We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Pioneer Lodge

Save Saved
You added Historic Pioneer Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Historic Pioneer Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Springdale
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Pioneer Lodge. Its location in Springdale was absolutely perfect. We were able to walk around town, visit shops and quickly enter the National Park during the day. AND the views for the lodge and in town are breathtaking! The rooms are comfortable and clean and the service is excellent. Its rustic décor added to the experience. The laundry room was a big plus for us since we'd been traveling for two weeks when we arrived at the Pioneer Lodge. Prices to use the laundry machines were excellent and the front office helped us with everything we needed. Coffee, smoothies and other treats are available in the café/lobby of the lodge which was a great beginning to our days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Marketing Representative at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Helen T.,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your personal lodging needs. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide each guest with excellent services and are glad to know we reached your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Bryanna V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    184
    52
    22
    17
See reviews for
127
209
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Historic Pioneer Lodge in Springdale, UT is a fabulous choice for lodging. It's location couldn't be better, if you are visiting Zion National Park. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Our room was beautiful- rustic-style with a fridge and microwave. Cleanliness can't be topped. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, rather than going through a secondary site. You can get a great price AND...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Marketing Representative at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent two nights here while visiting Zion park.
NIce "rustic" looking hotel. Its fairly standard in what it offers i.e Motel. But the price is reasonable and the rooms are clean and modern.
I dont think you could go wrong with most of the hotels in Springdale, but I'd hapily recomend to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Corporate Office Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello 7179,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review. We are so glad to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and pleasant. We greatly appreciate the feedback as well as the recommendation. Thank you for choosing Pioneer Lodge, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Springdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent an evening at the Pioneer Lodge back in April 2013. Very clean and nice rustic decor. Our second story room, 207 faced an amazing sunrise of Zion National Park, fabulous! The Lodge is right in the heart of Springdale and all amenities are easily accessible including the shuttles to and from Zion National Park. Great souvenir shopping on both sides of the street. Didn't eat in the hotel, but there was great dining nearby, Oscars (very fresh Mexican) and the Bit and Spur, about a half mile away on the main street. This Canadian would love to go back sometime!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Marketing Representatives at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us in Springdale, Utah. The second story gives guest the best view of the scenery. We are glad you took advantage of the amenities that are offered. Please come and visit us on your future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stlouis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We told the manager, Ben, the safe didnt work in the room. He replied it was probably the battery. Nothing was done to try and even fix the problem. Two days later, my ipod was taken from my suitcase. As I was looking all around the room for it, I noted old newspapers, candy wrappers, and a few used toothpicks in various places. The clock and pictures had dust on it. The whole place was tired and unclean. The air conditioner was such that it blew on us whenever it was on.. which made for being frigid one minute when it was on, and too warm when it turned off.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

To be honest you can't go too far wrong selecting accommodation based on location in Springdale as the town is cosy everything is within walking distance. The Historic Pioneer Lodge is excellent. Great sized rooms, loads of parking, good quality bedding and towels and very clean.

All the staff are really helpful and friendly there's also a pools s laundry room.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lodge and am really pleased we picked it.

Don't fall into the trap of the 10% off on the Pioneer Restaurant though, Wildcat Willies further down the road has a much better atmosphere.

Room Tip: We asked for a canyon view but you don't tend to see much due to the veranda roof and as people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Marketing Representative at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our historic lodge. Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, including ways to improve our services. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I can assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a typical 2-story linear complex of motel rooms located on the main thoroughfare through Springdale. It claims to be “historic”.

The GOOD:
Fridge, microwave, A/C, laundry, convenient to shops, restaurants, shuttle to Zion NP, plenty of hot water.

The NOT SO GOOD:
Some on-property parking spots are difficult to negotiate and it may be better to back into the spot which, at the rear of the complex, is no easy task.
No breakfast included in room rate – somewhat unusual these days. Nearby associated restaurant offers 10 percent discount.
72-hour cancellation policy.
Our biggest complaint was the noise. When checking in, we requested a quiet room and were given one toward the rear of the complex. This reduced the street noise BUT that put us near the swimming pool and laundry room. The main noise came from either pool pumps, or main exterior A/C machinery, or whatever, and ran 24/7. Rarely do I use ear plugs, but they were mandatory during the stay. I then started looking carefully at the location of other rooms and it seemed that, for one reason or another, there really weren’t ANY locations which were quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Marketing Representative at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, including ways to improve our services.Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I can assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Hotel
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Pioneer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.