We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 week of pleasure - a perfect stay, go try it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kongoni Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kongoni Camp
Save
You added Kongoni Camp to your Saves list
Meru Road | Nr Nanyuki, Nanyuki 10400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“1 week of pleasure - a perfect stay, go try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have to say that I was a bit skeptical about the town but once I got to the Kongoni, all was perfect. We were in a hut which was 'rustic' but perfect for what we needed, and a novelty; I have never been in a round detached hotel room before. Add to this the really good price (there are others that are way over the top and not as good in the area!) and you can't go wrong. The staff are very friendly, attentive and when you add this to the superb food, what more could you ask for! (we tried the safari club and were not as impressed as we were with the Kongoni food)

Slight niggles - 8 mins on the complimentary WiFi, 15 or 20 before it chucks you out (and you have to sign in again) might be nice and turn the shower on a little to get the heaters working, if you put on full it will not work. These are miniscule, only for information and should not put you off in the slightest. The other is the spa and by all accounts, the girl in there really knows her stuff - the top treatment is £17 - now that is service you can afford and enjoy.

The Kongoni is a perfect base, at a great price, to launch into the hinter land. Sleep here and travel to the safari. I really recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the huts, authentic and fun - you can also camp if you prefer. Totally safe as fully guarded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
1
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Kongoni has very well cooked food especially the breakfast. Very good service too. Rooms are simple but nice and not chilled as expected. The bar is stocked and well done with beautiful paintings. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Accommodation was quite cramped for a family and a bit pricey. The rooms were very close together and there was no outdoor seating area unless you went to the bar/restaurant. Otherwise food was reasonable and staff were friendly. Would not recommend for people with a young family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

if you are in nanyuki and you are looking for a nice place to stay then that place is kongoni camp. remember to try their t-borne stake!! the rooms are nice and simple and their break fast is so good. you will not regret your trip

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My friends and I stopped @ Kongoni Camp for dinner after a long day road trip from Nairobi. Great food, reasonable prices, friendly staff. I loved the lamb chops, couldn't have enough! Will definitely come again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullswater
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A great place for all whatever you fancy, food is great and prices reasonable. Edwin the owner is a great guy and has time for all his guests. The restaurant has amazing artwork to admire and some nice secluded tables for those quiet dinner dates. Its great for groups of friends, and thats us in picture! Thanks guys will see you again many times I'm sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongoni, Owner at Kongoni Camp, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks! we are all really happy to hear our guest enjoyed there stay at Kongoni Camp. We look forward to welcoming you again.
All the best wishes from all at Kongoni Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanyuki
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I recently went back to Kongoni for dinner, and found the food and service much improved!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kongoni Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kongoni Camp

Address: Meru Road | Nr Nanyuki, Nanyuki 10400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Nanyuki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Nanyuki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated northwest of Mt Kenya, Kongoni Camp is a piece of paradise set in a cedar cypress forest glade, with Mt Kenya as an iconic backdrop. With a good range of facilities on offer, Kongoni Camp offers quality accommodation in an informal atmosphere, a grill pizzeria menu, bar and coffee shop. Kongoni Camp is an ideal jump off spot for mountain enthusiasts, those who want to tour Laikipia or those looking for a weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kongoni Camp Kenya/Nanyuki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kongoni Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.