We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trout Tree

Trout Tree
Nanyuki, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Nanyuki
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Trout Tree is absolutely breathtakingly gorgeous. Its a huge tree house built on a fig tree overlooking the trout farming ponds. I found the food average, but maybe too bland for my Asian taste buds, and the service extremely slow. the kitchen is too small to cater for lunches on weekends.
The facilities are great otherwise.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    56
    17
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food and service went above and beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The location is great, a tree house restaurant over looking a trout farm. The grilled trout was superb.

What will make the visit truly memorable for me though was watching my wedding ring fall through the floor into the stream several metres below us, shortly followed by one of the serving ladies wading into the stream without hesitation and somehow finding and recovering it. Fantastic!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanyuki, Kenya
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Venue, Great Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

If you like trouts this is the place to come, and if you just want to eat your dinner a tree then it's doubly great. I'm not a huge fish fan and luckily there are vegy and steak options on the menu because it would be a shame not to eat here because I've never been any where like it, it truly is in a tree or group of inter-tangled trees! The menu has a large variety of choices to suit all tastes and everyone and a very enjoyable meal. Will def need to revisit just a shame it's only open during lunch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Leafy Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This restaurant is relatively easy to find,it's just off the naro moru - nanyuki road and your GPS should be handy in locating it. We made it in time for lunch, at around 3 pm,so we were properly ravenous, (Restaurant is open from 10am-4pm) and were well received by their attentive staff. We enjoyed our grilled trout and tandoori trout dishes with a few beverages to accompany the meal on a lovely spot within the tree restaurant overlooking the trout ponds and ducks waddling about not forgetting the extra company from the Columbus monkeys that swing within the tree looking for appetizer scones to snatch!This was definitely a lovely stop over for lunch,would recommend it to anyone looking to dine within that area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful lunch in a tree with gurgling water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you love trout, this restaurant is not to be missed. Other commendable features are that the dining platforms are built into a tree and the trout ponds gurgle below you. I would stop there again if I were on my way to Nanyuki but wouldn't make a special trip to Nanyuki to sample the menu.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trout Tree also viewed

Nanyuki, Rift Valley Province
 
Nanyuki, Rift Valley Province
Nanyuki, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Trout Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trout Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.