a six day stay at Le Telfair. My wife and I agree that we'd go back to Mauritius in a heatbeat, but probably not to Le Telfair.

First, the postives:
1. Our room was lovely. We had a great view, the place was spacious and luxurious and we could not complain about any aspect of our stay there.
2. The situation is idyllic. The south of the island is less developed and therefore less spoiled. The beach is great and so is the golf course. It really felt like paradise.

Second, the negatives:
1. The service is awful. Service at meals was desperately slow and you often had to ask for things more than once. There was at least a 15 minute wait to receive a drink ordered, or proper cutlery, or whatever. It seemed like the staff were overwhelmed even when te restaurant was almost empty. Not one of the service staff anywhere in the hotel seemed particularly enthusiastic. It is surprising how this can dent your enjoyment of your stay.
2. The food wasn't terrible ALL the time, but wasn't good enough either. Some meals were quite nice but on the whole the food was too complicated, not very well prepared, often cold, mostly tastless and not especially enjoyable. After the first few days we started eating more bread rolls and less of what was served on the plate. One meal was grilled Marlin and this could be the worst fish dish I have ever eaten - it was cold, chewy and dry and tasted of nothing at all. We were on an all-inclusive package but felt disappointed and actually second-rate when we were seated seperately from other guests and given a limited menu to select from.

It was such a pity that their potential 5-star facility is wasted on experiences that are more akin to a 3-star establishment. It all left us feeling a bit cheated. Come on, Le Telfair, take actual responsibility for guest experiences instead of the excuses in your comments on other reviews. Until you do, I assure you we won't be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    129
    44
    19
    18
See reviews for
235
404
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

WOW now this was a vacation (even though it took me two days to get there!) Visited friends that have a Villa at the Heritage, between Christmas and New Years. 11 Restaurants to choose from, without leaving the resort, and all of them under the strict eye of Enrico, who insures that every meal is 5 stars! And the only way around is in a golf cart, so beware of the 12 year old's driving. It is a Island mentality, so one sure way of getting a servers attention, was to pick up the water bottle on the table. From Golf, Yoga, Spa treatments to the immaculate ocean and the C Beach Club everyday was filled with RELAXATION. Even a cat 3 cyclone passing by did not get in our way!

Room Tip: Ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Susan G,

First of all thank you for taking time to share a review about your stay at our resort.
We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your vacations at Heritage Le Telfair.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at the Domaine de Bel ombre.

Yours Truly
Stephan Lagesse
Resident Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is our third trip to Mauritius and our fiirst impression of this hotel was not good, although the welcome was warm enough, having arrived at 10.30a.m and being told the room would not be ready until 2pm after an eleven hour flight was not what we expect from a '5*' hotel.After reading many reviews before booking it was the general opinion that all inclusive was the best bet. Although ALL the drinks were included, what was not made clear was that there was a restricted menu, having said that the food we did have was excellent .The room was spacious and clean and all the staff we came into contact with both in the hotel and at the golf course were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a secend floor room for that extra feeling of security
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went to the Telfair on our honeymoon. First let me say that that this hotel is good, the location is beautiful and everywhere is clean and well looked after, there were however some minor things that made this not as good as the first part of our honeymoon, safari in the sabi sands.
We had a beachfront suite and the room was large and looked excellent and bathroom was great. Our bed though was actually two single beds pushed together, two beds, two mattresses - this made the bed look massive but obviously isn't the same as actually getting a giant super-king size bed!
The food was good, but we had just been at a safari lodge in the sabi sands where the food was another level. One point to note is that we were all inclusive so didn't have to pay for our meals, if we had then the holiday cost could soon have got out of hand. To actually buy dinner at the hotel would cost a lot, even with the residents discount. For example; the main restaurant did a ribs night - as an all-inclusive guest there was an option to substitute your (already paid for and perfectly good) main course choice for ribs. You pick starter and dessert from the menu as before. To take advantage of this would cost £40 each if you were all inclusive, yes that's £40 to swap a main course for ribs!!! I'd expect an entire pig for £40, and remember this is an additional cost for all inclusive guest, not the cost to partake if you weren't all inclusive. I can't remember how much it was if you weren't all inclusive but I'm pretty sure it was quite a bit more. Needless to say we rarely strayed from the included options.
We mainly ate at Gin-Ja, the thai inlfuenced seafood restaurant and loved it, we did the lobster tasting menu one night (£90 each supplement) and while it was excellent in the end the 5 courses of lobster did turn out to be just a little too much of a good thing, I could barely eat my main when it arrived, i was so full and all lobstered-out. we managed dessert though, which was great.
Our favourite hang out during the day was the beach club, really attentive service from the bar/waiting staff and a good all round relaxed atmosphere, the service from the main bar/pool area wasn't quite as good but can't be complained about, by not as good I merely mean I had get someones attention if I wanted something, this just never happened at the beach club - the waiting staff came and made suggestions to me before I even knew I wanted something and the cocktails were superb!
All in all the place is good, but it just lacked that special something for me to say it was excellent.
The surrounding area has only other hotels, there are no restaurant or bars to go out to and (poosibly due to the time of year?) the Telfair felt a little quiet, almost stuffy at times.
We didn't use the golf courseso can't comment on that and were a little too lazy to really take advantage of the numerous watersports on offer, you need to be organised and book your lessons in advance if you want to do somehting new and somehow the beach and a drink or two always seemed to get in the way of our best laid plans.
If you are looking for a once in a lifetime, blow your mind holiday destination for your honeymoon or other special celibration then I'd recommend you consider elswehere, other than that there's nothing wrong with the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamberg, Mooi River
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We've had a lovely 7 days stay at this stylish resort. The rooms are beautiful. The staff are friendly, trying to assist wherever they can.

Breakfast and dinner and Annabella's were lovely. We went for dinner at Balafon at Awali for 2 nights. The food was good, but as someone said "buffet is buffet". If you order drinks, really expensive. We also ordered from room service the night we arrived, and paid converted back to ZAR about R470 for a lovely piece of fillet. Most expensive piece of meat I ever had.

We had our 7-month old baby travelling with us, and they provided a camping cot, bottle sterilizer and baby toiletries. I just had to pick up the phone to call room services, and someone was there to collect the baby bottles to be washed. The only downside, lot of stairs, so you have to carry the pram up and down.

Our teenager son and his friend also travelled with us, and they spent lots of time at the C-beach club.

Overall a really good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I absolutely loved the white colonial style houses, the stylish bar with live jazz music and the romantic river. This is the place where I will have a wedding once.
The rooms are decorated with a great sense for detail. And I really recommend the beach! The reef is very far and the lagoon is deep enough for a good swim.
If you get tired of the colonial style, try the hotel next door - heritage awali. You have acces to all resaturants and the spa there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

First of all allow me to thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel.
We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort , thank you also for your nice comment on our room decoration we really appreciate.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon (maybe for your wedding!!!) at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort.

Yours Sincerely
Stephan Lagesse
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our second year in a row at telfair. Once again a wonderful stay and looking forward to returning. excellent attention to detail and great staff (so many of the same nice people from last year). excellent cuisine including in the restaurant included in the half board rate. they've added a "butler" service. Kunal who met us on arrival was attentitive to detail until the last minute giving us a picnic box to take to the airport for a late night flight

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

The whole team and staff were delighted to welcome you back at the Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort and we are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours Truly
Stephan Lagesse
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Domaine de Bel Ombre, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort offers a variety of luxury accommodation in a discrete village design with 20 different villas of 6 or 8 rooms. 158 rooms and suites have beautiful sea views or river views with floor to ceiling French windows, private balconies or verandas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Le Telfair Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Le Telfair Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Le Telfair Hotel
Hotel Le Telfair
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.