We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Airport Food Ever?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barneys

Barneys
Nanyuki Airstrip, Nanyuki, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Nanyuki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Situated in one of the buildings next to the airstrip, but still open to non flying visitors.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best Airport Food Ever?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Usually when you heard the term "airport food" it's not a good thing. But the airport in Nanyuki isn't a typical airport and Barney's is a far cry from the O'Hare Food Court. It's a tiny airport serving mostly single-engine planes catering to the safari crowd. You'll also likely share the place with some RAF helicopter pilots from the base nearby.
Don't expect local delicacies, but then again, in Kenya there isn't much in the way of indigenous cuisine. I had a hamburger and a cold Tusker and it was outstanding. Our group also had pizza, pasta and fish. Nothing terribly fancy, but all very well-liked. And enjoying it all on the lovely veranda is a nice bonus.
Whether your passing through on the way to Samburu or points north, or staying in Nanyuki, it's definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    34
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Outer London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great trustworthy resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I recently left my wallet at Barney's while I was on safari in Kenya. The manager very promptly tried to call me and they also got in touch with my bank in London.

I did return a few days later and thanked the manager but just wanted everyone to know as well. They run an excellent establishment, good food, great Wi fi and amazing staff

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Not very convincing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Conveniently located along Nyeri Nayuki road with a perfect view of Nanyuki airport at that's it. I ordered fish fillet and fries. The food was OK but lacked creativity. Just plain. I think if they invest in chefs and waiters the place has potential

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanyuki, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“For Breakfast or Lunch a great place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Situated next to Nanyuki airstrip, you can relax to a good breakfast or coffee before reaching Nanyuki town. The food and menu is really good but more expensive than the town. There is a shop adjacent but better buying from town or curio shops. For the more adventurous you can hire a helicopter just 50m from café for trips to Mt Kenya and other locations. The offices for the Laikipia Wildlife Forum is located in same compound.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Service, Location and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This an excellent stop on the way up north following a long drive from Nairobi. I had the burger, as did the kids, and the Milk Shakes are to die for. The kids especially liked the fact that there was a couple of British Army Officers eating (apparently training near-by). On chatting to the waitress I was told that they provide welcome custom (along with the local British ex-pat community). My kids ended up sitting in their Land Rover and tried on their kit.

The location and views are superb, I ended up birdwatching from my table. Along with the Trout Tree Restaurant (30 minutes south) this is a must see and must stop restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barneys also viewed

Nanyuki, Rift Valley Province
Nanyuki, Rift Valley Province
 
Nanyuki, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Barneys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barneys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.