We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing is too much trouble” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“nothing is too much trouble”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

the holiday starts really well with the warm welcome at the hotel and finishes sadly-only because you do not want to leave.we tried all the restaurants, ginja for its good asian food. annabelles was poor with a really small menu and the food was returned for poor quality. the chateau is a good dining venue and occassion. to make even more of it ask for the a la carte menu as we were not offered this, to our disappointment. balafon is good for the variety of its buffet. cyan at c beach we enjoyed very much on both occasions. infinity blue seems to be the popular choice but we were disappointed only in that the lunch menu and dinner menu did not change in the 10 days we were there. trying to order a drink in the lounge bar can at times be hit and miss. the beach is nice but is not the powder white sand version.
there are 3 swimming pools but none for adults only-which would be nice.
our room was very nice and kept spotlessly clean.the towels are old though and need to be changed for new ones.the chairs in balafon also could do with replacing. the seats are badly stained and the seat backs are always covered in the stuff that you don`t want that is left behind by all the birds.we have several stained tops.the staff are a great asset and we were well looked after.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear SeeSee06,

Thank you for sharing a review on our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We would like to express our sincere gratitude for your comments on our hotel and we take good note of your constructive remarks as this helps us in our quest for perfection.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Domaine de Bel Ombre for another great experience

Truthfully,

Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    370
    119
    45
    25
See reviews for
419
1,080
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was really a trip of a lifetime, the hotel, staff, food and drinks, setting and facilities are the best I've ever experienced, withjout doubt. I would strongly recommend that anyone looking to forget Britain in January takes a look and investiagtes the lovely island of Mauritius and this resort inn particular.
12 hours from Heathrow soon passes with meals, drinks and comfort on the 'plane, excellent staff and arrival at a civilised time.
Just be careful of finding out EXACTLY what is included in the holiday package, and don't be afraid to ask.
Infinity Blue is the best area to eat and drink on the resort, superb staff and management.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor opposite the poll and beach, I would stay there again, everytime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear ChrisBrown524,

First of all thank you for taking time to share a review on your experience at our hotel.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday at Heritage Awali and that our standards was up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at our beautiful resort.

Yours Sincerely
Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staff were very attentive and courtious, couldn't do enough for you. Food was great, and lots of it all day, everyday. Spa was excellent. Beach beautiful. All pools are infinity. All inclusive option at resport was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Emma P,

First of all thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel to the travel community.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Heritage awali. We are also very pleased to note that our highly appreciated All Inclusive package has met your expectations as it is the case for mostly all of our guests booking the All Inclusive Package.


The whole team at Heritage Awali looks forward to welcoming you back again soon on the Domaine de Bel Ombre.

Yours Sincerely
Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I got everything what I expected. There are two issues: Wi Fi (a bit slow from time to time) and food (the issue of Mauritius, not specific to this hotel). At the end, I got excellent holiday for the money I paid

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking time to share a review on our hotel.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday at Heritage Awali, we also take due note of your comment regarding the Wi-Fi, kindly accept our sincere apology as we are sensitive to any inconveniences experienced during the course of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon on the Domaine de Bel Ombre

Sincerely,

Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have recently had an all-inclusive holiday at the Heritage Awali Golf and Spa Resort. It was splendid in all respects. The golf course is said to be the best on the island and I can believe that it is ~ beautiful scenery, perfect fairways, billiard table greens, friendly and efficient staff. The hotel itself provided a great range of services and activities, all included in the deal, including sea sports and all food and drinks. I commend it very highly.

Room Tip: I recommend a beach view room ~ it is worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking time to post a review on our hotel and for recommending Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort to the travel community of TripAdvisor.
We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.We are also happy to know that our highly praised All Inclusive package has been up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours Truly
Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We are golfers and have just returned from Mauritius having spent one week at this hotel on an all inclusive basis.
We found it to be fantastic value for money and would recommend to anyone thinking of going to this hotel to definitely do the all inclusive package.
The staff, as you would expect from Mauritius, went out of their way to be helpful and are very eager to please.
The golf, which is included (but not the cart which is 40 euros!!) is played at the heritage course, to which you are transported(about five minutes from the hotel) The shuttle service is free and frequent. The course is fantastic and very well manicured, but is very busy. If you are a two ball you are likely to have to play with another couple who may well not speak English! Although whoever we played with we're very pleasant.
The course is walkable but hard work in the heat!!

The restaurants--- One thing we recommend very strongly is that y should book your evening meals as soon as you arrive, otherwise you will struggle to get anywhere other than the buffet at the Balafon. We strongly recommend Infinity Blue for evening meal and don't miss the opportunity for one meal only at The Chateau de Bel Ombré which is an exquisite dining experience in a magical setting, but our view is that the food was only OK and this was also the view of other people that we spoke to.,but still worth the visit. This is the only restaurant that you have to pay for your own drink.
Ladies, please take your own conditioner as this is not provided, which I found very strange for a hotel of this standard.

We booked an ocean room 4108 which was extra, and to be fair was not worth the extra money.
There was a pool in the foreground and the ocean what you could see of it,was quite a way away.
The rooms we gather are better in blocks 5000 and 6000. We would also comment that we feel the rooms are looking a little bit tired, but they were adequate.

To conclude we felt very satisfied with our experience there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review on our hotel to the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Domaine de Bel Ombre

Truthfully,

Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

we returned on the 20th jan and overall a great hotel,staff very friendly and always smiling the restuarants were not bad but found the c-beach not worth the effort with a very small selection of meals and drinks on the AI package(3 choices of starter and main and very limited choice of drinks)but very nice though i prefered the buffet restaurant as there was a great selection and the food was top quality,the infinity blue was a nice change and the presentation and quality was top notch..the drinks are top brands and champagne also on the AI...the highlight of my stay was the golf it was fantastic,,very well landscaped and very tough and you can loose an awful lot of balls(some players loosing 6-7 a round)its not hard to loose them as the second cut is about 3" but very thick and unless your stood over the ball is difficult to find..i would definately advise taking a buggy because its a long course and was very hot mid day..overall a very nice relaxing holiday with fantastic golf and staff. special mention to Jovin great service and always willing to have a chat and surprise us with various cocktails and spirits(when he wasn,t rushed off his feet)he is a credit to the the hotel...i would reccomend this hotel and would probably return in a few years but the world is a big place and have never visited the same place twice and its another destination to add to the return list...i would class this hotel as a 4* and not 5* as this is all we stay in and have stayed in much better in less luxurious places

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageResorts_Mgmt, Resident Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review on our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We would like to express our sincere gratitude for your comments on our hotel and we take good note of your remarks regarding the food at our C Beach Club.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your vacations at the Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Domaine de Bel Ombre.

Sincerely,

Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 230
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the unspoiled wild south of the island, Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort is the ideal place to experience authentic Mauritius and relax in harmony with nature either for just the two of you, or with the whole family. This luxury hotel combines elegance with the magic of Africa and offers high-end accommodations and an exceptional range of facilities: 18 hole golf course overlooking the ocean, two of the most beautiful well being centres of the Indian Ocean area with the Seven Colours Spa and the Umuzi Fitness Centre, a unique concept in kids' clubs, a fine dining gourmet restaurant as well as another amazing culinary experience in Seven Colours Energy Cuisine and privileged access to a colonial manor house and a nature reserve. A variety of unique delights to leave you with unforgettable holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Awali Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Awali Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Resort Bel Ombre
Heritage Mauritius
Heritage Golf Spa Mauritius
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.