We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Laikipia Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laikipia District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
Save
You added Kicheche Laikipia Camp to your Saves list
Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Combine remote location (but near civilisation), really nice staff, lovely meals, very comfortable spacious tents, expert game drives, and return to the care of Andy & Sonya - really good. Great two day visit. Frances & Mike

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
94
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the small camp, personal experience and a good cause that helps preserve the wildlife. With it comes the benefits of that type of visit. Andrew Odhimbo is a true wealth of knowledge about both the animals, place and history of Kenya. He was a pleasure to have by my side during my stay at their camp. The food and drinks were also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I visited Kenya in September 2012 for the first time with a friend, and our first camp was Kicheche Laikipia. It was an amazing, magical experience. Andy was an excellent host (sadly his wife Sonja was ill with the flu and didn't visit during our stay) who made us feel like part of the family and so comfortable. The kitchen staff, especially Jembo and Wiliam, were fantastic. They took a genuine interest in our daily game drives and their service was impeccable. We stayed at KL for 3 nights and enjoyed every second of it.

The tents were extremely luxurious and the food put most 5 star restaurants here in the States to shame it was so delicious. They catered to every need and all the staff went out of their way to make this trip memorable for us.

Our guide was Mohammed. He was fantastic and I would highly, highly recommend him. He was a vast wealth of knowledge of the area, all the animals and the birds. He made each game drive magical and spectacular and worked very hard to make sure we got to see all the animals we wanted. The highlight was spending an afternoon with a mother cheetah and her five cubs!

KL was a fabulous experience, and I cannot wait to come back and stay here again. I don't have a single complaint and nothing but praise for this great place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

There is a reason that this camp receives consistently rave reviews. It is because they have earned it. From the moment of your arrival to the minute you depart, the staff focuses on your comfort, safety, and satisfaction. The food is sensational and the tents are flawless. Of course, in the end, most people will want to experience the animals in their natural habitat. You will not be disappointed in this area of your safari. We saw multiple elephants, zebra, lions, cheetah and others. The guides are experts in finding and getting terrific camera angles for the various animals. We even tracked a lioness and a lion as they mated. This was, let's just say, interesting. Bravo to the staff of Kicheche Laikipia Camp-awesome experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited in June 2012 and had a fantastic time. It was our second stop off in Kenya and we were expecting a lot from what we had heard before hand - and the camp more than lived up to the hype !

The "tents" are great and more like little canvas bungalows, the camp has a wire fence around it and open access down to the water hole in front of camp

The host we're very friendly and welcoming, the food was great and nothing was too much trouble - Sonja is a star!

The Ol Pejeta Conservancy is quite different to areas like the Maasai Mara as its an enclosed reserve with cattle - but don't be mislead into thinking its a big farm, far from it, and the long horned cattle add extra interest in the few areas where they are kept

In addition to the game drives we did the following, all of which we'd highly recommend
- lion tracking with Andy
- a visit to the chimpanzee rescue centre
- a visit to see the last three northern white rhino's in there breeding centre

We'll be going back again in a few years to see how the rhino's and chimps (and Sonja) are doing

Room Tip: They're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Andy and Sonja gave us the most brilliant start to our honeymoon we could ever have hoped for. They made us feel so at home in their beautiful tented camp by the side of a lake. The tents manage to get the balance between being comfortable and making you feel "in the wild" just right. There were so many things we loved doing - seeing elephants swimming down by the lake as we ate lunch under the trees outside, canoeing in the lake, seeing lions mating, cheetahs hunting, or learning about the smaller, lesser-discussed wildlife from Andy who is a fascinating story-teller and has a seemingly infinite knowledge about the bush. You really get the sense that everyone in this camp from Andy and Sonja to the charming staff genuinely want you to have a good time. They will go out of their way to ensure you are enjoying yourself. Each day, the table for lunch spot changes slightly for the sake of variety and best positioning in the sun. We were lucky to have dinner in our tent twice, so we could have some privacy. The food was incredible - a mixture of African and Western - which is overseen by Sonja. I could not recommend this any higher.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is the best tented camp I have been in to date, great welcome, from staff and management, Andy ensured every need was catered for and the game viewing was fantastic. This camp is small enough to provide very a specialised attention to detail for their quests.

We were even given the privilege of having lunch with a herd of elephants that wondered into camp, much to the distress of our host Sonya.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kicheche Laikipia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Laikipia Camp

Address: Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Laikipia District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kicheche Laikipia is a small luxurious tented camp, nestled in the shadows of Mount Kenya and the Aberdares overlooking a waterhole, in the heart of the Ol Pejeta Conservancy at 1900m, hosted by the inimitable Andy and Sonja Webb. The six sumptuous tents are en-suite with comfortable chairs on each verandah, overlooking the waterhole. There is a spacious lounge and dining tent with two large open fires. This is a beautiful hideaway offering many wilderness activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Laikipia Camp Hotel Laikipia District
Kicheche Laikipia Camp Kenya/Laikipia District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kicheche Laikipia Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.