We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harvest House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Harvest House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
29 Canyon View Drive, Box 125, Springdale, UT 84767   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Springdale B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Harvest House for 4 nights while visiting Zion and Bryce during the off-season (it was fantastic - there are almost no visitors in the park during the winter). Everything about the stay was absolutely lovely: Tom's breakfasts were phenomenal (every morning we had a different entree), and his advice regarding what to do, which trails to hike, and at which restaurants to dine were spot-on. Also, we had the pleasure of meeting his wife as well; they both have years of experience working in the Vegas hotels and casinos industry, and we loved hearing their stories (I have no doubt their vast experience serving guests there has helped them with their B&B). We stayed in room #3 - it had a balcony and a private bathroom with a shower which felt very luxurious. The bed's mattress was by far the most comfortable mattress I've slept on - it was a struggle getting out of bed in the morning. We also peaked into room #4 - it is bigger with a balcony and private bathroom as well. I am certain you'll enjoy your time at the Harvest House!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #3 which has a balcony - great for star gazing (if you can overcome the cold tempe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    16
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
311
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I consider several factors in choosing lodging, then rating it afterwards. I also try and get places which have character or a feel for where we are, or the type of trip I am on. In other words, when in Prague, I don't want the Hilton.

Reviews by others are very important, and we do our homework. Also, location, price, breakfast, communication.

We were on our first trip to Zion NP and hiking every day. In our younger days we would have camped but one of the blessings of being a bit older and hot having kids in tow is more options.
We decided to have the Zion park experience during the day, and some comfort at night.
After reading many reviews about hotels, other B&B's, lodges etc., we chose this one.
You couldn't ask for a better location than Springdale. We had never been to a National Park where the non-park lodging was just as close as the in-park, or the sites. This was amazing. Being the end of October we had no trouble at all getting into the park or crowds so we drove to the Visitor Center, parked, and used the amazing shuttle system and our feet to get around. Wonderful.
The Harvest House was set back a bit off the main road so we didn't hear any outside noises. The town was so quiet, we may not have anyway. It was also very DARK outside. Something we aren't used to! There was a mini parking pad with enough parking space room for each room.

We looked Harvest House up online but weren't able to book the room we wanted for all the nights we needed it. We called Tom, the owner, who worked with us on that and we were happy with the results. Good communication and email before our trip with a reminder and directions.

We stayed in the downstairs patio room which was very roomy. Again, this time of year, we didn't take advantage of the outside doors or patio. It was dark by the time we returned each evening. More about the room later.
Breakfast was wonderful. Although we typically are very early birds, up and out before most people, Tom assured us that at this time of year it is not necessary and dark. It was hard for us to wait until breakfast was served but worth it. We ate together with the other guests and enjoyed pleasant conversation and sharing tips while consuming an amazing breakfast that was designed to keep us going until dinner. My favorites were the stuffed french toast and the croissant sandwich. We appreciated the fruit each morning as well. Not a bite went to waste on my plate! Once we realized how costly the restaurants in town were (buying dinner out each night) we were grateful to not have to figure out where to go, what to eat, and squirm at the prices. Breakfasts at our place of lodging is always preferred. So, although the room may be higher than a hotel, it is worth it if you eat breakfast and want a nice atmosphere with other guests.

Once in the room, cleanliness, good hot water pressure, lighting, mirrors, space to put personal bathroom items, comfort and sometimes view are considered.

As I mentioned, our room was the downstairs larger one so I can't comment on the others. We had a view of the parking pad and the garden, but it didn't matter as we were always gone.
I would have thought we would have heard Tom working away in the next door kitchen early in the mornings, but we never heard so much as a "tink" of a pan. We had a TV and hoped those above us had the same buffer.
We had plenty of space to place our belongings. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillow was the best I have ever had. Usually I spend nights fiddling with various pillows trying to get comfortable. Not this time. I had to peek to see what it was. Gotta get one! I would have liked an extra blanket as it was cool, especially when we watched TV, and I am sure I could have asked for one. The last night we pulled the comforter off to cover with on the couch. It wasn't cold in the room, I was just chilled from outside and frequently like a cover while watching tv or reading, even at home.
The atmosphere everywhere was really nice. Fall decorations were out but tastefully done and homey. Quiet music, low lights, nice furnishings. VERY clean and orderly.
We like to read at night and found the nice low lights too low for reading. A pole or overhead or a brighter one by the couch on both ends would have been lovely.
Bathroom was really nice. Water pressure was ok, it just took me longer to rinse shampoo from my hair than usual. Plenty of storage and counter space. I really liked the walk in shower. I didn't worry about makeup on this trip (hiking) but lighting was OK. IF I were trying to really do makeup, brighter would have been better. Again, the atmosphere was so warm, bright lights would ruin it, BUT, I like light so this was a compromise.

We enjoyed our stay and had a wonderful week exploring the area and returning to a comfortable room. Oh, and Tom had hot chocolate available for us to use on those crisp evenings and it was much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Harvest House on our trip to Zion NP and Bryce Canyon. Tom and his wife, Maryanne, were very welcoming and everything was decorated beautifully for the "harvest" season making us feel at home. The views of Zion from the backyard were incredible and a great place to relax after a day of hiking the trails. Each afternoon we looked forward to seeing what snack Tom had arranged for his guests to enjoy with a cup of tea or coffee (one day was a lemon bon bon that was heavenly). The Harvest House is easily within walking distance of the quaint town of Springdale and Tom's recommedations for dinner were spot on (if you like Southwestern food the Whiptail Grill is exceptional). We had a king size bed and it was super comfortable with nice cozy bedding and chocolates were left in our room each day. Tom prepared wonderful full rounded breakfasts each morning and provided plenty of information on the park and surrounding areas. We met some great couples during our stay and realizing how small our world can be. If you are staying in Springdale you won't be disappointed reserving a room at The Harvest House!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner and I spent 4 days in Springdale on our trip to Zion and Bryce national parks. We arrived late and our host Tom was so accommodating and welcoming. This is an authentic bed and breakfast with delicious breakfast served every morning at 8. Harvest House is well located and within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The bathroom was recently remodeled and very clean. Our favorite part was the outdoor hot tub. After a long day of hiking, it was such a treat to take a soak and enjoy the sun setting on the canyon wall. The owner Tom is very knowledgeable about Zion and had great recommendations on local restaurants.

Room Tip: Select the Watchman room. Great deck with spectacular views of the canyon wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

David stayed here years ago and recommended it highly and we agree. We are not B&B regulars and now we are wondering why not! Tom and his Harvest House were both top notch. The breakfasts (we had 3) were all an 11 on a 10 scale. Our super clean Watchman Room had a very comfortable king bed, a large bath area, and a deck with a great view. Tom was a wealth of info on the park and the area, we followed his advice and had a great Zion experience. We enjoyed the breakfast interaction with other guests and found them to be wonderful company.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The comfy B&B is walking distance from Zion and Springdale. With their gourmet filling breakfast Angel's Landing doesn't seem that challenging. After the long hike you can relax in their hot tub while watching the sun set on the canyon wall and/or drink tea in their spacious sitting room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

For our recent trip to Arizona and Utah in September we chose Harvest House from the Internet as we were looking for somewhere with easy access to Zion. What a find. We had a beautiful spacious room with terrace overlooking the garden and the mountains. Tom was so welcoming and very informative -- his recommendations for restaurants were spot on so not only did we have a wonderful stay in Harvest House but two fantastic meals very close by. Everything you could possibly want for a comfortable stay is here in this home ( including amazing breakfasts ) and we were only sorry we weren't there longer.

Room Tip: We were able to see into all the rooms on the second floor and I think any one of them would be idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harvest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29 Canyon View Drive, Box 125, Springdale, UT 84767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harvest House Bed and Breakfast offers a peaceful retreat for visitors to Utah's spectacular Zion National Park. Located in Springdale, UT; Harvest House is just 1/2 mile from the park entrance. Relax in the lush greenery of the gardens surrounding the Koi pond or in the Hot Tub, while enjoying the wonderful views of the Watchman Mountain. We serve full breakfasts each morning at 8AM. The rooms have either King beds or Queen Beds and each room has it's own bathroom. Children under five are not permitted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harvest House b&b
Harvest House Hotel Springdale
Harvest House Bed And Breakfast Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvest House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.