We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in everyway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Bel Ombre
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic in everyway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just had a week at the heritage awali. It was absolutely superb in everyway imaginable. Nothing at all to crib about unless you're that way inclined. Spotless, attentive, relaxing, beautiful courteous Mauritian people. We loved the Infinity Blue both for lunch & dinner. Walking up the beach in the crystal clear water in such a gorgeous climate was so nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,180
    329
    106
    44
    24
See reviews for
367
960
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

No words to describe my birthday gift.
It was the best gift ever. From the moment we arrived we were greeted.
I should say thanks to shimla, the spa manager who took great care of us and arrange everything for us as expected. We were late for our massage still she could arrange for another slot.
She has such professionalism and love for her job.
Overall, all staff of the SPA took great care of us including rajeev and patricia who was the therapeute. They are very friendly and always ready to help. You can never feel bored staying there.
Food was nice overall and infinity blue was the restaurant i much appreciated. Service is fast and dont need to wait for long.
Swimming pool is nice , all of them i should say. Time goes on very quickly there, too much activites that you are never fed up.

One thing i did not appreciate and maybe the most important thing:

Being a Mauritian we were taken as thieves, the security guard found us going to the beach chair through the hotel and when we went for relaxation, after some minutes, he followed and disturbed us by asking whether we were client: He did not even greeted us and say sorry, and he stayed behind our back to see what we were doing. (Spying on us).
I strongly believe that we come to the hotel for relaxation and not for being angry or stress because of this security guard.
when we called him to say why did he have such prejudice about Mauritian and why he was staying behind us , he sai "mo travail sa, mo gagne droit rest kot mo envi" this was awful because we were never question anywhere else. He did not have any manners / good way of speaking to people i will say clearly. Such people can make client go astray and give the hotel a bad reputation

Apart from the worst part of the security guard, this hotel should be visited. Its wonderful.
I really appreciate the seven colours spa.



This was the worst experience we had over there

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thornbury
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just returned from 2 amazing weeks at the Awali. The beach is beautiful and never felt busy whilst the activities on offer kept our 3 active kids (14-11-10) occupied for the duration. All the water activities are great although you need to book for some- glass bottom boat and snorkelling had a waiting list of a few days and get down to the boathouse early each morning if you want to do waterskiing as the slots can get booked up. We travelled on the All Inc package which is fantastic- the food never disappointed and we had our evening meals already booked for us on arrival. If you want to eat a second time at any restaurant you can put your name down on a waiting list but as the hotel was fully booked during our stay we managed to get another excellent night at Infinity Blue but then gave up and enjoyed the extensive buffet instead. The staff were very friendly, attentive and caring and although bar service could at times be relaxed we just went with it and soaked in the atmosphere and amazing citrus/ cinnamon smell that seemed to hang in the air. On holidays we usually like to explore a bit but this was the first place that we've been to where it was so relaxing and there was enough to do on site that we hardly wanted to venture out- our bike trip was great fun and the road west out of the resort is easy and goes along the beach. The Federica 4x4 trip is excellent fun and interesting. We also went to La Vanille Turtle and Crocodile sanctuary- a good morning out for kids but go early before it gets busy. Entry fees seem to be much lower if it's a National Holiday Day. The highlight of our trip was undoubtedly our day with Baboo- his boat is moored up on the beach and you just go and find him or grab him when he comes back in from a trip. We booked soon after we arrived and had a fantastic time- swimming with dolphins in the morning then snorkelling, followed by fresh fish on a beach BBQ with fishing in the afternoon. He is extremely knowledgeable and friendly, fantastic with children (as well as slightly more water shy adults!) and for a reasonable price you will have an unforgettable experience. Everyone who came off his boat seemed to have the biggest smiles- us included. The resort shop is quite small and we ended up getting some souvenir bits at the airport where there are some good craft shops and vanilla products (cheaper than at the hotel). You can change currency at the hotel desk (the rate was better than what we'd got in the UK) and there's even better rates at the bank which is a 10min drive away. Can't wait to go back- thank you to all the staff who made our stay so special.

Room Tip: We were in block 6000 which is right at the edge of the resort- had a lovely beach view and was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here as part of the last week of our Honeymoon. We had booked one of the suits to stay in. On arrival we were told our booking for that night was not on file so we would have to stay in a basic room (right next to the bar) for one night and move into our room tomorrow. The next day we were told the room was still not available due to electrical issues so spent another night in the basic room. On the third day we finally got the correct room which we could not fault it was an excellent room. The food here is really good compared to many all inclusives i have stayed in. We spend one morning in the spa which was very good the service was excellent and great getting a free massage as part of our package. Do the 4by4 ride and you get great views of the area and our guide was excellent.

The thing that lets this place down is service we had lots of problems getting to our room in the first few days which was very annoying and we are still trying to get a refund two weeks later. But the service in the generic restaurants is very slow and you do have to ask to get anything done even coffee at breakfast if you want a refill. When we tried to book trips we were often told incorrect timings or just asked to come back and do it later. even though we were all inclusive you still need to sign for everything which is a pain.

Room Tip: get a sea view and make sure you are away from the main bar if you want some peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a beautiful resort on a lovely beach in a quiet part of the island. We stayed for 2 weeks in a ocean view room. The room was generally well cleaned, although we did have a few problems where beach towels were not replaced and our mini bar was not replenished a couple of times, after a phone call these things were addressed, however we would not have expected to have to sort this out in a 5* hotel. We even had a cockroach in our bed one night.

Most of the staff are very friendly, however some of the reception staff give the impression they are doing you a favour if you ask them anything.

The restaurant booking arrangements are hopeless, we were on an all inclusive basis, however the hotel actually only has two restaurants open in the evening on site - one of these is a buffet - this is not a 5* experience!! The other 4 restaurants are either in the hotel next door, the beach club or the chateau. On arrival the hotel is supposed to book all inclusive guests into these off site restaurants, however this did not happen for us in all 4 restaurants and due to the lack of information provided by reception staff on arrival we did not realise this until half way through our holiday after speaking to other guests. We struggled to get a reservation in the fourth restaurant and, as mentioned previously were given the impression they were doing us a favour when it was actually their mistake. This hotel advertises they have 6 restaurants for their all inclusive guests to enjoy - whilst there are 6 in total around the other resorts, you will be very lucky to eat more than once in the ones not in the Awali hotel.

The staff in the bar were very friendly, however some evenings it could take up to twenty minutes to get a drink.

The food in Infinity Blue was good both at lunchtime and in the evening but the service at luchtime was very hit and miss. The alternative at lunchtime is Amafrooty, the staff here are very nice but service is very slow and food is often cold when it gets to you.

The glass bottom boat and snorkelling trip booking arrangements are organised very badly with different information given by reception, the beach club and the staff member on the beach at Awali.

As mentioned, this is a beautiful hotel with some excellent members of staff, however it was not what we expected. We are well travelled and have stayed in many 5* hotels around the world, I would say Heritage Awali does not deserve that rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to the Awali. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our return trip. When we arrived they upgraded us to an Ocean View room 3206 which was a lovely touch which we appreciated as the view was stunning. We had no problem getting into any of the restaurants even though the hotel was fully booked and is until the end of Feb 2013! Our favourite was C Beach but they were all lovely. We only ate in Balafon main restaurant a few times as I am not agreat fan of buffets - although the few times we went it was lovely, especially the mauritian night. My only suggestion would be that they put tablecloths on the tables at night just to make the place look a bit more special. Service at the bar and on the beach were first class and I have to thank Vashish and Jonathan for their amazing service and cocktail making skills. Nature reserve trip was fun and the views were amazing. All in all we had a fantastic time and the weather was great. The reason I didn't give five stars is because I think that there should be an adults only pool and bar area just if you want a little bit of peace now and again and also because on the day we left they changed the closing time of the bar from 12pm to 11pm which I feel is a little unfair. They are also changing the all inclusive package so that you cannot go to Annabelles or Ginja without paying a supplement and that you have to pay for drinks at the Chateau. Shame because it will only spoil an amazing resort.

Room Tip: Blook three hundred is close to everything but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent our honeymoon at Heritage Awali for 10 nights in October. The resort and Bel Ombre domain is absolutely immaculate, particularly the golf course and chateau. It is a fairly large resort but it is spacious enough that it never felt crowded and there was always plenty of space to relax by the pool or on the beach. We had a sea facing room on the ground floor overlooking the sea and pool, with a lovely little terrace which allowed us to access our room from both sides which was really handy.

The highlight for us was the activities on offer- the website really doesn't do this justice at all. We went on guided jogging tours with the activity centre staff (which was a great way of familiarising ourselves with the area), ashtanga yoga in the garden (Alexandre the instructor was awesome), aqua gym every day, free cycle hire, archery and water sports.

Only negative for us is the somewhat strange treatment of half board guests. Half board is only really applicable if you eat in the Balafon buffet restaurant only, which was not made clear when we booked via BA. To eat a la carte at the other restaurants meant going through a daily, long winded, and somewhat frustrating booking process. A 1000 rupee contribution towards eating in any of the restaurants didn't go very far either ( barely covers a starter at Gin Ja). All inclusive guests were allowed to make reservations for the duration of their stay upfront, whilst we weren't. This policy was totally baffling particularly as we would have spent more than the all inclusive guests on average as we wouldn't have chosen items from the all inclusive options. One day we had to enquire about a booking 3 times before being told that a table was actually available!

Having said that the food at Gin Ja and the chateau was amazing - it's just a shame getting the reservations was such a pain.

Guest information could be improved pre arrival too. There is a dress code that men can't wear shorts after 7pm. Seems a bit late in the day to tell guests about this rule when they arrive with their suitcase full of shorts!

Overall I would recommend this resort - but unless you go all inclusive be prepared for some repetitive conversations with the staff and spending a lot of time at the guest relations desk!

Room Tip: Go for sea facing and ground floor if you want easy access to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 230
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the unspoiled wild south of the island, Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort is the ideal place to experience authentic Mauritius and relax in harmony with nature either for just the two of you, or with the whole family. This luxury hotel combines elegance with the magic of Africa and offers high-end accommodations and an exceptional range of facilities: 18 hole golf course overlooking the ocean, two of the most beautiful well being centres of the Indian Ocean area with the Seven Colours Spa and the Umuzi Fitness Centre, a unique concept in kids' clubs, a fine dining gourmet restaurant as well as another amazing culinary experience in Seven Colours Energy Cuisine and privileged access to a colonial manor house and a nature reserve. A variety of unique delights to leave you with unforgettable holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Awali Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Awali Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Resort Bel Ombre
Heritage Mauritius
Heritage Golf Spa Mauritius
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.