We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Old School" but Very Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Pioneer Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Pioneer Lodge to your Saves list
Historic Pioneer Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“"Old School" but Very Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It's not elegant and it doesn't have nicely landscaped grounds. It does provide a very comfortable room with an updated bathroom. The bed is great. The log furniture provides a nice touch of atmosphere. It was easy to get onto the wi-fi and to find a plug for the computer.

It was a bit chilly the evening I arrived. I checked in and then went to dinner. By the time I got to my room, a staff member had turned on a portable heater to take the chill off the room. I thought that was a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    235
    79
    26
    20
See reviews for
164
252
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a great hotel. Decor is rustic, but not in the way that "rustic" is sometimes code for "old and dirty." Everything was very clean and well-though out. My room was very spacious, with plenty of power outlets, and even a coat rack. Bathroom was very clean and all the fixtures looked brand new and worked perfectly. The free WiFi was flawless. Ben at the front desk was very friendly, addressing me by name, and even making me a very good mocha in the morning at the in-house coffee shop (not included in the room rate of course, but reasonably priced). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The property looks nice from the street and we found it to be in good condition.
Check-in was friendly and efficient with lots of good local information provided by the front desk person. The lobby is inviting with fireplace and comfortable seating. It also has a coffee counter similar to a coffee shop, with coffee, tea, and some snack items. The room was typical size but the log-themed beds, walls and furniture were a touch we really liked. Room was clean and quiet and included microwave and small fridge. The location is convenient to shops and dining. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I recommend everyone to stay here!!! This place made me feel like home and really loved the room accommodation. I stayed in the 2nd floor, corner room, above the office/lobby. It was very spacious, had comfortable beds, couches, and full size kitchen. The hotel is walking distance to Zion National Park. It has breath taking balcony views of the park. The staff are very friendly and helpful with any questions you may have. Restaurant and Cafe on hotel property making it convenient for the family.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 10am. Front desk service was "fabulous", the lobby was warm and inviting as well as having a full coffee bar with all kinds of delights. The exterior was very clean and nicely decorated. Upon opening the door to our room (which by the way, we were able to check into at 10am) we could not have been more pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The decor was as if we checked in to a comfy litte cabin with warm pine furnishing, bathroom was very nice. Just everything about our stay was perfect!! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very pleasant stay. Not only did i get a good rate on the hotel but the rooms were pretty big clean and very comfortable also it was warm and cozy and even smelled good when we walked in, they have all of the amenities you could need. I liked the fact that there is a cafe located inside the hotel. We did not have one unpleasant experience during our stay here. Highly recommend! and i will be staying here again next time i visit Zion NP.

Traveled as a couple.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had booked our hotel long before we arrived, yet management had failed to turn the heat on. When we called downstairs to inform the desk of this, they came up immediately and turned it on, but the room took hours to warm up. We were forced to wear our winter coats, and heaven forbid when we needed to use the bath. We were disappointed with our small room which needed an update. It was not a 3 star room. If the heat were on, it would have been a 2. Without heat it was a 1!
The location was great, the view was wonderful, and the man at the desk was friendly...but we were very disappointed in the room and unable to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Pioneer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.