We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel So Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel So Mauritius to your Saves list
Sofitel So Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ellon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A relaxing week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The perfect place to unwind and re-charge your batteries in a very relaxed atmosphere. An hotel different from all the others we experienced so far since very attentive to you as an individual!
The room is a cocoon you would never want to leave but then the lagoon with its corals is too tempting to avoid.
All beach services are included, which is good, and I do recommend to go for half board since there are no many restaurants outside the hotel and you need a car to reach the closest town. The hotel has a proper restaurtant and a beach bar, both offering an intriguing and tasting menu including both international and local recipes, a real experience albeit the price for beverages (especially wines) is on the high side.
The only drawback which prevented me giving the top score is the fact we experienced the arrival of an horde of one night guests from a cancelled flight! That day the hotel lost all its prerogative of being so special and we felt no more trated as individuals but quite negletted. My recommendation to the management is to either have a proper organisation/procedure in place to handle this type of events or to refuse taking one night occasional guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

We are happy to hear from your last stay among us. Indeed SO Mauritius provides a different experience and a real alternative to the usual stays in Mauritius. You had the opportunity to enjoy our gastronomy as well as our Butlers service making it the key to providing a truely complete luxury experience.

Taxation on alcohol makes that one can find prices to be higher however rest assured that our prices correspond to those you can find on the island.

We are terribly sorry we didn’t succeed to make you feel special on your last day, and apologise for the very unusual inconvenience, and we hope you will only keep in mind truly exceptional moment delivered to you at SO!

We look forward to welcoming you again and help in recharging those batteries of yours !
Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    74
    27
    17
    9
See reviews for
101
317
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rcazador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Made to feel welcome right from the start. Was met at my room by my butler with a welcoming cocktail. Everyone remembered my name - very nice to be walking around the hotel and everyone says "Bonjour M. Hunter!" The best part was the complete service provided when booking excursions outside the hotel. Mauritius has SO many activities that the hotel can organize it is amazing. You can walk with lions, go quad biking and underwater scooter, even personalized trips to the surrounding villages. They even let me drive the golf carts!!(mode of transportation on the resort!!). Being a very active vacation, it was amazing to work out in the SO Fit facility with my personal trainer Jameel. He will work you hard enough to see results but not to hard to give up! Most of all, I appreciated that the sunny island nature was reflected in the disposition of EVERYONE who works at Sofitel SO Mauritius. Thank you to you all!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour monsieur,

We are So Happy to hear from your excellent stay among us. Glad to read our dedicated team succeeded in giving you the best service as well as make you discover the best of local traditions. The island is full of extraordinary sceneries and a lot of activities can be practiced as you have mentioned, all your whims possible at the touch of your phone through your So special butler... Zero stress and zero worries, only pure relaxation and enjoyment …

Jameel, with his personalized training, is ready to get you to the next level, hence keep on exercising and the detox program will have been very successful !

See you soon !

Wishing you a SO intense week,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we would like to thankall the staff foe a wonderful holiday,the suites where perfect every thing you could wish for,the staff that cleaned the suite were very polite and courtius and did an exellent job keeping the suits cleaned.
the pool and beach areas were kept imaculate,the staff around that area were als exellent,we would also like to thank micheal the chef for some wonderful mealswhich were very well presented and tasted wonderful.
we would also like to thank all the staff that served us breakfast and evening meal they were exceptional and they all gave 110%.
advise to go half board as no place to eat and drink out side the hotel,and when we went out for the day did not see many places to eat,you would need to hire a car for the time you are there so you can find places to eat,drinks are very expensive, but overall 110% out of 100, if you want piece and quite, holiday

Room Tip: we were in room 320 opposit the spa we were happy with our room and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur

We are So happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday at So Mauritius. Our team is indeed attentive and ensures that your stay is both relaxing and enjoyable.

The chef’s creations, a mix of Mauritian & European cuisines gives you the opportunity to experience moments of gastronomic richness in our beautiful restaurants.

We hope that you will come back soon for more good memories.

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Incredible concept and design for a luxury hotel in Mauritius. One of a kind. Modern as luxury should be. Incomparable service with extreme attention to detail. Memorable experience and truly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,


Thank you for your valuable comments about your fantastic stay at the So Mauritius. At So, we are proud of the natural settings of our suites & villas designed by Lek Bunnag and decorated by Kenzo Takada, and the benefits of the private garden for an in-room outside shower.

The spa and restaurants are indeed so relaxing and enjoyable that you can only be So enchanted!

Thanks to our So Special Butler dedicated to your suites and villas, attention to detailed is key for us in order to ensure all your wishes came true. We are pleased to see that it has made your experience memorable.

We hope that this memorable stay with us will bring you back to our shores.

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Being the low season, we had a ratio of 4 staff per guest, which gave us that pampering feeling someone needs after flying Air Mauritius. Forget the trendy look of the whole place (So Mauritius definitely the most elegant and classiest hotel on the South of the island, we've checked the others), what really made this hotel memorable will be the Chef; Michael Li has an incredible magical touch with his imaginative deconstruction food and profusion of exotic taste from all over the world; the rest of the restaurant staff were answering our every need and gave us the full 5 star service without being too stuffy. If you love being away from it all, in a personable boutique hotel, with fabulous food and are not too bothered about being on the best beach with thousands of other tourists, then we strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: it is a small hotel so all the rooms are in fact individual mini villas and have all their positive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

We are so pleased to read you had a fabulous stay with us at So Mauritius. Thank you for taking your valuable time for sharing with us your stay.

The entire team is dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy their stay and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments. Personalized service and relaxed atmosphere we strive to make each and every moments you spend at So Mauritius.


We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon to our southern natural setting, your perfect hideaway.

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

Area Manager Indian Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our initial booking at Sofitel So Mauritius was from June 27 - July 07. However, because we were so impressed due to everything that we experienced in the hotel that really exceeded all our expectations, we extended our stay two more nights up to July 09. Our rate was bed and breakfast which was quite reasonable. The breakfast is fantastic and served outdoor in a very nice environment overlooking the ocean and the endless pool. The rooms are nicely designed in a simple, modern and relaxing fashion. Each room has an access to the hotel's private beach. But what's extremely so exceptional is The Butler Team, we had our special butler "Riad" who added an additional dimension not only to our stay in the hotel but to the entire trip. The butler team's theme is "share your dreams with your butler" and we believe that "Riad" had made this true! All what we needed is to share our wishes with him at the beginning of every day and all our wishes turned to be true at the end of the day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

We are pleased that your experience among us was really exceeding your expectations.

Having breakfast in your relaxed private garden or in Le Flamboyant overlooking the Indian Ocean is an amazing experience.

We are also happy that you appreciated the interior design. All our spacious suites and villas with their private garden have been decorated by Kenzo Takada giving you the comfort and relaxation you really look forward in our resort.

The entire team and specially the So butlers are dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy their stay and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments.

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at SO Mauritius to share more of your dreams.

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

Area Manager Indian Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

When we arrived the resort took our breath away, it is so nice. the villa, we had a beach villa was so spacious and probably the best in mauritius. we were so impressed with the accomodation. the room has a resort info book, the time for breakfast was stated till 11.00am , we arrived at 10.20am for breakfast and were greeted by the hostess Mellissa , not by a good morning but by a rude glance and were told ' you have 10 mins to eat your breakfast' . when we said we thought it was till 11.00am she said no maybe at the weekend and again repeted we had to eat quickly, within 10mins.
we did not eat much and left quickly without even having anything warm to eat on our first morning.
we complained to the manager and were told breakfast was till 11.00am.
the food at the restaurant was excellant however and a special thanks to chef michael lee and vishal who took very good care of us.
it was them in particular who made our stay extra special. the spa was also excellant and the treatments very good.
mellissa however, never apologised and when the GM came for dinner with his guests she was very friendly to them, a oscar winning peformance was put on for them, but for the rest of us, she did not care at all.
she needs to learn from vishal how to welcome people and all other staff were very good except for her, i would have rated this 5 star had it not been for her.
all in all a wonderfull resort spoilt by one person , so would hesitate to go back for that reason.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice. the beach villas are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at So Mauritius. The resort is indeed a breathtaking place from the highlands of the greeting pavilion you get the plunging view of the sea and the rooms are all made to give you the comfort and delights of relation with its Kenzo Takada design.

We are indeed sorry to hear about your encounter with one of our team that left you a bad impression of the moments you shared with us. However rest assured that relevant training is being conducted to ensure that all our guest receive the same level of service. Excellence and quality of service are our passion and we hope that for your next visit we can prove that we have indeed met your expectations.

The entire team is dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy their stay and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments.

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at SO Mauritius to enjoy the beauty and calmness of the resort.


Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc
Area Manager Indian Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Address: Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hrs personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel So Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.