We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetwaters never disappoints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Save Saved
You added Sweetwaters Serena Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Central Kenya near Nanyuki, Nanyuki, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sweetwaters never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've stayed at Sweetwaters many times and always loved the place. This trip was no exception. I didn't think they could get better but the new lodges and dining/bar area are superb. Service was excellent and food really very good. Add in the amazing wildlife at the watering hole and you really couldn't get a better safari experience.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    105
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
96
91
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Sweetwaters Tented Camp was a wondrous place and we enjoyed every monet of our stay there. The wildlife roaming around the conservancy made each moment very special - we would walk to the lounge or restaurant and always be met by grazing animals, elephants and even rhinos! It was truly magical. The Sweetwaters tented camp is on a conservancy where wildlife is protected and still able to live freely in vast territory. We were lucky to see many animals there and even to feed a rhino by hand! We also visited the chimpanzee sanctuary which was truly wonderful - despite the electric fence. We highly recommend these accommodations and salute the good work of all those in Kenya who are working to preserve and restore the wildlife in Kenya.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 1 night in one of the new tents which was very comfortable.
The food was probably the best selection & quality of all the safari accomodations we visited.
Reception was friendly, efficient & most helpful.
Somebody else mentioned the gift shop. We found the prices more than competitive.
I was not very impressed by the chimp conservatory but accept that it has a function. The rino conservatory provided us with a good guide who was a wealth of information. Our grand daughters loved hand feeding the enormous rino.
Overall the safari here was not in the same class as Samburo or Masi Mara but we enjoyed the overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in one of the luxury tents recently added at Sweetwaters for two nights. It was spacious and very comfortable. Very. Hot shower with great pressure. Good wifi.
The private deck made for very relaxing wildlife viewing in the evening - what a great place for a sundowner! Rhinos, eles, giraffes and many others right in front of our tent. Meals in the dining hall were enjoyable and the buffet had plenty of vegetarian options. The chef walked us through the first night to show us which items contained dairy and prepared a special boxed lunch for us both days. Table service was great, as usual for a Serena property.

Room Tip: Opt for one of the new luxury tents that they have offered to make your stay even more comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Service and the food was okay. The location was really nice, and there were quite a few conservatories there. The one for Chimpanzees and Rhinos were both good. Even though the temperature was not too cold, the staff did a lot of measures to help keep us warm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just about four hours drive out of Nairobi makes Ol Pejeta Sweetwaters Tented Camp a great Getaway destination out of Nairobi. We were able to relax and enjoy the tent camp life while on Safari at both Governors' Camp and Sweetwaters Tented Camp. The game drives out of Governors' Camp at the Masai Mara were superior to the game drives out of Sweetwaters but in both settings, we were able to see the Big Five and much much more. Accommodations at Sweetwaters were excellent. Food was outstanding and service was first rate. Sitting outside of the tents or in the lounge in front of a water hole watching the animals was very relaxing. Every afternoon and evening before dinner, we'd sit out watch and sip on an ice cold Tusker. Life couldn't be better. If this was your only exposure to a Kenyan Safari, you'd be happy. There's more to see but at Sweetwaters, you get to see a lot. We saw lions chasing a warthog, devouring a kill and baby sitting cubs. We saw elephants, rhinos, bucks, antelope, gazelles, and much more.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse,Yukon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is our third stay at Sweetwaters/Ole Pejeta. It was not a disappointment the previous two and with a front row tent overlooking a plethora of wildlife,it is not again. The food is more than adequate; the service has always been excellent; and the game drives are never a disappointment. The Chimp Sanctuary is close by; and there are many activities for those who want to stay close to the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweetwaters Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Address: Central Kenya near Nanyuki, Nanyuki, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Nanyuki
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty lodging in Nanyuki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweetwaters Serena Camp 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sheltered oasis, clustered around a waterhole and set in the pristine calm of its own private reserve, Sweetwaters Tented Camp is in a class of its own. Abounding with wildlife, unfettered by the more rigorous strictures of the Kenyan National Parks and designed to offer a charming blend of under canvas ambiance and uncompromising luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sweetwaters Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwaters Tented Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Sweetwaters Serena Camp Kenya/Nanyuki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwaters Serena Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.