We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Laikipia Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laikipia District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
Save
You added Kicheche Laikipia Camp to your Saves list
Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
mombasa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Small camp , only 6 tented camps, the atmosphere is relaxed and homely , staff are very helpful and friendly. The camp has been done up beautifully. What I really liked in this package was the all inclusive drinks and game drives that come along with it. Also inclusive was the visit to the chimp sanctuary, rhino sanctuary and other activities.
The food is fresh and good quality, and special dietary needs are taken care of too . Please don't hesitate to visit!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
94
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Kicheche Laikipia for three nights in August at the start of a longer safari holiday, and it was absolutely fantastic. Andy and Sonya, the managers, are extremely friendly and knowledgable - and the food is incredible. All of the staff are very friendly, and the tents are gorgeous.

The safari itself was also fantastic - our guide, Andrew, was extremely knowledgable and found us some fantastic spots - two cheatahs hunting, a frenzy of vultures on a kill and the pack of wild dogs hunting were particular highlights. The bush breakfasts and sundowners were also excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food leaves the most lasting impression after the hospitality. The cuisine is diverse and you the camp ensures that the specific food restrictions of guests are fulfilled to perfection. The camp itself provides the rustic ambiance of a Kenyan safari. The tents are well equipped with showers and wireless gadgets for safety and there's staff at hand to ensure proper guard at night. The tents are a little spread out which sometimes can cause some initial jitters on the first night of stay. But after that it is a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our first safari experience in June. It was still wetter than normal but this did not stop us having a truly memorable time. It has all been said before but worth repeating that Andy and Sonja are perfect effortless hosts. Accommodation and food are fantastic and we were were fortunate to have Andrew Obama as our guide...a legend in his own right! If you have never been on safari before this is the way to do it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for the first time last week. Outstripped our expectations. Tented accommodation was excellent. The game drives were wonderful. Saw all the Big 5 thanks to Peter our driver. Our hosts Andy and Sonya were fantastic and made us feel at home from the start of our 3 night stay. The food was amazing considering it was prepared out in the bush but Sonya kept a close eye on the 5 chefs working in the kitchen with the result that we were all keenly anticipating our next meal whether it was served outside by the water with views of the animals or inside in the evening after a drink around the campfire discussing our day with the other guests. Fabulous experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent 6 days in the mara region before heading here and to be honest, were getting a little “burned out of the bush”. We were a little skeptical- we had already seen so many great things in the mara and stayed at such nice camps. Would Kicheche Laikipia wow us? Let me say, that Kicheche Laikipia exceeded all expectations. First let’s start with the camp itself. It consists of 6 tents, one large dining/lounging tent, a public bathroom tent and a small “store” tent. Our tent (use the word “tent” but it really does not do our sleeping quarters justice) was spacious and well laid out. Two sinks in the bathroom and running hot water! (No bucket showers here). The tent lodging at Kicheche Laikipia definitely takes “glamping” to the extreme. There were even fresh flowers in the tent. There were also fresh flowers in the main tents - for example, the dinner table would be sprinkled with petals in some type of pattern. Extra touches like this were throughout the camp! No detail is overlooked! I am vegetarian and my husband is vegan. Every attempt was made to make sure our dietary requests were honored. All our meals/snacks were excellent and we were presented with a wide variety of things to eat. Regarding our game drives- outstanding! We saw everything plus more. In terms of big cats- we saw lots of cheetah. I would not recommend staying in this region if you want to see leopards or large prides of lion. Our driver/guide was extremely knowledgeable and had great instincts. What I really liked about him was that he’d move the vehicle if the lighting for photography was not right. Because of the camp’s agreement with conservancy, most of the time we were the only vehicle around when looking at the animals. I really liked how there were two sanctuaries in conservancy- after our game drives, it was nice to take a break and visit the chimps or the rare northern white rhinos. Unlike the camps we stayed at in South Africa, Kicheche camps are really geared towards you. There is a max of 4 passengers in each vehicle and you dictate the length of your game drive and what time you depart/return to camp! To summarize, Kicheche Laikipia- WOW. I can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Kicheche Laikipia Camp is located on a private conservancy west of Mount Kenya; it is peaceful, lacks the crowds of many other parks, and contains all of the Big 5. If you want rhinos, I do not believe that there could be anywhere better in Africa. We saw white and black rhinos both at close quarters in a protected area and also in the wild. Also elephants, lions, buffalo, cheetahs, hyenas, etc. and although we did not see the leopards, others in our camp did. Night drives are also available at this camp, although sadly ours were thwarted by heavy rain which made the roads too slippery even for the land cruisers.

Now for the camp. There are just six guest tents and a couple of mess tents. Andy and Sonia, who set up and run this camp are simply the best hosts you could imagine. They run a tight ship, and the team that work with them are all simply amazing. From the moment you arrive you know that they are there to provide you with the best experience possible and they deliver. I really cannot imagine how a safari camp could be any better.

Our guide, James, was simply excellent. Understated, knowledgeable, and not one to follow the crowd, he delivered a true safari where we travelled and discovered animals for ourselves. The guides stay with you for the duration of your stay, and each family group has its own vehicle and guide. James, thank you!

The catering in the camp is quite extraordinary. You will eat superb food, prepared to extremely high standards. Breakfast is served picnic-style on your game drive. Lunch back at the camp by the lake, and dinner in the atmospheric mess tent in front of a roaring log fire. I cannot speak highly enough for everyone involved in preparing and serving the food - it really is special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kicheche Laikipia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Laikipia Camp

Address: Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Laikipia District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kicheche Laikipia is a small luxurious tented camp, nestled in the shadows of Mount Kenya and the Aberdares overlooking a waterhole, in the heart of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy at 1900m, hosted by the inimitable Andy and Sonja Webb. The six sumptuous tents are en-suite with comfortable chairs on each verandah, overlooking the waterhole. There is a spacious lounge and dining tent with two large open fires. This is a beautiful hideaway offering many wilderness activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Laikipia Camp Hotel Laikipia District
Kicheche Laikipia Camp Kenya/Laikipia District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kicheche Laikipia Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.