We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As airport food goes...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barneys

Barneys
Nanyuki Airstrip, Nanyuki, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Nanyuki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Situated in one of the buildings next to the airstrip, but still open to non flying visitors.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“As airport food goes...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just set off the road, next to a small airstrip sits a very pleasant restaurant frequented mainly by expats and the locally based British soldiers.

Food is reasonably priced and of good quality and the wifi works.

A nice beak in a journey or escape from the norm. Definitely worth stopping for if you get the chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    34
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best shakes in Africa??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for refreshments on way to Nairobi. Asian chicken wings and quesadillas were fantastic. Milkshakes were to die for on such a hot afternoon. Top joint

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best Airport Food Ever?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Usually when you heard the term "airport food" it's not a good thing. But the airport in Nanyuki isn't a typical airport and Barney's is a far cry from the O'Hare Food Court. It's a tiny airport serving mostly single-engine planes catering to the safari crowd. You'll also likely share the place with some RAF helicopter pilots from the base nearby.
Don't expect local delicacies, but then again, in Kenya there isn't much in the way of indigenous cuisine. I had a hamburger and a cold Tusker and it was outstanding. Our group also had pizza, pasta and fish. Nothing terribly fancy, but all very well-liked. And enjoying it all on the lovely veranda is a nice bonus.
Whether your passing through on the way to Samburu or points north, or staying in Nanyuki, it's definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great trustworthy resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I recently left my wallet at Barney's while I was on safari in Kenya. The manager very promptly tried to call me and they also got in touch with my bank in London.

I did return a few days later and thanked the manager but just wanted everyone to know as well. They run an excellent establishment, good food, great Wi fi and amazing staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Not very convincing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Conveniently located along Nyeri Nayuki road with a perfect view of Nanyuki airport at that's it. I ordered fish fillet and fries. The food was OK but lacked creativity. Just plain. I think if they invest in chefs and waiters the place has potential

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barneys also viewed

Nanyuki, Rift Valley Province
Nanyuki, Rift Valley Province
 
Nanyuki, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Barneys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barneys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.