We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended! A+ service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pelican Lodge to your Saves list
Pelican Lodge
Lake Elmentaita, Lake Elementaita 00502 , Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommended! A+ service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place is highly recommended. Really enjoyed the decor. The staff was attentive and were quick to assist us every time we needed something. The food was superb and the rooms were very comfortable. Be sure to bring a tripod to take pictures of the stars at night.

Room Tip: Brings mosquito repellant. The hotel is next to a lake and there are mosquitoes. Fortunately, for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nakuru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited pelican lodge with friends for a weekend out,and got a chance to view attraction of the migratory and resident flamingos both the greater and lesser varieties the magnificent view of the lake,the staff were friendly and attended for our needs in a professional manner and very fast,the suite wow!each had its own balcony with a great view of Lake Elementaita,the king size beds exquisitely built with natural materials and thatched roofs the best.Its the best place to stay and get the experience to remember.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed there with a bride and groom we had been best couple at their wedding! It was a lovely stay. Got a little lost getting there but the reception was really good.
The food was well prepared and the brakfast really good. Staff were very very friendly and despite being late, we were given the best reception.
Did a last minute booking and it was done very fast and still got a very nice room!

The place is simply a must visit.

No TV in the room. Very good for bonding.....

The bathrooms were very clean and nice, with shampoo, shower cap for wifey and shower gel.
The bathroom has a nice peeping window with lovely mirrors....

Lovely night, private and simply amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crail, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have just had a relaxing break at Pelican Lodge. Our lodge was really comfortable with a magnificent view over the lake. The staff looked after our every need in a friendly, professional manner. Food was excellent, with generous portions and a vegetarian option was always available. We had our personal waitress who was helpful and charming.
The guided walk was well worth the effort and price - our guide was well informed and obviously enjoys sharing his knowledge. Take a camera to catch the wildlife.
Our stay was early in the week, when the lodge is quiet - for us this added to the experience.
We hope to pay a return visit.

Room Tip: If you want an African shower, request it when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Took My sister, her son and Friend who loves bird watching and was amazed at the facilities. Cosy, new, modern with a rustic touch, quite peaceful, very pleasant staff who tried to be as helpful as they possibly could. Food was excellent and service was great, though there are a few areas they could improve in. Could not get a decent cup of coffee as what was on offer though twice promised that it was fresh, was mass brewed early in the morning and only reheated on order. Also the lack of a printed menu, we were on full board, was a bit disorienting especially for our waitress who at the end off every meal had a difficult time taking our orders for the next meal as some of the courses were foreign to her. That was also a practice we never quite understood, having to place orders for the next meal immediately after or during a meal. All in all an above average place and stay and would not mind going there again or recommending others to go there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Pelican Lodge truly is a hidden treasure. Nested by the shores of Lake Elementaita, Pelican lodge has beautiful, spacious suites, meticuolously designed and even have an outside shower. One gets personal attention from their well trained waiters/ waitresses, and everyone is warm, friendly and introduces themselves. The lodge has a beautiful lounge/ bar. The atmosphere is relaxing and the food delicious.

Please note there is no TV. The lodge definately provides an atmosphere for ultimate bonding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Pelican Lodge and were blown away by this out of the way lodge. The "tents" were actually stone cabins with thatched roofs. It is brand new and very nicely decorated with a verandah and views to the lake. The guided walk to the lake was very informative if a little pricey (along with the rest of tourism in Kenya). The meals were fresh and tasty and they managed my gluten free diet well. Would definately reccomend this place, about 68kms I think to Lake Nakuru which we did in a day trip don't miss that, its amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pelican Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Lodge

Address: Lake Elmentaita, Lake Elementaita 00502 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lake Elementaita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an Exclusive, Luxurious and Outstanding lodge with ten cottages six doubles and four twins, three of them with outdoor showers. Located at the shows of Lake Elementaita, each cottage has a large balcony and a spectacular view of the lake. Overlooking Soysambu Conservancy. The sunset view from the lodge is a site to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.