We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel So Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel So Mauritius to your Saves list
Sofitel So Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thank you so much to all the staff. My trip was really nice thanks to the kindness of the people. High quality of service and careness of the guest !
The spa was excellent and massage were peaceful and permit me and my girlfriend to relax and forgot about the daily stress life.

Thanks again and see you soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Bonjour
Every guest take different things away from Mauritius, though everybody agrees that the kindness of Mauritians is what make the experience so special.
At SO Mauritius, we constantly emphasize our Mauritian roots and we are glad you felt it.
From the spa treatment to the garden, through our molecular cocktails, we are glad to help our guests to discover the uniqueness of our beautiful island.

So looking forward to seeing you agin in near future to SO Mauritius for another SO Intense experience.

Cordially,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    75
    27
    18
    9
See reviews for
102
320
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just spent a fantastic week in Mauritius. We took the helicopter ride from the airport which was a great idea and gave us the opportunity to see Mauritius very well from the start. Riad, our butler, met us at the landing pad and onwards was constantly paying attention to our needs. Service in the restaurant was not as efficient but riad was never far making sure our dietary requirements were met.
The NYE was just fabulous, it was the first time for both of us we were celebrating dancing on a beach with over 30c!
Spa was good too. I tried the coco treatment and my other half did accupuncture. Both of us found the staff to be very kind and professional.
We visited a few things on the island and all went smoothly through our butler. The boat house offers lots of complimentary activities, so i went water skiing !
I read recent comments and was quite surprised as i was not experiencing the same. I asked the staff and was told that many employees just disappeared at year end which put the team under duress. We didnt real feel it but were told that some large families were disappointed.
I would definitely recommend the sofitel for couples but not at all for families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Bonjour
Thank you for choosing So Mauritius We are SO happy to know that you had an intense experience while being in paradise. Thank you for the positive review of our ambassadors (the name given to our team members) who from your comment represented very well our property spirit.
SO Mauritius gives indeed the only property of its kind given the chance to experience acupuncture on the Island. Our Master of Acupuncture has been studying Chinese medicine for more than 10 years and he is especially famous for performing acupuncture anti-ageing treatment, but also treatment more traditional like muscular pains or specifically adapted to jet lag or stress. Whatever one you choose you will always feel like a new born baby afterwards.

The communication you were given is right, though we are back on track and apologize again to our guest who got impacted by this end of year challenge.
So looking forward to welcoming you again in Mauritius !

Cordially,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The stay at So sofitel was very much substandard and not in keeping with that of a 5 star hotel. We had a reservation for 4 rooms. There was a five hour delay in the delivery of the rooms, when we did get the rooms, one of the rooms had dirty linen, the garbage had not been emptied, the airconditioning was not functioning and there was no toilet paper.

The hotel food was substandard, (not the quality of a 5 star hotel). The buffet did not cater for special requests such as food allergies and vegetarian menus. The chef was informed however did not adjust the menus to cater for special dietary needs. The buffet dishes had no labels during lunches and dinner.

The butlers assigned to the rooms tried to smoothe things over by bringing over champagne to the rooms to apologize. It was apparent that they were understaffed and working on a skeleton staff. Clearly they were unable to meet the guests' needs. The general manager was very incompetent, and took no action to remedy any our concerns even though we voiced them to him in a constructive fashion. Following our conversation with the general manager, he avoided our group. One recommendation would be for the general manager to get some more training in conflict resolution.

From speaking to the other residents of the hotel, it was clear that our poor experience was not isolated. Other guests were also checking out prematurely from this supposedly top of the line/ flagship status of the So Sofitel hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Bonjour Monsieur,

I would like to apologise for the issues you encountered. Though I did indeed meet myself with many members of your family, including yourself, and especially your Mother in law I believe on regular basis. We also proposed to prepare your request on a taylor made basis as we always do though you preferences remained for the buffet. I will pass on your comment to your butler which you mention above.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Sofitel SO Mauritius in order to demonstrate what Sofitel SO Mauritius is about with a nice weather and the usual A La Carte menu.

Cordially,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Flying for more than 9 hrs, I finally touched down on this remote island in the Indian Ocean to enjoy a week of relaxation and indulgence. Well, a personal buttler will ensure you'll get all what you asked for and even the more.... rooms are well equipped with the latest gadgetry Philipps and Bose has on offer, WLAN and wired Internet connection is available (and hey, for those who have been forbidden to bring anything electronic - the TV Set works as an Internet Screen, hihihi). A private outside shower in the back, with a second shower inside will allow you to skinny dip or just wash your hair without been seen from anybody. Through the wardrobe and next to the huge wash bassin comes the living & bedroom with a "your Bed concept", well truly I slept perfectly well... in the front garden is another sort of water splashing device, a whirlpool - unfortunately sometimes from lesser travelled and educated guests from a certain Middle Kingdom in Asia mistaken as a communal washing tub, so be aware, you could be woken up at 6 am by a rather loud and pestering Zhejiang dialect "old sista com over washing".... well, your buttler will arrange for the necessary (moving you into another remote room far from the cloth washing crowd. It was a quite fun experience, though I hope management will think twice as to which tourist group from China they would like to welcome as guests, as otherwise full-fare paying guests will certainly not frequent any longer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the beach. It prevents you from continously waiting for the colf carts (c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Bonjour !

Thank you SO much for your feedback about your recent stay at SO Mauritius. We are SO pleased to read that you have appreciated the design of our villas and its modern and contemporary equipment. You are SO right at SO Mauritius you have 3 different ways to be connected to Internet even through your TV - great opportunity to browse your favorite websites on big TV screen using wireless keyboard in the comfort of your bed, and the best of all, it is complementary all over the resort as you experienced.

Our suites and villas provide guests with absolute privacy thanks to the unique architect decision of famous Tai architect Lek Bunnag enhanced by unique interior design by Kenzo Takada.

Our bed concept - My Bed - designed specifically for Sofitel Luxury hotels, we are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed good night sleep at SO.

We apologize that you have been disturbed by the noise from neighbor suites in the morning. We are striving to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible, please advise us during your next stay about any challenge and we will certainly ensure you can fully enjoy your stay without any disturbance.

It will be great a pleasure for us to welcome you back for another wonderful experience !

Bastien Blanc,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

was expecting a hotel like in Maldives, well actually Mauritius has far more activities to propose. the level of service of the hotel was good, and people nice. weather was ok but not as hot as i thought. hotel is very much modern, with design of kenzo. i like very much. great bed so i could sleep a lot. beach side very nice with little breeze so never too hot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Boris,

Добрый день !

Thank you SO much for your positive feedback about your recent stay at SO Mauritius. We are SO pleased to read that you appreciated good level of service and kindness of team - what is the core of Mauritian hospitality !

You are absolutely right, Mauritius has SO much to offer for its guests ! At SO Mauritius you can choose from more than 60 activities tailor made specially for you to discover the best of the Island.

We are very delighted that you liked the modern design of Kenzo Takada for the hotel. Our hotel looks very unique compare to other hotels on the Island, we are very proud to be different !
Our bed concept - My Bed - designed specifically for Sofitel Luxury hotels, incredibly comfortable that sometimes our guests prefer to stay a bit longer in their suites and villas in the morning :)

It will be great pleasure for us to welcome you back for another wonderful experience !

Have a great Holidays season ! Хороших Вам Новогодних праздников !

Bastien Blanc,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Fantastic Place and most great Experiance was the beach bar with molecular cocktails, butlers and attentive service. I feel myself like in heaven. Highly recommended to who is looking for quality time and service...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Bonjour !

We are SO delighted to know that you had such a great time with us .

SO Mauritius bar is the only one on the Island (we heard even one in Indian Ocean :)) where you can try unique Molecular cocktails. Our skilful Takamaka bar Ambassadors serves more than 9 varieties including the most exotic ones or you can even get your own cocktail based on your preferences named after the most valuable person for us, YOU.

Our SO Special butler team is indeed a treat, you truly can feel that everything is taken care of.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again for another Heaven time !

Have a great Holidays season !
Best regards,

Bastien Blanc

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

really fantastic vacation ! we wanted to relax and we found this new property. i came on tripadvisor to check the comments and was quite intrigued... now i am addicted !
now i know, that this butler has really nothing to do with the English version you can see in movies but he is a young guy dressed in white taking care of all. it is like having your personal concierge, always at your disposal, reflecting Mauritian hospitality.
food was excellent, but what made the difference was the staff. all very young, well trained and always willing to help.
many activities available which kept us busy on days we didn't want to laze around. I tried hand painting... they packed the frame and gave it to me the day before departure ! nice touch !
harry tried the tai chi, facing the ocean... i have never seen him so relax, even if he couldn't stand properly.
i also discovered the acupuncture at the spa (i had never tried), and tried the golden needles treatment which is to look younger... well i am convinced, just worried how often i will need to return to Mauritius to keep it up.... the acupuncture master is on the quiet side, he does a pulse check and is able to tell you everything you need to work on. really interesting.
to sum up, great location for a vacation on a relaxing side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Bonjour !

We are SO happy to hear that you had an intense time among us. Our So special butler team is indeed the difference and key element for the most personalized service that you can’t find elsewhere.
All our ambassadors take pride in giving each guest the true Mauritian well known hospitality.

SO Mauritius is the only 5*Deluxe giving the opportunity to experience acupuncture on the Island. Our Master of Acupuncture has been studying Chinese medicine for more than 10 years and he is especially famous for performing acupuncture anti-ageing treatment, The Claret-Coquet Method.

All the treatments like you have experienced are based on nature just like our resort which is a jewel within a luxuriant garden. Every effort was made by our So Spa team to give you the most relaxing feeling as we know you deserve it.

We hope to see you soon for more intense emotions

Best regards,

Bastien Blanc

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Address: Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hrs personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel So Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.