We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't actually stay, but very helpful, accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Save Saved
You added Driftwood Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Zion Park Boulevard, Springdale, UT 84767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Springdale
Royse City, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't actually stay, but very helpful, accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

So this may be a bit of an odd review - due to the government shut down our trip to Zion National Park had to be put on hold. We had reservations at Driftwood Lodge and had to cancel them, so never actually stayed at the hotel! Their normal policy would not have let us get a refund so close to our trip, but they made an exception due to the government shut down and gave us a complete refund! They were so nice and accommodating about it, I felt compelled to leave this review for them.
When we hopefully get to try and do this trip again, we will definitely rebook with them!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    114
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
96
191
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The setting is superb situated between two cliffs. Loved watching the play of light on the rocks both morning and evening from our patio. Added to that is the convenience of easy access to a free shuttle through town and to Zion. In order to enjoy fresh air at night, I had to prop the door open as windows cannot be opened. Amenities in the room were fine but the plumbing fixtures were showing signs of wear and need of some maintenance. Breakfasts were disappointing and my friends and I chose to pass up free breakfast the third morning for something well prepared. How could waffles be nearly impossible to cut through unless way over-microwaved? Staff always pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not impressed for the $250 per night that we spent here (includes the hidden fees). We stayed in one of the newer rooms toward the back. For the money I would expect that fresh bathroom towels be offered and new soap be provided. Good thing we had extra with us. Not sure what the maid staff did other than do a poor job of making the bed. We paid in part for the use of a "kitchen." Their idea of a kitchen is a microwave and fridge, which is a good start, but no utensils, plates, cups? So we paid for something that we could not use. We asked to borrow some wine glasses as we were celebrating our get away, nope. Not to be found on the premises. On a more subjective note, I could not stomach the breakfast: "industrial eggs" and frozen waffles are memorable for the wrong reason, but perhaps there are some folks out there who may not be so picky? Seems most of the other establishments are equally priced, but please there is no excuse for poor room service.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I went to Zion for a hiking trip with four friends. We booked two rooms for three nights. This hotel is a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious, very clean with contemporary décor that matches the atmosphere of Zion National Park.

The Driftwood is on the FREE shuttle route so you can park your car and take the shuttle to the park or to various establishments in town. The shuttle does stop running after 8:30 or 9 pm so if you are into late night dinners, it might not be convenient. However the town is small so you could just walk back and have a nice stroll.

Breakfast is hearty but always the same (scrambled eggs, ham, waffles, potatoes) with yogurt, fruit, cereal and bread selections. Two types of juice, coffee and tea. I agree with other comments that the breakfast was sometimes cold, but I used the microwave to reheat to my preference. We planned two very strenuous and long hikes so having a breakfast such as this one was great. We would have paid at least $15 pp for a heavy breakfast such as this.

Customer service here was superb. Julie and Christian at the front desk were very polite and helpful. They accommodated our request to have the bill for two rooms split 5 ways.

The hot tub was wonderful to come home to after grueling 10 mile hikes each day. The hot tub was very clean and hot!

Rooms had a refrigerator, microwave and K-cup coffee maker, flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. Every room had a view of the meadow and/or mountains. The frig took about 36 hours to really cool off. They should keep it running or at least turn it up 24 hours prior to guests arrival.

The beds were comfortable with soft linens, two different blankets for cool or warm sleeping and lots of great pillows.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view of the meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The rooms in our building faced the pool and garden and after a long day of hiking in Zion the hot tub was fantastic and much appreciated! The canyon wall vistas from the Lodge, hot tub, and breakfast room and outdoor patio are spectacular. Breakfast was good - hot eggs and sausage and waffles along with cereals, breads, fruits and beverages. The bedroom was clean and functional - microwave and refrig were nice extras. Our only wish was to have a window that opened - the room got stuffy and warm and the A/C was very noisy and not easy to regulate. Bus to Zion Park was right outside - very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Originally we were disappointed that we could only get 2 of our 3 nights at Zion Lodge in the park but that changed when we checked into the Driftwood for our last night. The accommodations were much better than the park at the same rate and the Driftwood rate included a hot breakfast. It was clean, quiet and the views were beautiful. The restaurants in Springdale are much better than the Red Rock at the Zion Lodge. Since you can only bring a car a very limited distance into the park, unless you are staying at Zion Lodge, you may as well enjoy the Driftwood and the town and just make use of the shuttles. I wish we had stayed all three nights at Driftwood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the canyon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This motel is in a nice location just outside the town. However you would need to drive to restaurants. The room was very nice with a balcony overlooking a meadow and rocks. We did think this motel was quite overpriced though.

The pool area was nice and there was also a hot tub. The breakfast was o.k. We stayed for two nights - on one of the mornings the scrambled eggs were just warm and the coffee was awful. However they were fine on the other morning. You can sit outside on the patio with lovely views.

Our one gripe was that we thought we had mislaid one of the keys which was only a plastic credit card type. We were told we would be charged $5 if we could not find it. Luckily we did find it. This is the first time ever there has been a charge for a missing key and we thought this was excessive. After all it was not even a proper key. This experience made us feel they were money grabbing as we had spent $200 on the room.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony overlooking the meadow. The rooms in the other building look over the sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Address: 1515 Zion Park Boulevard, Springdale, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#8 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Springdale
Driftwood Lodge Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.