We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spotless room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Pioneer Lodge

Save Saved
You added Historic Pioneer Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Springdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, spotless room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights to enjoy ZIon National Park. The location is excellent, just steps from the park shuttle stop and all the stores and restaurants in town.
Room was large and spotlessly clean, we had a fridge and microwave which was great as we were on a tight budget. Bed comfortable.
Enjoyed the small pool and the hot tub after our hikes, nice after dark looking at all the stars!
Can't comment on the restaurant, or staff other than the front desk clerk who was pleasant and our room attendant who was very pleasant (and obviously thorough).
Overall, good value for the money and can't beat the location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First and foremost thank you for reviewing us. We are extremely pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay. We are located near the park and shuttle stops for the convenience of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms. We look forward to serving you again on your future trip to Zion National Park.

Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    203
    64
    23
    19
See reviews for
144
225
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in the three bedroom two bath, living room and kitchen dining was clean and very comfortable. Close to Zion National Park and shuttle service nearby. Wonderfule time, scenic and worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on your recent stay in Springdale, Utah. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive review helps motivate us to excel in our services. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I'll admit that I was nervous as I walked up the exterior stairs...the carpet is badly worn and ripped. I feared the room would be in poor condition, but I was quite happy with the furnishings and the cleanliness in the room. I liked that there was a fridge and a microwave. The deli next door is really good and convenient, too. The lodge owner should pay a bit more attention to the laundry area, the snack and the soap machine were both out of order and that room needed a good scrubbing. Close to Zion and the free shuttle stops right out front.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November 2011. Sorry for the delayed review but I remember this place and we really liked it. The rooms for basic but tastefully furnished and clean. I especially like the wood see design of everything. The restaurant attached to the hotel is awesome, For all three meals as far as I can recall! It was Thanksgiving weekend so it was quite busy. Food tastes really good after long day of hiking in the winter... :-). If we ever go hiking in Zion again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Indeed, this accomodation has more a character of a motel than a lodge. But who cares? Rooms were spacious and clean. Service was extremely good (I had problems downloading a map for our GPS. Our host took care.). Also very good: hotel is very close to Zion National Park (2 minutes drive)!

Room Tip: 2nd level is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback. We are extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for acknowledging our staff services. We strive to provide each guest with utmost guest services. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Zion National Park and be sure to try The Challenger at the Pioneer Restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Big beetle (roach?) walking around bedroom floor. Under bed skirt, along bed edges - used tissue, old food, used plaster, hair around top of shower - ugh!.. Sheets on bed seem clean.. Decor old and dingy. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This Lodge was clean, comfortable, a bit dated and worn but it was a very convenient location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. No breakfast included, but an easy walk to many breakfast places. Our room was on the second floor and the outdoor stairs had ripped, worn carpeting that may be a trip hazard if you're not paying attention. They also had some major construction going on all day until sunset that was very noisy. Why pick the busiest time of year to do construction that eliminated parking spaces and was pretty disruptive? The pool was nice but had very little shade in high 90 degree weather and it seemed when housekeeping was running the dryers for laundry a natural gas smell permeated the pool area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Pioneer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.