We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens to your Saves list
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   281 Zion Park Boulevard, Springdale, UT 84767   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with our two boys, 10 and 12. My parents had stayed here almost 15 years ago, and had really liked it. We were in room #49, ground floor, closest building to Zion and the "river" (which is a stream here), next door to an open utility room with soda machine, w&d (I think), etc. - will ask for this room again next time. It was a 5 min walk to the park entrance. We normally don't like to stay on ground floor, but this worked out really well since they was a nice area right outside the boys could hang in while we got ready each day. And they really enjoyed the hotel cat who was always hanging around! The view of Zion cliffs from our bed was spectacular! We enjoyed the pool & hot tub first night (met a deer in the gardens on the walk over), under a full moon with gorgeous view of the cliffs. No restaurant at the lodge but Café Soleil in the parking lot is a tiny place with great food (tried all 3 meals there over our couple days), super smoothies, and very friendly staff! We had a 2 bed room with large, 2 sink bathroom with separate tub and shower, big flat screen TV, small frig, and nice décor - everything looked recently remodeled and modern. Our boys played in the stream for over 2 hrs the second evening, instead of going to the pool. There were chairs on the bank for my husband and I to sit and enjoy. The front desk staff was SOOOO nice. We will definitely be back! Oh, and don't forget to ask for the hummingbird feeder to be hung outside your door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    226
    35
    8
    7
See reviews for
409
467
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

As we drove into the parking lot where the reception office is located my wife said "I thought we we staying in a lodge." Of course I was the one that made the reservations but had failed to tell her anything but the name. I had chosen the Cliffrose because its close location to the entrance to Zion and the type of unit we like: more then just a motel room. We were not disappointed with either the location nor the large top floor accommodations. Our unit was far enough away from the main road to be very quiet and since it was off season none of the other 3 units in the building were occupied. There was a full sized refrigerator, a microwave, small sink & normal supply of dishes and kitchen utensils. There was a gas BBQ available for the building. The bedroom was down a hall from the main room which also had a "Murphy" bed which would allow sleeping for 4 people. There is a deck off the main room facing the mountains of Zion. As mentioned in other reviews the staff was very friendly and the unit very clean. The property leads down to the Virgin River where a large grassy area has picnic tables, etc. Finally, there are two good eating options close by: the Cafe Soleil for breakfast right next door and the Spotted Dog Cafe for dinner just across the hiway.

Room Tip: Room 140 (and the other 3 units in the building) is just across the parking lot from the swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

beautiful location, comfortable beds, clean and attractive bathroom. No complaints. There was construction going on, but it didn't interfere overly with us, and the staff are delightful. Dash loaned us a DVD player and very kindly hooked it up for us. The gardens are especially lovely, and the views over the river. The location is within easy walking distance to the entrance to beautiful Zion Canyon.

Room Tip: choose a river view location for the view over the gardens and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We returned to Cliffrose Lodge and Gardens again this year for 5 nights (Previously stayed there in in Nov. 2012). The same 2 BR suite was available (#45) and we felt like we were coming "home." I do not think I have ever stayed anywhere where my daughter, my 2 grandchildren and I have ever felt more comfortable. The view from the balcony ( which has a nice table, 4 chairs and a big grill) is absolutely gorgeous. My grandchildren, ages 9 and 5, enjoyed the friendly cats and watching the deer graze every morning and evening in the yard back of the lodge. It was also fun for them to play next to the river which is runs next to the the gardens back of the Lodge. Last but not least the staff there are all wonderful. The Lodge is family owned and they treat their guests like they are part of their family. Our room was spotless and we enjoyed being able to relax and prepare our dinner in the nice kitchen after a long day enjoying the hikes in Zion NP.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Overall experience a 10+ if I could. Before we even got into the room, the service was fantastic at the front desk. We got a great deal with breakfast next door for staying 3 days which was included. As we were bringing our stuff to the room, we were greeted by two of their friendly neighborhood cats, Cliff and Rose. They almost walked us to our room like they knew where we were staying and as we were walking, there were two deer just to our left just eating and watching us. We knew it was a great choice. We got the 1 bedroom suite and couldn't have been happier. Comfortable king bed, dishes fridge, freezer and a large bathroom. We brought our own food and cooked up some nice meals. Relaxing environment with free HBO. Our free breakfast at Cafe Soleil was right next door, within 2 minutes. One morning we grabbed a coffee and relaxed by the river right behind Cliffrose where they had seats setup. At night, the sky was clear with tons of stars. We're going back, gotta check this place out!

Room Tip: Riverside view for sure! Won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at Cliffrose in October when the park was closed. I'll spare you the rant about the closure but we had planned the trip months ahead and decided to gamble that the House was not as crazy and stupid as it turned out to be. My mistake. Next October I guess we'll go to someplace more predictable -- maybe someplace in South America. Anyway, this is about the Cliffrose and Springdale -- both are beautiful and we are very glad we visited. The Lodge and the town look out at cliffs in the park. The grounds of the Lodge are beautiful and end at a pleasant creek separating the Lodge from the park. Zion's entrance is a short walk from the inn and now the gates are unlocked I bet.

While in Springdale our rental car suddenly decided to shut down after a long drive through the park on an open, public road. It was a General Motors product so it should not have been in cahoots with the T-party. While in the middle of some considerable arguing with the rental company, an employee of the Cliffrose drove out to where I was broken down after hearing about the situation from my wife. He got the car started and then sent me to a local mechanic to have it checked out. We had a long drive to Moab the next day and I didn't have much faith in the vehicle. Unlike government apparently, cars aren't supposed to just quit. The mechanic checked out the car, gave me some advice on how to avoid the problem during the rest of the trip and charged me nothing. He and I also spent some time solving the shut-down problem. (Shortly thereafter Utah paid $1+M to get the federal parks in the State open. The mechanic was brilliant.)

It was clear that early October is a very important time to the businesses in Springdale. I hope they weren't hurt beyond repair during the shut-down. They are just very fine people who deserve better. We are very thankful for their concern and generosity.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Since our time at Zion was limited to one night we chose Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens. The checkin was efficient and friendly, the views from our riverside room balcony beautiful and the location just a few minutes walk through their lovely gardens into the National Park and Shuttle ideal. On arrival we had an early lunch at Café Soleil next door, later we picked up some goodies from there to eat on our balcony and the next morning we returned for breakfast before hitting the road. In short the perfect choice for making the most of the incredible scenery of Zion National Park. Oh yes, as well as all of this, we had a good mobile phone signal and excellent wifi connection from our room

Room Tip: Book a Riverside Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens

Address: 281 Zion Park Boulevard, Springdale, UT 84767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Springdale
#2 Family Hotel in Springdale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style resort with 52 smoke-free rooms, suites, and villas in 6 buildings surrounded by our 5 acres of manicured lawns, perennial flower gardens, towering evergreens, large shade trees, and bordering Zion National Park along the Virgin River. Our deluxe Riverside 1 and 2 Bedroom suites and 3 Bedroom Canyon Villas offer a truly luxurious experience and all of our rooms feature modern amenities and updates for exquisite accommodation options for every budget. Seasonal heated outdoor pool, year round waterfall hot tub, amazing views of Zion National Park from your balcony or patio, plush pillow-top beds, free wireless internet, fridges in all rooms, and all rooms, suites, and villas are no smoking. Located only 200 yards away from the National Park Visitor and Shuttle Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens Hotel Springdale
Cliffrose Lodge And Gardens
Cliffrose Hotel Springdale
Cliffrose Hotel And Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.