We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience all around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Pioneer Lodge

Save Saved
You added Historic Pioneer Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good experience all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I originally booked a room here for one night on my arrival at Zion. After camping out for a few nights, I booked another two nights (with no reservations); the staff was very cordial and accommodating. The rooms have a vintage feel to them (circa 1960s) but are up-to-date with good amenities (WiFi was very fast). The lobby was comfortable and inviting and the coffee bar in the lobby was a welcome treat. The Pioneer Restaurant is adjacent and convenient; additionally, there are multiple options for dining within a 5-minute walk. The pool is small but well-maintained (but offers no shade). The laundry room has two washers ($1.50) and two dryers ($.75) and detergent is available for purchase. Considering the limited real estate, the management has made a very good effort at creating ambience with landscaping (large potted plants and hanging baskets (with drip irrigation). Several other reviewers commented on the cramped parking lot...yes, it is a tight fit; I had a small rental SUV so it was not much of an issue but it would definitely be problematic for a full-size pickup or anything larger.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Corporate Office Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello Raj0302,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review. It is great to hear that we were able to make your stay with us pleasant and comfortable. We apologize for the limited parking, and wish that we could expand, however the surrounding landscape does not permit. We thank you for choosing Pioneer Lodge, and hope that you will choose us again on your next visit to Springdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    213
    66
    24
    20
See reviews for
153
232
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zevenhuizen
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked a room through priceline but probably not a good idea?! We are placed in a handycapped room? And the normal airco unit is broken so they put in a removeable unit which needs to be placed next to the bed because the hose needs to go outside the window. Which also means the window needs to be open the whole time! Kind of strange! So be aware dont book through priceline! He even told us that is what you get when you book through priceline! So in other words you get a bad room with broken parts because you book priceline! Not again for us!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Marketing Reresentative at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First and foremost thank you for choosing to stay with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you endured during your stay.


We will be purchasing new Air Conditioners to ensure future guests satisfaction. Priceline chooses the room guests are placed in. We were unable to upgrade guests due to space available that night. Once again we apologize for the quality of your room. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements.

It is our goal to provide exceptional service on every occasion, and I hope you will consider staying with us again to restore your confidence.

Sincerely,

Bryanna V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We will absolutely be returning to this wonderful place. This was a perfect location with great amenities. The staff were very helpful and accommodating to our needs. Everything was clean and up to date. We appreciated the refrigerator and microwave. It was great to come back and relax after a day of hiking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Marketing Representative at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Rebecca V.,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Your words inspire us to do better and better. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and are glad to hear you will be returning!

We hope to see you on your future trip to Zion National Park.

Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Pioneer Lodge. Its location in Springdale was absolutely perfect. We were able to walk around town, visit shops and quickly enter the National Park during the day. AND the views for the lodge and in town are breathtaking! The rooms are comfortable and clean and the service is excellent. Its rustic décor added to the experience. The laundry room was a big plus for us since we'd been traveling for two weeks when we arrived at the Pioneer Lodge. Prices to use the laundry machines were excellent and the front office helped us with everything we needed. Coffee, smoothies and other treats are available in the café/lobby of the lodge which was a great beginning to our days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Marketing Representative at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Helen T.,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your personal lodging needs. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide each guest with excellent services and are glad to know we reached your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Bryanna V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Historic Pioneer Lodge in Springdale, UT is a fabulous choice for lodging. It's location couldn't be better, if you are visiting Zion National Park. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Our room was beautiful- rustic-style with a fridge and microwave. Cleanliness can't be topped. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, rather than going through a secondary site. You can get a great price AND...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Marketing Representative at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent two nights here while visiting Zion park.
NIce "rustic" looking hotel. Its fairly standard in what it offers i.e Motel. But the price is reasonable and the rooms are clean and modern.
I dont think you could go wrong with most of the hotels in Springdale, but I'd hapily recomend to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Corporate Office Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello 7179,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review. We are so glad to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and pleasant. We greatly appreciate the feedback as well as the recommendation. Thank you for choosing Pioneer Lodge, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Springdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent an evening at the Pioneer Lodge back in April 2013. Very clean and nice rustic decor. Our second story room, 207 faced an amazing sunrise of Zion National Park, fabulous! The Lodge is right in the heart of Springdale and all amenities are easily accessible including the shuttles to and from Zion National Park. Great souvenir shopping on both sides of the street. Didn't eat in the hotel, but there was great dining nearby, Oscars (very fresh Mexican) and the Bit and Spur, about a half mile away on the main street. This Canadian would love to go back sometime!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Marketing Representatives at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us in Springdale, Utah. The second story gives guest the best view of the scenery. We are glad you took advantage of the amenities that are offered. Please come and visit us on your future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Pioneer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.