We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri La in Kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewa Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laikipia District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lewa Safari Camp
Save
You added Lewa Safari Camp to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Lewa Wildlife Conservancy | Wilderness Trails, Lewa Downs, 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Shangri La in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a joyful relief from the hustle and bustle of travel. The whole world stopped spinning and just the sounds of the wind in the grass and the birds were heard when I landed at the airstrip at Lewa. It was the best place to get off the world for a few days. Lewa Safari Camp is an oasis in the savanna. The bandas are generous, the bathroom is nicely but not lavishly appointed. There is a veranda that looks out onto the whole valley below. Bandas are roofed in thatch so you really get the African feel. Accomodations are cozy and separated enough for real privacy. Food was delicious and home made breads and pastries daily were special treats. Best of all were the game drives, my guide, Tom, was a terrific spotter and wildlife expert. We saw 27 black and white rhino, herds of Elan, elephants, zebras including gravy , reticulate giraffes, more heards of antelopes and even a pair of stripped hyenas. Very rare these days! Best were the honeymooning lions. What a couple! Tom was very knowledgable about animal behavior and habitat and great company on our solo drives. I spent 3 nights and 4 days soaking up the wildlife and the atmosphere of the place. A great choice.

Room Tip: Banda 11 was very private and quiet but if you want to use the pool it is a little distant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheliPeacockKenya, Public Relations Manager at Lewa Safari Camp, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We're so glad you had such an enjoyable and rewarding stay. Lewa is a great place to see a huge variety of wildlife and some more unusual mammals. Our team strives to ensure each and every guest gets the most from their stay so it's great to receive such positive feedback. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
40
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff and management were exceedingly helpful and gracious. I have to start with that, because it made all the difference on my recent two-night stay with my 6 year old daughter. We needed later game drives, earlier mealtimes, and everyone from the driver, Daniel, to the kitchen and wait staff, to the manager, Lucy, effortlessly accommodated our needs and we had a wonderful time.

The diversity and abundance of wildlife impressed me. We saw a lot of wildlife and much of it quite close. I live in Tanzania where it can often be quite difficult to get close to the animals so being in Lewa was a real treat in that regard. We sat and watched a large herd of elephants frolic in the watering hole and we got very close to a white rhino. Later we watched a mother cheetah and her three, month-old cubs rough and tumble. No need for binoculars! Herds of oryx, eland and zebra were abundant and a mama reticulated giraffe and her small calf watched us one morning while we picnicked on breakfast. All of this and very few other vehicles; it was like we had the whole wilderness to ourselves.

The tents are nicely appointed with excellent attention to the small details that make a difference, like natural, bio-degradable soap, shampoo and shower gel, and endless hot hot water showers, hot water bottles in the bed at night (my daughter loved this feature), soft towels and well-thought-out lighting.

The main building is a great blend of rustic and cozy (at 6,000+ feet elevation, it is chilly at night). The meals were fresh, healthy and delicious and the house red was pretty darned good too (no headache!). Again I was struck by the attention to detail - things like blankets provided in case anyone gets caught too lightly dressed as the cool of night descends, unobtrusive lighting, lots of drinking water and no plastic water bottles!

At breakfast we enjoyed watching the bounty of birdlife just off the veranda. In the heat of the day it was refreshing to cool off in the swimming pool. For us, it was a great wilderness adventure, with some nice creature-comforts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here over New Year. Our second visit to Lewa but we stayed at Wilderness Trails 10 years ago. We much preferred Lewa Safari Camp largely because its under canvas which we prefer. The conservancy is just stunning, you'll see a wide range of game in beautiful settings. We went to Lewa HQ and met John the Head of Community Development and he told us about the work Lewa do with communities not just wildlife. We wanted to bottle John up and bring him home as his style was what is missing from so many businesses in the UK. John very simply knew how to get people on board and take them with you to achieve goals.

The camp, tents, staff, food, setting is all wonderful. Marcus and Vanessa are totally charming and work really hard to make your stay great and ours was. Food in camp was gorgeous, lunch on the verandah with choices of hot food and salad. Evening meals as private dining but very nice pre dinner mingling opportunities around a nice bar. We asked if we could thank the chef and Vanessa told us to go into the kitchen any time we wanted. What confidence eh! We did exactly that. Our only disappointment with food was the bush picnic which was poor in comparison to all others we've known but we've passed on our comments and we're sure Vanessa and Marcus will react as that's the kind of people they are.

Tents are beautifully equipped and ours easily took 3 single beds. We got the impression that some tents had better views and although our view wasn't spectacular it was still fine. Communal areas are all stunning.

Our guide was Alex who was extremely knowledgeable but he wasn't quite as outgoing as most we have known. That's just our preference though. We did the Masai village trip and it was superb. We've done 3 now and this was by far the best. Others have been quite commercial but this was superb, great fun and informative and made all the more special as the camp receptionist Douglas joined us. What great company!

We loved Lewa Safari Camp and its a real credit to the conservancy and to its managers. We really do believe we'll return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our first permanent tented camp experience ever and it was wonderful. We were in #6, I'm pretty sure and we looked out over the world. Lewa's tents are all spacious and spaciously spread out away from each other so there is lots of privacy. Lovely crushed granite walkways meander from the main house and dining areas to the tents. You are escorted at night to your tents because it doesn't seem fenced for sure. This was a gorgeous property with nice landscaping and a pretty water feature near the main house along with a beautiful pool which the many birds took advantage of. This is a huge area for gorgeous birds, many weaver birds here as well as the "go away" bird and the strikingly red and blue agama lizard. This is where we discovered that we were birders, but really only in Africa - the birding is spectacular here. Getting back to Lewa, our hosts, James and Abby were delightful. Abby too is a birder and can tell you what is what! Of course, our A & K tour guide, James, was so knowledgable about the birds, animals, culture of Kenya.
Each morning your wake up call was very personal - your hot chocolate, tea or coffee came to you in the form of a very happy Lewa staff member's face waking you up at 530am to go on a game drive. You could sit out on your covered deck or enjoy your coffee in your bed but you'd better hurry because the game drives were amazing. What a perfect way to start the day!
The meals were all beautifully served and were tasty. Lunch and breakfast were buffets by the pool and dinner was served in the main dining room.
Like all of the tented camps, in Kenya and Tanzania, hot water and electricity arrived at specific and certain times of the day, so you had to plan when to shower, when to use the hair dryer and when to recharge those camera batteries with camera batteries taking the top position. Can't wait to go back - this trip was so incredible.

Room Tip: I liked #6 but didn't see the placement of the others. They are all nicely spread apart from ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whispering Pines, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at Lewa Safari Camp during Thanksgiving 2012 for three nights. It was our first safari experience and it did not disappoint, that's for sure.

The tent was huge and we had plenty of hot water for three people (even a teenager!) The food was fantastic and the interim managers, James and Abbey, were gracious. Our driver, Francis, was knowledgeable and a great driver - I was amazed at how we got up some of those hills!

We took an excursion to a nearby Massai village and it was definitely a highlight for us. We also visited the school, but the timing wasn't good so we didn't spend but 10 minutes there.

During the game drives, we saw everything - from hippos to lions to herds of elephants - it was fantastic! Everyone had a great time and we would definitely recommend Lewa Safari Camp.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The units were spacious and well equipped but didn't have the views some others I have stayed in have. In spite of that, they were great. The manager, Kate, was very welcoming and a pleasure to have around. It was communal dining, which we enjoyed, with very good food. This lodge had a very comfortable, warm feeling. Our guide, Mwangi, was just fabulous. Not only did we see an amazing nuber of animals but we enjoyed learning about his family. Enough can't be said about this lodge and I would return in a minute.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I visited Lewa Conservancy from July 6 to the 10th, staying at Lewa Safari Camp. This was our first ever safari. The entire experience was outstanding from the morning and evening game drives with our "silver" certified driver, Tom, to the extremely warm hospitality of our host, Stephano. The tented room was very comfortable being supported on a wood platform floor and having hot water from our en suite bathroom, as well as electricity available 24 hours a day. The meals were excellent and they took special care to cater to our dietary restrictions. We routinely extended our morning game drives to enjoy a picnic breakfast. Everyday brought a new nature experience. There is nothing negative we can say about this safari. We would love to return. Jane & Nicolai

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lewa Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewa Safari Camp

Address: Lewa Wildlife Conservancy | Wilderness Trails, Lewa Downs, 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Laikipia District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lewa Safari Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lewa Safari Camp has a stunning location within Lewa Wildlife Conservancy, with outstanding game viewing, and views of Mt. Kenya as well as Kenya's picturesque arid lowlands. Each tent has a thatched roof, private verandah and ensuite bathroom. The central areas have exquisite gardens with a sunny verandah and swimming pool to enjoy during the day, and cosy log fires in the lounge and dining room for more chilly evenings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lewa Safari Camp Hotel Laikipia District
Lewa Safari Camp Kenya/Laikipia District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewa Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.