We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Under The Eaves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Under The Eaves
980 Zion Park Boulevard, Box 29, Springdale, UT 84767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Springdale B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed there last Spring. House has some charm, the yard is nice, but the breakfast voucher to Oscars is ironically the best thing. Owners are pleasant although I'd advise you keep your conversations or questions for them to the point since their attention expires quickly. They do seem to try cross paths as little as possible with guests – which is in principle fine since no-one wants an overbearing host – but the fact that there is zero room service, purportedly to spare the privacy of the guest, is ridiculous, unwelcoming and simply disingenuous. Room service only by request is a cop-out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    34
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
139
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Always a delight staying here.... Joe and Mark keep making little changes and improvements at their Inn regarding their accommodations. Great location… easy walk to restaurants and close to the town’s bus shuttle. We always make a point to stay here when we are in the area. Very cozy and comfortable and feels like home.

"WARNING".... prolong exposure may impair your ability to return to work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Under the Eaves is a 7 room inn located on the only main road in Springdale (980 Zion Park Blvd.) which was quiet – even at night, as the passing cars did not compete with this tranquil setting. It was located only about 10 minutes from the entrance of Zion National Park. My room (#5) was behind the main house in a cottage. It was spacious, comfortably furnished, private, and overlooked the rear patio and lawn with its gently gurgling fountain and chaise lounges available for its guests. Its furnishings were all vintage which only enhanced the charm of this venue. The entire inn was outfitted with a plethora of cherubic ornaments--lots of angelic cherubs! The queen size brass bed had a convenient dimmer switch within reach for its bedside lamps while the rest of the room was illuminated by antique lamps. The net sum is that the inn was warm, inviting, and with all its furnishings thoughtfully arranged and placed. While there was a generous amount of furnishings, there was never a cluttered or cramped feeling. My only suggestion would be to provide hangers for slacks.

Guests could congregate in the comfortable living room where coffee was available 24/7. The Inn farmed out breakfast to Oscar’s Café – a five minute walk. This obviated the (sometimes) awkward communal table which is so characteristic of many B&B’s. The breakfast voucher was more than generous, and the restaurant churns out substantial breakfasts of one’s choosing.

The hosts, Mark and Joe, were knowledgeable and welcoming, and respected their guest’s privacy and independence, as they did not encroach on “personal space.” They own a well-run, lovely inn.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the cottage are quieter than the ones in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

this is a really cute bed and breakfast. Mark and joe, the owners, are super nice and laid back. The house is cute and cozy and they have tons of information about Zion and what to do in Springdale. They have a really nice outdoor area in the back with tables and a hammock, but unfortunately it was raining during our stay so we didn’t get to take advantage. Overall, the place has a really nice feel, however we stayed in room 2, which is right off of the main area so it was a bit noisy and not a ton of privacy. Also, the bathroom for this room is a shower stall that has a toilet in it. This isn’t the worst thing for everyone but does not afford much privacy, I would have preferred to have a full shared bath. I also would have stayed in the cabin, that seemed a lot more private as well.

The breakfast is a voucher to Oscar’s Café which is about 50 feet away. This was really great, as each person can get what they want. It also includes a coffee or tea per person. They have huevos rancheros as their special one day, which was delicious. Breakfast burrito was good too. very large portions. Awesome mugs.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the cabin if you want more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in the Cabin for our Honeymoon in Springdale. Under the Eaves was wonderful! Beautiful scenery. Our cabin was cozy. No problems at all. Soooo much better than staying at a hotel. Thanks to the guys at Under the Eaves :D

Room Tip: The Cabin is probably the quietest room since you don't share any walls with any other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our time spent there was extremely relaxing and anything we needed was within walking distance. The house is lovely and our room was cozy. Joe directed us to the best (and very beautiful) sunset view from the back yard swing. Under The Eaves is on the main street but you wouldn't know it...the water features provided the perfect white noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Small cozy rooms. Beautiful common use areas. Close to shuttle stop, resturants and shops. Definetly will stay again and recommend to friends, family. Very friendly owners. Breakfast provided at oscars with great food and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Under The Eaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under The Eaves

Address: 980 Zion Park Boulevard, Box 29, Springdale, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springdale’s oldest Inn: Relaxing gardens, Spectacular views. Seven rooms; private baths, eclectic mix of art/antiques. Centrally located to restaurants, shops and Zion Canyon. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Under The Eaves Hotel Springdale
Under The Eaves Springdale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under The Eaves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Under The Eaves to your Saves list