We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel So Mauritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel So Mauritius to your Saves list
Sofitel So Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great service, food and spa. Amazing stay at the hotel - everything was perfect. The room was very nice, big and clean. Well equipped gym and big swimming pool. Breakfast buffet was varied and very tasty. Would definitely go back! Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Bonjour from Sofitel So Mauritius,

It is with pleasure that we receive your comments and compliments.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you impressed by the decorated Kenzo suite and the your culinary experience of the main restaurant!
Definetely if this was a ' wonderful stay', you should definetey come back and with great pleasure we should be pleased to make your stay even more confortable and appreciable than the first time.

Additionally, my team and I seize this opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year 2014!

With So Regards,

Antonio Ferreira De Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    63
    23
    12
    8
See reviews for
87
265
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I really don't know where to start. This hotel is quite wonderful. It is set amongst luscious gardens with lovely scented flowers, flowering trees and several areas of open spaces. It has a beautiful white sandy beach with a beach house where you can borrow pedalos, kayaks, wind surfing boards. There is also a glass bottomed boat and another boat which can be used for fishing trips. There are plenty of loungers and an abundance of beach towels. If swimming in the sea is not for you, then there is an infinity pool which is sheltered from the sea breezes by a line of trees on one side which made it the perfect place to swim and relax. There is also a fitness centre and tennis courts. I loved the use of club cars to get around the hotels grounds if you wished. We were happy to walk on most occasions as strolling through the gardens filled with birds, flowers and geckos was part of the romance of the hotel. However if it rained then a club car was always available to take you to the restaurant or anywhere else you wished. The restaurants were superb. There are two La Plage ( the beach restaurant) and The Flamboyant ( main restaurant) the choice of food was excellent . Two separate menus. One European in style, the other Mauritian. In addition to the menu there was always a catch of the day and a special. The wine however is expensive. On several nights during our stay there were Buffet evenings. Breakfast was a sight to behold and catered for all tastes. We arrived in the restaurant on one evening to find that we were being given a " special romantic meal for two" in a different area of the restaurant well away from the rest of the dinners. The menu was heavenly. Our hostess Cindy was quick to offer her photographic skills to record our romantic diner. The waiting staff were extremely attentive and friendly and only too happy to describe the dishes for you. Bryana would appeared at our table with a clip so my handbag did not have to remain on the floor. Even at the buffet breakfast the waiting staff were there to carry your plate back to your table if you wished. The rooms were light and airy, to the rear of the bathroom there was a fab outside shower and lounging area with a massive green fatboy beanbag. My shower area had a wonderful scented frangipani tree in it. The bed was large (6ft wide at least) and so comfy. The sheets I noticed were regularly changed. Outside to the front was your own outside bath, big enough for two which was filled and decorated with flowers on the day we arrived. Beyond the bath was our own garden with loungers. The room had all you expect of a five star hotel. Internet, wifi, iPod, large flat screen tv. And noiseless air conditioning! However what made this hotel so special was their staff. They were friendly helpful, willing to please without being intrusive. They went out of their way to make you feel special. Our butler Dinesh could not do not for us. We mentioned in passing that the path to our room was a little dark and within 10 minutes a maintenance was outside our room installing an extra light and two small LEDs . I was totally amazed at the speed in which it was rectified. Dinesh and Vijay also treated us to two special nights. We arrived back in our room to find flowers and petals on the bedroom, candles light, and a star light machine on above our bed. During our stay there were several special little touches like this which made of stay in this hotel stand out from all the rest of our holidays. A going away present of local rums, a bottle of sparkling non alcoholic wine in a bucket in our room, an extra course during dinner of sorbet in an ice globe, a plate of petit fours delivered to our room each evening. All the staff wanted to make sure that our stay was the best possible. There was Sarah who served me in the shop, the head chef who typed out a couple of recipes for me, Michel the barman who made us his signature basil and mint cocktails which weren't on the menu, the ladies in the Spa Annabelle, Jess and Anniesse who helped to take away the stress with their wonderful massages. If you have never had a Lome Mae massage I would thoroughly recommend it. I was pleasantly surprised at the vast range of different massage available in the spa. I must mention the hostess Anna Lisa who was so genuinely sad to see us leave that I almost hugged her. She was so lovely to us. The manager Piotr is highly visible and is happy to stop and chat to guests. I noted that a suggestion one guest made to him was implemented even before we left the hotel. This hotel is a little piece of heaven in a beautiful setting, staffed by the most friendly of people,. Thank you to all 200 staff for the most relaxing, carefree and special holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Bonjour from Sunny So Mauritius!

Thank you for your detailed review following your last stay at the Sofitel So Mauritius.

My team and I, we have a great pleasure to read your comments, to see how much you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and services provided with care and attention by our So Ambassadors including the Hotel Manager Mr Piotr who has been accessible during your stay . I hope that interaction with our SO team will make you keep good memories of So Mauritius and of Mauritian legendary hospitality. However will work out to improve our wine offer.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for some more SO memorable moments.

With So Regards,

Antonio Ferreira De Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenham, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have just returned from 8 idyllic days at the So Sofitel and have just loved every minute of it.The hotel is set in vast beautiful gardens and along a pristine beach.It doesn't matter where you decide to step into the warm clear sea the most fantastic and easily accessible snorkeling is on your doorstep.There is a wide range of complimentary water sports.Steve from the Water Sports team needs a special mention here for taking us out on several fishing trips around the lagoon. It is so peaceful it is easy to feel you have the whole hotel to yourself.
The restaurants are excellent.The food is delicious,the setting is beautiful and the staff just want to please.A very special mention must go to Ashlen from the restaurant.He knew what we wanted even before we did!!! And his happy personality brought an extra dimension to an excellent meal.
One negative here is the wine is far too expensive.
The Spa is heavenly and although it seemed a bit pricey there were special offers every day.
The rooms are fab - very stylish.The bed is so so comfy.The bathroom comes in 3 parts, a full stunning inside bathroom ,an outdoor shower garden at the back and a bath tub for 2 in the front garden.A very relaxing way to end a relaxing day!! The technology in the bedroom is mind boggling -a TV with internet capability, a Bose IPod interface and CD player and a lighting system that was so intricate that after 8 nights I still didn't understand it.
A special mention here needs to go to our butlers Dinesh and Vijay who not only took care of the day to day running of our room but also provided lots of special extras - from running flower filled bubble baths for us, filling the room with flowers, candles and a star making machine, bringing daily handmade chocolates , leaving beautiful fruit platters etc etc
The entire staff of nearly 200 went out of their way to make our holiday special and they succeeded.
Well done Piotr (The manager) you lead a wonderful team in a heavenly venue.
Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Our team and I, we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre. It is always a pleasure to receiveand to read positive feedback form your experience in the Southern part of the island.

I will share your comments with our SO team specially to those you mentioned aboveand as well to Mr Piotr who strive to achieve excellence with the entire ambassadors from the different services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as SO pleasant as the previous one.

On these words, we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year with lots of So Moments to share with your families and friends!

Sincerely,

Antonio Ferreira de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauritius
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went to the Sofitel So to celebrate our wedding anniversary last weekend and can say that this hotel has left a warm feeling in our heart and ever cherished memories for our wedding anniversary.

Upon arrival, we have been warmly greeted by Christophe. In fact these people are the face of the hotel as they are the first people you encounter with and create an ever lasting first impression. He was very professional and immediately offered to carry our luggage.

We didn't have to wait at the reception and were immediately driven in the club car to our suite where a receptionist was waiting for us. All formalities were quickly done and we were left to relax. The suite was so beautiful and very spacious. The bathroom corner was equally very nice. It opens on a private small garden space.

We had a butler attached to our suite who came to welcome us with a refreshing drink in our room. Our butler, Bryan was very good and has made everything possible to render our stay comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised when returning to our room on Saturday night. The dark room was lighted by small candles and our bed was decorated with flowers . A happy wedding anniversary choco cake was also there for us.

What to say about the food. They were excellent, be it the taste or the presentation.

I would also like to acknowledge the housekeeping as my room was sparkling clean.

The only little drawback which I felt was that there is no entertainment after dinner and we returned to our room. Entertainment is only in the resto during dinner. The AC in our room was not functioning properly despite it was checked by a technical staff. Butler service is indeed very nice as long as it does not become intrusive.

In the whole, Sofitel So is a hotel where you just have to let you be spoiled and enjoy all the little attentions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for having chosen the Sofitel So Mauritius for your wedding anniversary and for your wonderful feedback following for So stay with us.
As you first stepped in the hotel, the tone was set to make you feel the Southern nature and indeed drowned the So experience with the personalised and dedicated service of our So ambassadors. We shall share with them your warm thanks.
Let the food specialities from the island and the comfort of the My Bed concept make you travel in your cherished memories once back home.Netherless, we take good note of your remarks with regards to entertainment, airconditioning in your suite and butler service and will definetly improve our services to make you enjoy a relaxing stay with us.

We shall with pleasure welcome you back at the So Mauritius for So unforgettable moments.

Knd Regards,

Antonio Ferreira de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went here end of September/begin of October for our 11-day Honeymoon! It was simply amazing.

Great stay in our beach villa, amazing beach and fun activities!

The team of the restaurant is great. Excellent service, with smiles, and small interesting discussions at the end of our stay we felt like family, they exactly new what we liked and immediately made it happen!

We really appreciated the beach team that made us discover a lot of new things (snorkelling, waterski,...). Everything was prepared and service to perfection, a special thanks to our butlers: Riad and Kanen.

The little attentions, like the surprises in the room and the daily chocolate attentions made our honeymoon complete.

Thank you to Piotr for the nice chat about your hotel and Krakow, where we got married and where you came from!

Enjoy!

PS: a bit sad that my accor points did not make it yet to my account.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

W e thank you for having chosen the Sofitel So Mauritius for your honeymoon break.
It is with pleasure that we recive your So feedback.

We shall ensure keeping the same level of service and so dedicated attention for our guests for you to keep so magnifique memories to share with your friends and families.

It is with much pleasure that we will welcome you once again in the southern get away.

With So Regards,

The So Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week in September and overall we had mixed feelings when we left. Let's start with the positives:

1. Location: The hotel is located on the wild south coast which is less crowded than the North and there are no other hotels for miles on either side so the beach really is a private beach with very little traffic (i.e. no hawkers)

2. Service: We found the service in the hotel to generally be pretty good. Special mention has to be made for Anne Lise who was just brilliant (efficient, remembered our b-fast order after the 2nd day etc) and Raj (our butler) who was helpful and always around without being intrusive

3. Spa: We had a couple of treatments at the spa and found them to be very good and the spa reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel.

The negatives were:

1. Location: The south coast is extremely windy and I had read reports telling me as much but I was surprised by the strength of the wind. It was impossible to sit on the beach without being blown away and you needed to find a few strategic spots that were sheltered in order to be able to enjoy the beach.

2. Service: While the resort itself was well looked after and maintained the beachfront was totally neglected. There were no members of staff to check in on guests and getting meals at the beach did not seem to be an option.

3. Restaurants: The hotel only has 2 restaurants and really only one (Le Flamboyant) that is open for dinner. For those who are on a full board package the options are incredibly limited therefore in terms of dining venues. Who wants to eat the same restaurant for 7 nights in a row? The Shanti Maurice and Heritage Le Telfair which are both nearby have multiple restaurants so the Sofitel So seems to be under-delivering in this area. We also found the room service menu to be very limited and the quality of the food to be pretty mediocre. (By contrast, we found the food at the restaurant for dinner very good).

4. Rooms: The rooms while adequate could have been better. We found having a tub outdoors was a complete waste unless you wanted to be bitten by mosquitos and surrounded by bugs. The garden was also similarly a waste and the rooms could have been extended instead.

5. Swimming pool: The resort has an oddly shaped swimming pool which is next to the beach but sheltered by trees so you can't actually see the sea. Once we found out how windy it was on the beach we realised why they had planted trees in front of the pool. For a resort of this size they really should at least have had 2 pools and they have the space to do it so not sure why not.

Overall, we found that the hotel was fine but were expecting more and left feeling slightly disappointed. I would not return to the Sofitel So given the negatives above given the range of choices in Mauritius.

As a final word of advice, we had hired a car and therefore did not take the full board option but most restaurants in Mauritius (outside of the hotels) are only open for lunch so we ended up eating in the hotel more than we intended. As a result, I think a half board package may be a better option for people as long as they are prepared to eat in the same restaurant.

Also do ask the butler to arrange a "Mauritius turndown" one night. It's really worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Bonjour from the Sofitel So Mauritius,

We thank you for your feedback regarding your last stay with us.

Indeed, you left the resort with mitigated feeling having experienced the best and less good part of a holiday break. We take good note of your concerns and contsructive comments to enrich the So Experience.

We hope that your next visit will be more intense with magnifique moments with us!

With So Warm Regards,

The So Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

So Mauritius is Just So Amazing,

it has everything you could possibly ask for, the hotel is designed by Kenzo it is fresh, colorful, and luxurious all at the same time. the rooms are in good size and you can easily move around, and the bathrooms are like a piece of art.

it has all the facilities you could need while on vacation, the white sandy beaches are lovely, and the main restaurant is the best place to enjoy a meal in the open with amazing views of the sea.

i would definitely recommend this hotel for families, couples, and friends who wants to have an excellent experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Bonjour from So Mauritius !

We are delighted to hear from you following your So Stay.

We wanted you and all our guests, to have So unforgettable moments, which you can take away back home and having great memories. High level of service, culinary experience, comfort and decorated suites by Kenzo Takada, that all little but important touches that make a memorable stay with us. We will address your thanks to our So ambassadors who contributed to make your stay So Amazing.

We all look forward to welcome you again and your family and offering So Intense time with us.

Kind Regards,

Piotr Kupiec
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Address: Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hrs personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel So Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.