We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Mauritius, So Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel So Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel So Mauritius to your Saves list
Sofitel So Mauritius
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So Mauritius, So Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

A beautiful hotel in the more natural part of Mauritius. The landscaping is fabulous, the rooms are very urban chic and the views are breathtaking.
It is one of those hotels which invite you to spend all you time outdoors. There is even an outdoor shower and tub in the rooms. The restaurants and bars all overlook the beach and pools, truly a pleasure to wine and dine.
Most of all it is the staff that make an impact. They go completely out of their way to please you. They are always at hand and always attentive. Few names that we remember are Cathan, Irshaad, Shane, the F&B manager Stephen and all the pool and beach staff. A big thank you for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    63
    23
    12
    8
See reviews for
87
265
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I will try too keep this review as short as possible however there really is so much to say.

The hotel is very pretty, nice location with an exclusive but friendly feel to it and is certainly worthy of its 5 star status.
The food is excellent and plentiful when the half board is chosen.

However what makes this place so very very special is the whole atmosphere that is created by the totally amazing staff working here. It is difficult these days to find a place that adheres to such high standards of professionalism and service whilst being friendly, the fact that the people here manage to do so with a sense of genuine concern and pride to provide for your every need is truly staggering!
I have been fortunate with both work and pleasure to stay at many hotels worldwide both economy and top end luxury and felt that I would never find anywhere that matched The Mandarin Oriental in Singapore........... until now!
As we were in Mauritius for a wedding we were able to visit friends at two other of the tripadvisor top 5 hotels and I can assure you that they fell far short of what the So Sofitel manages to achieve.

My thanks to O'Bryan for everything including arranging taxis, arranging for the temporary postponement of the irrigation outside our room so that it didn't disturb my partner who is a light sleeper and for taking the time to find aloe vera growing near his home and bringing it to the hotel for my sunburn.
Thanks also to Reaz and Irshaad for making every meal time special, with both the service and the extent they went to in arranging special requirements.

Finally thanks to the management for running such a fine ship, we appreciated the staff, the consideration, the BMW that transferred us, the fact that when we spent the day away for a friends wedding the hotel staff actually called the taxi drivers mobile phone to check that we had been picked up on time which was very reassuring especially when we were met by waiting staff at the entrance even though it was 1am, for checking us in at the room rather than reception and for making us feel so at home and welcome from the very first to the very last minute.

Truly Magnifique

If I could change some things it would be the website as it does not do the hotel justice. The information on the website and other sites as guests have far far more provided for them than what is advertised. The photos of the rooms and suites as they give an impression of being merely a suitable size were as in reality they are very large it is just that the beds are HUGE.

The weather wasn't great for most days but still better than most of Europe at the time, Mauritius is ok and very similar to the Carribean but without the hassle or safety issues, the truth is that whilst happy to have visited the island we would have been unlikely to return if it wasnt for the So Sofitel, as it is we can't wait to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunoso, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur

It was indeed a pleasure to host you at the Sofitel So Mauritius and there is no better reward for us than to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our property and that you were well taken care of by our team.

We are delighted to note that our level of service has met with your satisfaction and would like to thank you for your positive comments on the staff, particularly O’Bryan, Reaz and Irshaad. You may rest assured that these have been shared with all the staff and surely act as a great source of motivation to achieve higher standards in the future.

With regards to the hotel information on the website, we are pleased to advise you that we are presently working on a new website which will become operational early next year.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel So Mauritius on your next scheduled visit to the island.

Warmest regards,

Jean Pierre Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

we had our honeymoon in this hotel from 25/09/11 till 10/10/11 and it was an amazing experience.
the image off this hotel is really the friendly staff (kanah,chystell,vannessa,the barmanager,, and so many names i forgot... and his wonderfull food and every wine fits perfect with the food thanks to a great sommelier. the suites are very luxary but the presidential villa was amazing, the manager stephane offerd us a diner in the villa and it was really to take your breath away.
it was really a dream that come true.thank you to all the staf and sorry for the names i forgot for this best vacation ever, love you all and i will come back again.
Renzo and Robbie

Room Tip: suites are very luxary ,, clean and a beautifull vieuw. beachvillas are for taking your breath away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunoso, Resident Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Sirs,

It was indeed a pleasure to host you on your honeymoon trip at the Sofitel So Mauritius and there is no better reward for us than to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our property and that you were well taken care of by our team.

We are pleased to note that our level of service has met with your satisfaction. We would also like to thank you for your good comments on the staff, particularly Cathan, Christel, Vanessa, Shane, Nilesh and Stephan.

You may rest assured that these have been shared with the staff and no doubt will act as a motivation to perform better.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel So Mauritius on your next scheduled visit.

Warmest regards,

Bruno Sagné
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel may just be the best one that I've ever experienced. It all starts with a perfect location and lots of magic in the architectural design. But it is really the management and hotel staff that excel beyond imagination. From arrival until the time we said goodbye the staff consistently performed at a very high level. There are many "surprises" that impress and lift your spirits but we will keep these a secret for obvious reasons...

Our Butler, O'Bryan was the absolute best, so suited to this role. O'Bryan loves a challenge and is innovative and intuitive. In particular he arranged a day trip of the south of the island at short notice - this is a "must do".

Florenda does a wonderful job in welcoming you to the resort and her nature is very calming and helps you to relax.

Francesca is often there to welcome you to the restaurant and Suzelle's friendly smile and demeanor is great too.

The head chef is freely available to discuss her culinary strategies and inspiration for the lovely food.

Overall the whole team perform consistently at a very high level - an absolute credit to Manager of the Hotel.

Thanks heaps team for a wonderful heavenly experience beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunoso, Resident Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Bonjour Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you for choosing our property during your stay to the island and for taking the time to place your comment.

It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Sofitel So Mauritius, and there is no better reward for us than to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well taken care of by our team.

We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back when you are next scheduled to visit Mauritius.

Warmest regards,

Bruno Sagné
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Words can’t describe the way the hotel staff makes you feel during and even after your stay in Sofitel So Mauritius.

We visited the hotel 14 to 26th of September. Since it was still winter-time, the hotel was only 20-30% full. In the first week we did have a few very cloudy and rainy days. You should also take into account that in this time of year it got rather cold in the evenings and was sometimes very windy. The last days the weather improved a lot.

The hotel is located in the very nice, green south of the island. It is a very quiet region and for us the most beautiful of the island also since it is not as full with tourists as for example grand baie. We even went by bicycle to a very nice village nearby.
And also some very nice activities are not very far away for example quad driving near the chateau de Bel Ombre and Catamaran trip in the west, we also took a tour of the south with very nice views and especially the big turtles in la vanille reserve.

We were in the hotel on half-board and had dinner in the Flamboyant restaurant every evening. The other restaurant near the beach wasn’t open in the evening due to strong winds (and probably because of the few guests).
Every evening in the restaurant was a discovery. After we had almost all dishes from the a la carte, they really tried to do something different for us like for example local dishes, fruit plates for desert, …

The hotel also has a suburb sommelier Nilesh that compiled a very nice wine list and gave good advice on wines that matched our dishes! The last evening he even arranged for a wine tasting dinner with 3 wines to taste with our palm-heart salad. We will never forget that evening!
Only remark, the prices of the wine are expensive.

The other staff in the restaurant is also very friendly and genuine. We really like to thank them all especially, Vanessa, Anne-Lise, Ashlen, Cathan, Nilesh and also bartender Ben.

Every suite has its own butler who makes all arrangements for you. Our butler Kanen really did a good job! He arranged all our trips! One day we went quad driving and he filled our outside bath tub with hot water, foam and flowers just before we got back! Very romantic! He also provided us with fresh fruit every day and took care of our dirty clothes and shoes after the quad trip.

The suites are also very luxurious and very well cleaned and tidied every day!
Other nice details:
- you don’t have to check in/out at the reception, they come to your room
- golf carts pick you up at your room if you go out or bring you back from the restaurant if it rains.
- The private garden of every suite has sun-beds (within the service area of the wifi)
- the TV entertainment offers a wide variety of music that you can listen in the shower!
- Watersports are included

We have never been to a hotel with this kind of nice service from the hotel staff. They really do everything they can to make you feel special, and they succeed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loano, Liguria, Italy
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Paradisiac eco-chic experience. The resort is located in the most uncontaminated area of island. Indoor design meets outdoor design. Evething let you know you are in the Eden Garden.
People there is really kind, but sometimes your privacy could be compromised.
Food has high quality standard, but the chef has a sinister smile.
Thanks a lot to Cathan, the best one of Sofitel Staff

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunoso, Resident Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Papadia,

Thank you for your warm comments, we are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel So Mauritius.

Please rest assured that your appreciative note on the service extended by Cathan has been shared with all the staff.

The whole team and I looks forward to the possibility of welcoming you both, back at the So Mauritius.

Warmest regards,

Bruno Sagné
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011 via mobile

This place is a little piece of paradise. The setting is fantastic, relaxed and yet opulent. The rooms are very well appointed, welcoming and brilliantly arranged. The staff are sensational, attentive well trained and take pride in their performance. Special mention to Ravi, Jean-Marie, Cathan and Vanessa.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone looking for some time out in a fabulous setting.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Address: Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hrs personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel So Mauritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.