We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Under The Eaves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Under The Eaves
Save
You added Under The Eaves to your Saves list
980 Zion Park Boulevard, Box 29, Springdale, UT 84767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Springdale B&B and Inns
Dallas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cozy, home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 5-night stay at the Under the Eaves B&B. This bed and breakfast fit our needs as we were looking for an at-home experience at an affordable rate. After researching the other well-rated B&Bs in the area, Under the Eaves is certainly the most affordable.

We booked room #1. Though the size was small - just large enough to fit a full-size bed, two bedside tables, and a small desk-chair, the room was comfortable. The bed was comfy (esp after 2 nights of camping!), clean, topped with very cozy sheets, and there were a couple options for pillow firmness available. Two windows provided access to light and fresh air. A small but very powerful ceiling fan was excellent at cooling the room. The restroom was clean, of medium size, with full shower, toilet, and sink area. Towels were pristine white and fluffy. Their website has accurate photos of all the rooms. The con of Room #1 is that the stairs to the room on the top floor go directly above the room, and so you hear people walking up and down the stairs in the morning. This noise did not disturb our rest and was easily blocked out by earplugs when we wanted to sleep in, and other days we were up at the same time getting ready for the day's hiking anyways.

In order to conserve resources, your sheets and towels are changed upon request only. You also can request your bed to be made, trash taken out, etc. I personally agree with the way this B&B is run (who needs sheets changed daily?) On the days I had a request, I didn't mind taking 30 seconds out of my morning to ask to have my bath towels changed.

The best part of this B&B is the at-home feel. There is a porch with an excellent view of the canyon, where sunset paints the canyon in the warmest colors. There are also several hummingbird feeders that provide food for several local hummingbirds and provide guests with an up close view of the birds. There is a spacious backyard with a hammock, a thick padding of green grass, a couples swing, a chaise lounge, a table with chairs, and other such nooks and crannies for reading/napping. The living room is a comfortable place to do some reading/journaling and is complete with a bookcase stocked with reading material, a comfy couch, two rocking chairs, and large windows facing the canyon. A keurig and hot water pot provide access to coffee/tea/hot chocolate. And there is a dining room that guests may use. There is access to a fridge/freezer as well. Residents have access to the living room/dining room from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Mark and Joe are also invaluable and have many insider secrets/suggestions for the area. They make themselves easily reachable if not physically at the B&B. They are friendly but do not encroach on your vacation. Their dog Bella is also sweet if a bit aloof.

Location is perfect with the local grocery store (though pricey - if you are driving in I suggest you buy your non-perishables in Las Vegas, St. George, or Hurricane) just across the street. For a ride into the park the Springdale shuttle stop is nearby. For breakfast, you get a voucher for anything off the menu plus tea/coffee at Oscar's Cafe, which is a very short walk away and has a great selection of tasty breakfast items.

Overall, I would definitely stay in this B&B again. If you can afford it, I would suggest one of the cottages in the back, which are more private, or the large room on the top floor. Keep in mind that the rooms in the house are very comfortable but the location is such that daily noise of guests walking through the halls cannot be avoided. This was not an issue for us but guests should be made aware.

The hike to Observation Point and the non-technical Subway route, which requires a permit, are highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    36
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
151
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were so pleased with our experience at Under the Eaves in April, 2014. Under the Eaves is a perfect getaway - the rooms are private, the hosts are gracious, and everything is decorated with a warm and inviting touch. We prefer a B&B instead of a cookie-cutter hotel room. Not only will you enjoy the wonderful sites of Zion National Park, but at the end of the day you can come back 'home' to Under the Eaves and relax, watch hummingbirds, or sit in the sun and read a book in the shady common areas in back. I loved the water fountains, too! Very calming. We highly recommend Under the Eaves.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, quiet, different. We stayed in one of the cabin rooms and loved it. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

A comfortable and welcoming B&B just down the road from Zion National Park! Has well appointed rooms, a cozy sitting room and front porch, and a beautiful backyard garden. The owner/ hosts are friendly and super helpful regarding Zion and it's surroundings. A delicious breakfast of your choice is provided just down the street at a local favorite eatery. A very special place!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

After five nights of camping in windy Zion, my boyfriend and I were overjoyed to stay at Under The Eaves for a night! The house was stunningly beautiful, the bed was comfortable, and the owners were so great. They gave excellent tips on what to do on our last day of the trip, and the complimentary breakfast from Oscars was SO. GOOD.! You get stunning views of Zion from the porch, and the location is walking distance from all the great shops and eats in Springdale.
We both loved it so much and will definitely be making a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this B@B about a month ago. We absolutely loved the accommodations, especially our little cabin on a second night stay. It's very quite and peaceful at this place.The view is spectacular. The hosts Mark and Joe were extremely welcoming, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the area, restaurants and where to hike in Zion. They were very accommodating with anything we needed. You get a voucher for breakfast at a place that is 1 min walking distance from B@B. Oscar's- the breakfast place was very good. Be aware that it's a small place, it gets filled up fast. Voucher paid for the breakfast, you just need to tip..The location of this place is very convenient. It was a very quick less than 10 min drive to Zion. We stayed Friday- Sunday. The parking was the worst on Saturday and especially Sunday morning. We were looking for a parking spot at 9.30 am on Sunday and there were not a lot of them left. It was very crowded on hikes as well. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Can't say enough of great things about Under the Eaves. We would be back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Under The Eaves for 2 nights in mid-March. We got in right at sunset and were immediately stunned by the beautiful views. The owners, Mark and Joe, had upgraded us to a more private room in a cabin at no cost to us, which was a wonderful surprise. Both Mark and Joe were extremely helpful hosts. They made several excellent recommendations about where to get dinner in Springdale and the best hikes in Zion. The room was very comfortable and clean. In the mornings, we ate at Oscar's, where you can order anything you'd like off the menu at no cost if you're staying at Under The Eaves. Oscar's was delicious and gave us enough fuel to hike all day. From Under The Eaves, it was a quick drive into Zion itself. Zion is amazing, and Under The Eaves is a great place to stay if you're visiting Zion. I hope to make it back to Zion sometime soon and would definitely stay at Under The Eaves again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono Pines, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Such a cute place to stay! Feels like home with all of the touches. The owners are so friendly and helpful! You can walk to everything. They have wonderful recommendations for hiking, food, etc! We will definitely stay here again!! Mark and Joe are great hosts.

Zion is a must visit place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Under The Eaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under The Eaves

Address: 980 Zion Park Boulevard, Box 29, Springdale, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springdale’s oldest Inn: Relaxing gardens, Spectacular views. Seven rooms; private baths, eclectic mix of art/antiques. Centrally located to restaurants, shops and Zion Canyon. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Under The Eaves Hotel Springdale
Under The Eaves Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under The Eaves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.