We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Impressive safari camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porini Rhino Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porini Rhino Camp
Save
You added Porini Rhino Camp to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   | Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Wow! Impressive safari camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

With just 6 very comfortable tents, which have wonderful views in front of a water hole this is the place to be. The Porini camps are all setup in a way that is more in harmony with its environment, both nature and its people, which was one of the reasons we choose it. We were met by a very warm and humorous and professional camp manager David and a friendly happy staff that took real good care of us. We were guided by Daniel which was very good. He obviously loves what he does. The food in this camp was a delight. This conservancy has an important function in keeping the Rhino alive for the future. We have had close encounters with a beautiful lion pride, a large pride of wild dogs, and many other animals. We specifically enjoyed having bush breakfast or sundowners with stunning views of the plains. We have become Porini fans and look forward to spend more time in the future.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
57
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Forest of Dean
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our second stay at Rhino camp and we had a wonderful time with everything we would expect from a stay in a Porini Camp - please see my other reviews - from fantastic food through superb comfort to perfect customer service.

The wildlife was pretty wonderful as well!!! Black Rhino, White Rhino, Wild Dogs, Leopard and so much more.

Thanks to David, Michael, Benjamin and every single member of staff for being there and for being what any traveller would want or need even when things take a turn for the worse as the rains in the far off mountains reached the camp during the night..........................

Thankfully nobody was hurt and no personal possessions lost or damaged as flood water swept through camp - Never have waters this high been recorded before. The camp will be as good as new very soon and even though this was likely a one off event the tents are being moved to higher ground. We had to stay elsewhere for one night but were really pleased to return for our last night and felt totally safe in every way..

We really feel that we are part of the Porini Family and so look forward to returning as soon as we can.

Matt and Ali

Room Tip: They are all perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma CIty, OK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Rhino camp was our third Porini camp during our Safari this past October '13 As in all the camps, the camp manager, David, met us upon arriving. He had a smile that made you start the day well and end the day well. The camp is hidden nicely in a ravine along a small river. Across the river was a large watering hole where throughout the day you would see any number of wildlife. At night you would hear the hippo's. Our tent faced towards the watering hole and it was always a surprise to see what our first wildlife viewing would be in the morning.
Our driver Michael and spotter Emanuel were wonderful. They had more energy and was always willing to stay out longer or go back out as soon as we were ready. There was never a time schedule of when we had to be back or when the meals would be served. I loved the vehicles that the Porini camps use. The majority of them are open sided vehicles with stadium seating so everyone has an outside full view. I will admit, at night on our sundowners and night drives it did get cold but having this type of vehicle during the daytime was much better than the vehicles the I saw from the rest of the camps in this Conservancy.
The wildlife was abundant. One night we were surrounded by a pride of 12 lions just at sunset.
The staff at Rhino camp just as at the other Porini camps are outstanding. Even though you might only be staying in camp a couple of nights, they learn your names immediately. The food was prepared to perfection. I am diabetic and Gluten intolerant and they understood my special diet needs and scored high in their delivery. Congrats to David for overseeing this excellent camp.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had an amazing experience at Ol Pejeta. We had an incredible time and would thoroughly recommend this holiday. Our teenage children really loved it too. David the camp manager was a great host and he and all of the staff went out of their way to ensure that we were really well looked after. After we left we discovered that we had left something behind; David not only it found it be but arranged for it to be delivered to us a few days later when we got back to Nairobi. What a service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

What was best - hard to say as so much crammed into 3 days. Wild dogs a highlight and so very special to see the large litter. The rhinos were also so special - we saw them both in the wild and in the marvellous conservation centre trying to save the Northern Whites. Fantastic work which deserves every success. But so much more - lions calling, mating and with cubs; to say nothing of watching two lionesses stalking a warthog, giving chase and actually killing their prey. something we were very privileged to experience. We were the only vehicle watching and this feeling of a real wild experience was unique throughout the trip. Two sightings of a mother cheetah with two young cubs (still with the silky baby fur) was another highlight. Elephants, giraffes, large numbers of buffalo and both types of zebra and the hybrid between them plus large numbers of antelope of different species meant that the grazers were also a highlight.
Fantastic guide and driver meant that we really did not miss any game and the drives themselves were like being on the East Africa Rally - an experience in itself.
It was so good to see that the conservancy is run with and by the Maasai with cattle grazing (including the indigenous Ankole Cattle) running alongside wild game.
Everyone associated with the trip was so friendly and courteous. The camp manager. David. went out of his way to make everything perfect and the experience of the safari tents and the welcome sundowners at the end of the day added yet another wonderful touch. A truly great experience

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We came from the dry Amboseli to the wet Ol Pejeta conservancy to Porini Rhino, and what a different and equally amazing experience! The animal we wanted to see most on this safari trip was wild dogs, which would be a stretch on any safari. We had heard of puppies, but we had also heard that they had left the den a mere 3 days prior to our arrival. Our driver Jonathan and guide Benjamin were as excited as we were when we pulled up on the 17 puppies (from one female, wow!) and 9 adults. They told us the dogs must have heard we wanted to see them and came back! We were lucky to see them three times on our trip. That would have been enough, but we continued to see so much more: black rhino, white rhino (including the rare northern white-only 7 sadly left in the world with 4 of them in the conservancy), lions, cheetah with tiny baby cubs, elephants, buffalo, etc. Truly unbelievable. The camp was great, David was the most gracious host and the food was excellent. We were grateful for the Maasai escort to our tent when we encountered a lone Cape buffalo outside our tent one night! There were also lions mating outside David, the managers tent! Driving through the conservancy was almost as fun as seeing the game, since we always managed to go forward without "actually" facing forward due to sliding through the mud. As another guest said, Jonathan drives like a crab walks. All in all, I could not imagine anything better than our visit. Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

After a gruelling 4 week trip of writing assignments I took the very last night out from official duties and opted to return to the Porini Rhino Camp. I remembered its remote location on the Ol Pejeta Conservancy and the fact that not only was there no internet connectivity but also hardly a phone signal. THAT was the most special feature for me, besides the absolutely superb hospitality of Camp Manager David Githaiga and his team. Good home cooking with those crisp hot buns from the charcoal oven, fresh home baked bread toasted to a perfect golden sheen, steaming hot African tea ever available from a flask and as is customs at Porini, all drinks, i.e. local beers, red and white house wine and local spirits included, not that I took great advantage of that being the tea addict I am.
The tents are VERY spacious as are the adjoining bathrooms, lit by a solar powered 'grid' but without sockets, again taking the temptation away to plug in and work ... this was to be a special day and night, taking a rare day off and it brought me naps and sleep at night, only interrupted by the periodic noise of a nearby randy male lion on the mating game ... The Porini Rhino Camp, one of four main camps Gamewatchers / Porini operate (of late they also have two seasonal 'Adventure Camps') is really giving that great safari experience of old, with the comforts - some of them at least - of modern days, but it is the combination of several factors which makes the difference, simplicity (yet with great style and taste), the luxury of remoteness, the personal hospitality and the good food, a safari experience second to none in this part of Kenya and the ability to totally adjust to a client's time frame, personal preferences and interests in birds, game or reptiles, flowers, insects or trees - the guides know their stuff and will not disappoint (and gave even me an eye opener or two). Porini Rhino was the icing on the cake of this trip, which was one of many highlights and superb hospitality experiences and I can only recommend this camp to be part of any safari itinerary when coming to Kenya.

Room Tip: Any of the 6 super sized tents will do ... though honeymooners are given normally the one most remot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porini Rhino Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Rhino Camp

Address: | Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Nanyuki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porini Rhino Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Rhino Camp is located in the exclusive 90,000 acre Ol Pejeta Conservancy in Laikipia Kenya. The camp consists of six spacious guest tents, comfortably furnished with en suite bathrooms. The camp is environmentally-friendly with solar powered lighting and no generator. Game drives in open - 4x4s with qualified guides, bush walks, sundowners and night game drives are all included. All the Big Five have been seen on game drives from the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porini Rhino Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Porini Rhino Camp Kenya/Nanyuki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porini Rhino Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.