We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday in magic Mauritius” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage The Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage The Villas to your Saves list
Heritage The Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine de Bel Ombre, Bel Ombre, Mauritius (Formerly Villas Valriche Experience)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic family holiday in magic Mauritius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fantastic Villas Valriche, this must be paradise. Having spent many beach hotel holidays in beautiful Mauritius, always too short, moving between kids in one room and luggage everywhere - what a pleasure to be fortuneate to stay a month in this awesome villa resort. Two families, four kids, bags of space and everything available - just wonderful. Relax in your very spacious private villa, or bask in the resorts own Beach Club, or walk across to use all the facilities of the two member hotels all convenient and easy to get to and around in your villa golf cart (two families, well essential to book two golf carts,you pay for the second one of course). Golf course fabulous and generally able to whiz round and still have a family holiday together on the beach. As a self catering holiday, a weekly trip to the local supermarket was a couple of hours out of your vacation time, but did the job (surley there are some entrepreneurs that can do this for their affluent holidaymakers!) and not really a big deal. Hard to criticise, as we love Mauritius and our first trip to Villas Valriche lived upto all the marketing hype - well done Villas Valriche, but here goes - internet speed could be faster, as always and the golf green fees were an extra, a bit annoying as we thought were all inclusive. That's the negatives -so goand enjoy paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope to welcome you again.


Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I am usually used to luxurious 5 star hotel services and I do not usually go for a self serviced accommodation. But the villas looked amazing and had really good reviews so I chose to book in Heritage villas rather than the Four Seasons for the excellent reviews and the better price.
We arrived in the hotel and were taken to our Four Bedroom Villa (Villa 11) and we loved the place right away. Everything was top class and super clean. The villa had:
-2 seating areas indoor and a small toilet
-4 En suit bedrooms (3 next to each other, and 1 more private that can be accessed through a garden)2 of them had indoor bath and outdoor showers
-3 seating areas outside (1 in the front of the villas and 2 at the back facing the swimming pool)
-1 dining table inside (10 seats)
-1 dining table outside
-Open kitchen with oven, barbecue, refrigerator, freezer, 1 nespresso machine, one filter coffee machine, toaster. basically fully equipped with everything you need even for a small party.
-Barbecue area outside
-A back room for laundry and dishwasher, etc.
-A golf cart (for 4 person only, even though the villas was for 8)
- Garage
It was even better than the pictures you saw in there website. The housekeeping came everyday and did an excellent job. Although you can access all services within the two nearby hotels we had the following problems:
- The first day we went to have breakfast at the Chateau and it was only us and another couple. We were given a menu to choose from and the services was really slow.
- The next time we went to breakfast it turned out to be a buffet (a very crowded one) because there was a group staying at he hotel for a wedding. The breakfast was limited to tea/coffee, some fruits, toasts/pastries, canned juices, freshly cooked egg station, baked beans.
- The next day we decided to order our breakfast in the villa and eat it by the pool, and thank GOD we bought some grocery the day before! The food came packed as if we order takeaway from a cheap restaurant and it was not nearly enough. We ordered for 6 people and expected to get 6 meals, but what we got was barely enough for 2, and they forgot the coffee. So NEVER order in.
- If you want to order room service you have to order HOURS in advance.
- There were so many mosquitoes and insects and nothing was done to control them. We got bit A LOT.
- Although the housekeeping cleaned the villas well, it seemed they do not clean the outdoor seating areas. There were spider webs all over the chairs and tables.
- We woke up one day and found that our golf cart was STOLEN! The hotel staff said one of the hotel guest took it, but i don't see how its possible without the key. They told us they will return it and give us 50% if we want to take another golf cart.
- We were leaving the hotel in the Evening (at 7pm) and rather than check out early, we paid for the extra night. We went out during the day and came back at 4 to find that our villas was not cleaned, which was disappointing since they are supposed to clean because we have already paid for that night.
- I tried the Spa at Heritage Awali, and while the place is amazing, the therapist were not as skilled as expected.

OVERALL, I enjoyed my trip to Mauritius and If you are expecting 5 star hotel service 24 hrs a day, go to another hotel. As Villas I would say they are 5 stars, but although they were really amazing, I cannot recommend them to a friend due to the limited services.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray-Dunes, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

In the most beautiful part of the island, far away form low class tourism, Villas Valriche resort is located between the lagoon and mountains from Black River National Park. For large countryside and nature lovers, the domain offers space, comfort, luxury, services, activities, privacy in a peaceful and luxuriant landscape. Food was excellent particularly at "Le Chateau", a romantic and gastronomic experience in an old colonial house.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope to welcome you again.


Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Hey have you ever seen a piece of paradise in paradise itself... Its there... These villas are awesome... Situated though out of nowhere... But it is the perfect place for relaxing and time out. Been there several times now in completely different atmosphere and its always thumb up experience. You have a house in paradise there with everything you need in a specially heavenly view. Surely you want to have an awesome time with friends pals etc... Have a go there and request for an isolated villa and you ll be all alone with the stars...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope to welcome you again.


Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The villa was well appointed, was very clean and obviously service well. We were impressed with the quality of the facilities available and particularly enjoyed the Beach Club. The kids loved the super pool. Breakfast in the main house was also super with plenty of choice. I would highly recommend a weekend break like ours at the Heritage Villas

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope to welcome you again.


Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Well this one is truly a place in the paradise. Villas are located in a quiet neighborhood but there are couple of restaurants to go to. Be sure you have a golf cart to use at it makes things a lot easier. Our villa was fully furnished and had a great patio area and an endless pool in the yard. Green fees for the top-notch golf course nearby were included in the price of the villa. There is also a beach club exclusively for those who stay in villas. The beach there is just amazing - try canoing or snorkeling in crystal clear water. Would recommend the villas to anyone who wants to escape to a paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope to welcome you again.


Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in Villa Val Riche in a family owned Villa, the most amazing experience, white beaches all other Hotels at your disposal when you stay as a owner, fantastic. There are many Restaurants in the area to choose from, another great Hotel is the Chanti Maurice, well worth a visit for lunch or dinner, lots of shopping in the area as well. So pack a bag and book your flight.

Room Tip: Beach front has the best view, ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage The Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage The Villas

Address: Domaine de Bel Ombre, Bel Ombre, Mauritius (Formerly Villas Valriche Experience)
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage The Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heritage The Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage The Villas Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage The Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.